A Quilt of Words

For several years I was heavily involved in the making of hand-pieced quilts. For those of you unfamiliar with the process, it is the gathering of small scraps of material, sewing them together and creating something pleasing when finally painstakingly assembled. It always challenged me to consider how to place the pieces together in just the right way. I’d take those miscellaneous scraps and, before sewing them together, practice moving them about on a large table, wondering how best to combine them. Eventually, the small scraps came together, creating something beautiful and new, something that was uniquely me.

That is pretty much how I view my writing. Each day I try to write small snippets of character studies, motivations, actions taken by my fantasy friends, and then I move them about on the large table that functions as my imagination. Getting the ‘pieces’ to fit together is a lovely, engrossing project.

On my best days, I am amazed at how well my pieces have come together, and feel real affection for the whole of the story they tell when placed together just so.

Quilting and writing. In a sense, they are both ‘of the same cloth.’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Writing Odyssey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quilt of Words

  1. Beautiful and thought-prevoking. I like it.

Leave a Reply

