Advice from the Sultan of Swing

I’ve wanted to write stories for most of my life.

For one reason or another, I never buckled down. As years went by, I viewed my dreams of writing as girlhood fantasies to be put behind me. Life became busy. There was husband, job, family, this thing or that. I had perfectly good reasons for not pursuing my writing: I was a realist. An adult. Leave the writing to others, the talented ones. So many excuses.

In the end, I think it has been all about fear. The fear of not being good enough; of not having enough discipline; of not wanting it enough. But now – now I want it. I want to write and let loose all the ‘people’ who inhabit my brain, those many characters demanding their time to share ‘their’ stories.

It may turn out that the only person with any real interest in my beloved characters and their stories will be me. It may always remain just a hobby to be performed in the late hours of the evening, sitting at the dining room table, finally having a few free hours to call my own – those wonderful hours when I can breathe life into all of my ‘people’.

But I’ll never know unless I give it a try. It’s time to cast aside the fear of failure.

George Herman ‘Babe’ Ruth, the Sultan of Swing, is remembered as one of great hitters in the history of baseball. The guy’s brilliance at bat and the excitement he generated helped make baseball the great American pastime. One of the things about the Babe is that he never second-guessed himself – each time he went up to the plate, he was like a tiger. He believed in himself and he took chances.

He once said, “Never let the fear of striking out get in your way.”

Good advice, that.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Writing Odyssey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Advice from the Sultan of Swing

  1. rgayer55 says:

    What if some of the great inventors in history had been afraid of failure? We’d probably be sitting in the dark and there would definitely be no computer or internet for this blog post and comment.
    I joined a writers critique group 4 or 5 years ago. It was the greatest thing that happened to me. I met a lot of like-minded individuals and my writing has improved tremendously. As a result, I won some contest and had a few things published. You can too. Just get out there and do it.

  2. Very eloquently put. I agree wholeheartedly with everything that you said and I for one am very glad that you have chosen to pursue your aspirations. A wise person once said, “Feel the fear and do it anyway.”

    Who knows what might happen? Nothing, unless you try!

  3. karenrossepp says:

    Well said. Enjoyed your Blog.
    Karen

Leave a Reply

