The Problem with Time

Simply put, there’s just not enough of it.

How does a person who works full time manage to carve out precious minutes here and there, trying desperately to get a few words on a page? It’s a challenge – that’s for sure.

I hear the ticking of seconds going by constantly, and the clock has become my Master. I’ve gotten pretty good at grabbing spare minutes throughout the day to let my imagination run wild and get those words on the page. Multi-tasking – juggling both my workload and my writing of stories – has gotten easier. In fact, I find my ability to work on chapters of my stories throughout the day has increased. I’m not picky about what I quickly get down on the page; the point is to get something – ANYTHING – down. I can go back in the evening and polish things up. The important thing is that I’ve gotten down the gist of what I want to convey. Later I expand upon it.

The latest monkey wrench thrown into my time management ‘house of cards’ is the use of social media. By many accounts, one of the best ways to get published is by establishing a web presence. This involves blogging, tweeting and developing a web page, among other things. I buy into this – and, frankly, I enjoy reading the perspectives of other bloggers. I also greatly enjoy having a ‘place’ where I can share my thoughts about a variety of things as well as my experiences as I work toward one day publishing my fiction.

But here’s the thing: how in the world do you fit it all in? With the tweeting and the blogging, when does the time for writing one’s stories get squeezed in? I’m often left feeling pressed, trying to do it all.

It’s a ‘brave new world’ in terms of publishing and social media. In the past, did authors simply write their stories and then go from publishing house to publishing house, trying to work up interest in their work? I wonder how Stephen King, for example, first got his big opportunity. Did he divert precious minutes from the writing of his stories to pursue other avenues that hinted at possible publishing opportunities in the future?

I’d love to hear the thoughts of other writers who also blog – and who work full time as well. Do you devote a fixed amount of time each day to blogging, tweeting? To reviewing favorite blogs, scrolling through tweets? Do you blog daily, weekly? Does it get easier over time?

Share your tips with me – tell me, just how the heck you fit it all in!

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Problem with Time

  1. Great post! I’m not even working fulltime, and I have trouble fitting it all in sometimes. I dropped down my blog posts, and like another commenter said, I think it’s a matter of taking turns with stuff. I don’t try to do it all–I don’t have a Twitter account–but I try to make the most of the things I choose to do. My goal for my blog next year is to make it into a more “official” website.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Lindsey – love your blog! Thanks for following me. I have to say, it really is a challenge to try to figure out how to do it all, and like you, I’m trying to figure out how to juggle blogging and my desire to write fiction. I look forward to watching your blog grow into an “official” website.

  2. rgayer55 says:

    Time is a challenge all writers face, especially those of us who still have to work a full-time job to support our families. I do most of my writing early in the morning while my wife is still in bed. Some folks write late at night, but I’m a morning person and feel more creative at that time of day.

    By the way, thanks for signing up to follow my blog. I’ll try to keep it entertaining.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I’m at my best in the morning as well, but tend to do most of my writing in the evening after work as my job starts at 7:30 AM. But on Saturdays and Sundays, I’m up very early in the morning, facing the keyboard, armed with a strong cup of joe, and very enthusiastic.

      You’ve a great blog. I’m enjoying it.

      • Strangely enough, I used to be someone who wrote primarily at night and before bed, but as I have grown as a writer I find that rule has now been turned on its head. I tend to do most of my writing in the morning and early afternoon now as this is when I feel that I am at my best, creatively speaking.

  3. I’ve given this dilemma a great deal of thought and the only solution that I can come up with is to somehow add an extra six to twelve hours to my day. If I find out a way to actually do this, I’ll let you know! 🙂

  4. librarylady says:

    All right, you just described my situation to a tee. I was stressed for time before I started blogging. I too am writing a book and have all but the last re read done. When one of the published authors in my book group suggested we all start a blog to get our out names out there, I almost fell off my chair. Start a blog?!? When would I do this, the middle of the night?
    Anyway I decided to try her advice and was instantly hooked. So much so that I didn’t have time for my book. Great. So now I’ve modified my blogging, and just try to take turns with things. I manage comments and peruse the reader on my lunch hours. Take turns writing posts, and working on my book, and just do more with less time. I can see a problem hovering on the horizon though when I submit this manuscript and start on a brand new book. No way I’ll have time for both. If only I didn’t have to earn a living. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

