Writing and Weight Loss?

At some point during my life’s journey, I picked up an extra 25 pounds. That’s right: me. The girl who used to be able to eat anything and not gain an ounce, now just watches her husband eat a cheeseburger and gains weight. As I watch him bite into a Big Mac, joyfully and with relish, I can hear my own inner scale going ka-ching, ka-ching, ka-ching. Is this what they call sympathetic weight gain?

Looking into the mirror, I notice that my once svelte middle now slightly resembles a Firestone tire. Let’s be honest: there is extra pad on my chassis. Once a sleek sports car,

Before...

Before…

I have morphed into a Volkswagen Beetle.

and after...

and after…

Worse, I feel sluggish. I wonder when it was that my “get up and go” “got up and went.”

I like to blame it on my metabolism. (Hello, Metabolism? Where ya hiding? Come out, come out, wherever you are!)

The truth is, I’ve gotten lazy. I have a sedentary job, and then I sit in front of a keyboard in the evenings.

Not good.

But here’s the thing – I love to write! But it is damned hard work. It requires energy and alertness. I really believe that in order to write, you have to be in shape. What I won’t do for my health, I’m willing to do for my writing: lose the extra pounds that are making me slow and tired.

I tried an experiment last week. I got on the treadmill for 45 minutes each night. I felt better for it: less tired, re-energized, able to write with concentration.

So I’ve decided to undertake that experiment over a longer period of time.

image

For the next six months, yours truly will be pumping iron and having a love affair with the treadmill. At least five days per week, I will devote a set amount of time to strength training and walking at a brisk pace at an elevated incline on the machine.

To keep me “honest,” I have made the decision that I will document weekly on this blog my progress. I will be tracking the following: 1) pounds lost, 2) word count gained.

Word count? Yep, you heard me. Word count. I want to see if my word count improves as a result of becoming more energetic… and I want to see if the content improves as well. So, let’s throw in a #3 and call it creativity. I want to see if a stronger, more energetic me is a more creative me.

So this is my self-issued challenge over the next six months. If you hold me accountable, I think I can do it. In fact, I know I can.

Today I came across an encouraging quote from the Roman poet, Virgil. He wrote: “They are able who think they are able.”

I think I am able. Anyone want to join me? If not, would you mind providing the occasional cheer from the sidelines for “Team Kate” – I sure would appreciate it.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Writing Odyssey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Writing and Weight Loss?

  1. All the best. I too kept these resolutions. My connection with treadmill succeeded but writing took a backseat. Will catch up now.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I appreciate the support. I know it will be a time juggling act to increase workout time and writing time, but without improving my stamina, my attention and enthusiasm for writing suffers. Being stuck in an office for 8+ hours per day can suck the life out of you! Need to energize after sitting so much. Good luck with catching up on your writing!

  2. Kate Loveton says:

    Thank you. I think you’re right about the wimp factor – now that my challenge is out there before all of you, I better stick to it! πŸ™‚

  3. librarylady says:

    Way to go Kate! It’s good to make committments like this out loud and even better to other people. Then the chances of wimping out are greatly reduced.

  4. shunpwrites says:

    This is awesome and I can sympathize. I returned from a business trip a couple years ago where I gained 14lbs… I was convinced that the cleaners had shrunk my suits, but my son astutely pointed out that this wasn’t the case with a couple select pokes to my mid-section. The following day I got on a bike riding and spinach salad regimen where I lost all of the weight that I gained. Strangely enough, I got passionate about it and the bike ended up serving as my muse as it stirred my creativity along with purging the Fatman that I had become from my bones. Go for it Kate I believe in you!

  5. While my job keeps me active enough already, I will certainly cheer you in from the sidelines. I’m even thinking of painting a little banner for you and waving it each time I read of your success. You go, girl!

    Heather xxx

  6. You are making us all look lazy, my dear. Ok, I’m in. I’ll keep your pace. My new orange running shoes are ready. πŸ™‚ I agree. Writing has taken all my extra time. I love a good cheeseburger, too.

    Aud xxx

  7. SarahClare says:

    That’s great! Be careful not to over do it though! *gets the look of a worried mother hen*

    I bought a mountain bike last week (I think I’m having a mid life crisis..) and an indoor trainer thing so I don’t have to go out in the rain (because, hello? Wet hair!) and I will agree with you; I’m more energised, I feel more motivated to sit and write, and I cherish the time I have on said bottom a whole lot more.

    My only advice: water, water, water. Not rain.. But in a glass, form a tap.

    Seriously though. Good luck with it! xx

  8. stacilys says:

    Hi Kate. Way to go girl. And you know, you will feel so much better. When we eat healthy and get regular exercise, everything gets better. We sleep better, think clearer, feel better (thank you feel good endorphins). About the metabolism, I would suggest HIIT. That’s what I do. I exercise from 15-30 minutes a day and that’s it. Have you ever suggested looking into bodyrock.tv. You work various muscles at once, while raising your heartbeat. And the best thing about it is that your metabolism stays spiked for the next 24-36 hours (different then walking or regular moderate cardio. The benefits are only in the ‘while your doing it’).
    Can’t wait to hear how it goes.
    Blessings =)

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Staci, Thanks for the encouragement! I like your suggestions and have noted them for when I get used to my current routine. It’s good to mix things up. Right now, I think adding the strength training to the incline walking is going to reap some big benefits. I’m going to check out your suggestions, though – I like the idea of the metabolism remaining spiked for such a long period.

      • stacilys says:

        You’re welcome Kate. The strength training will definitely help reap big benefits. The more muscle strength you have, the higher your metabolism is. Now that’s great news isn’t it :).
        Anyhow, if you would like to get some healthy, low-carb recipe, feel free to check out the ‘FFTF-Food For Thought Fridays’ section of my blog ok.
        Blessings=)

  9. 1wyrdsmith says:

    Good luck! I’ll be interested to see how it goes – I’ve been trying to do much the same thing myself!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I promise to update the challenge weekly. I’m interested to see how my progress fares, as well. Let me know how you’re progressing, too, when you’re of a mind to share. πŸ™‚

  10. Harliqueen says:

    Good luck with this! I feel your pain with the weight gaining, I just have to smell a cake and I put on weight! πŸ˜€

  11. Sree says:

    Good luck, Kate! I’m really interested in knowing whether the ‘more exercise-better writing’ idea works out.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Me, too. I am really hoping that being more energetic will get those creative juices flowing! If nothing else, it will help me fit much more nicely into those jeans this summer!

  12. Great job getting started! Getting active and exercising is a phenomenal start – if you can, think about focusing some attention on your diet as well and your results will be fantastic. Check us out for tips if you’d like – we’re new to the blogging world but we’d love to share ideas and tips!!

  13. Oh, Bravo! I look forward to your updates on this goal of yours. Being a first time mom; I still suffer from the incredible amount of weight I gained during pregnancy…14 months later I shudder to think of the pre-pregnancy jeans in my closet, waiting for me to slip back into them. The problem is as you said: I sit. I sit most of the day. I write during naps, I write in the evenings, after bedtime. Winter is especially hard to lose, who wants to go out in this frigid cold if they don’t have to? I applaud you, heck, I may even decide to join you. It is a good idea, I can see the logic in longer, better bouts of writing after a workout. Losing weight and better writing…sounds like a win/win!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Join me! Let’s do it together!

      • I already commented below (this is how new I really am to blogging) but I just saw you are first time moms… I’m a Navy physician and my wife is a first time mom… those two things basically comprise the premise of our ironcookclean blog, so we’d love to have you check us out! Sorry for the multiple posts – my wife usually keeps me on a tighter blogging leash πŸ™‚

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Thanks for the encouragement regarding the exercise program. You’re right – the diet is important as well (she says, munching on her apple). While not a mom, I will certainly check out your blog. Good luck with it!

  14. I definitely get my best ideas when I’m running. I go to this place in my head where it’s just me and my thoughts. After the run I don’t feel so bad about sitting at the computer for an hour hammering out a few pages.

    I say, good for you! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

