Just another day in Siberia…

Three Days Before Spring

Three Days Before Spring

I despair.
I despair.
There’s not a bloom anywhere.

There’s plenty of white
So I consider quick flight
To isles ringed by blue ocean
Colorful hammocks in motion
Graceful palm trees dancing
And tanned couples romancing…

But I haven’t the energy.
I’m shrouded in lethargy
Longing for spring
And the joys it will bring
Of bright colored pansies and
Bird-song sweet fancies.

But who am I kidding
Hostage to Winter’s bidding
Forced to forebear
With the absence of warm air
I guess I’ll get by
With a frosted, weary sigh.

In warm woolen wear
I search for a bloom anywhere
And despair. I despair.

(Just a little throwaway on a dreary day in frosty Pennsylvania.)

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just another day in Siberia…

  1. stacilys says:

    This is great Kate. Beautifully put together. Why don’t you come down south and visit. I live inland, but four hours drive from here is a place I know you’d love. You take your pick, Ilheus or Porto Seguro? Both promise sun, heat, palm trees, beaches, peacefully sipping coconut water out of the coconut, culture, etc. So when ya coming?
    =)

    • Kate Loveton says:

      How about now? A refrain from an old Peter, Paul & Mary song is suddenly running through my brain… “I’m leavin’ on a jet plane… don’t know when I’ll be back again!”

      Glad you enjoyed the little poem; it was just a fun little thing to take my mind off the bleakness of winter. BUT tomorrow is the first day of Spring.

      About time…

      • stacilys says:

        Oh, I hope it’s a promising start to your spring. We are cooling a bit here. Getting ready for our tumultuous winter of 15-20 degrees celcius (60-70 fahrenheit). I know, it doesn’t seem too cold, but I’m telling you, the temperatures here are different. I’m serious. 60 degrees there is nice. 60n degrees here I’m using a scarf. I think it’s because the houses are built to keep out heat, so when it does cool off a bit, and with no indoor heating, it really feels cold. My nose is constantly chilly at that time and sometimes I need to turn my oven on and open up the door to heat up a bit.
        Happy spring to you. =)

  2. Brilliant poem!

    Perhaps i shouldn’t mention that we had bright blue skies in the UK today….

  3. MikeW says:

    Great poem.

  4. I couldn’t agree more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

