The Unending Story

image

Fifty years ago, he stood with Rosa in this alcove, taking vows that joined them together for life. Β In youthful ignorance, they imagined a stretch of days as unending as the rolling hills and valleys glimpsed beyond the gray stone walls.

Too soon, it was finished.

Now, only the countryside remains, its beauty eternal.

Like his soul.

Old, sick, he comes today to bid one last farewell to youthful dreams and fleeting mortal existence. He is not sad.

Soon, he’ll see her again, and there will be a stretch of days before them, unending, like the hills and valleys beyond.

__________________
Author’s Note: This story was written in response to a prompt to craft a 100 words or less story based on the photo above. Prompts are offered weekly by the Friday Fictioneers, and the link can be found here.

Thank you, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting the Friday Fictioneers.

Photo Credit: Copyright Jennifer Pendergast.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Unending Story

  1. I like the loop back to the beginning and how you went easy on the description, K.

  2. Margaret Smith says:

    A beautiful love story in just 100 words. A remarkable feat. I was there with the man and his thoughts. This is such a touching story it brought tears to my eyes.

  3. enigma1862 says:

    This piece is absolutely stunning πŸ™‚

  4. yarnspinnerr says:

    Welcome to FF. Wonderfully lucid.

  5. Dear Kate,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. it’s always fun to see who sees what in a photo. A sweet story filled with enduring love.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks for the welcome, Rochelle. Tailoring a story to fit a photo is something new for me. I’m generally inspired by ‘word’ prompts, and then look for a photo to illustrate a main element, character or theme in my story.

      You’ve done the photo work for me! Now I have to think about what a photo is saying to me. I really like the challenge of it. πŸ™‚

  6. A whole life story in 100 words?

    You’ve managed to pull it off my dear, and with a great deal of class too! πŸ™‚

    I loved it ❀

  7. stacilys says:

    Beautiful Kate. This man has lived a full life. And he knows where he’s going.
    πŸ™‚

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Staci. He definitely had no fear of the future; instead, his faith was such that he was eager for it. What he prized was on the ‘other side.’ πŸ™‚

  8. Harliqueen says:

    It really beautiful, but so sad at the same time. A really great short piece! πŸ™‚

  9. Mark Baron says:

    I agree entirely with MikeW – it is so refreshing to read a tale that is not about anything more dramatic than a simple life lived well. Those are the tales most difficult to tell, and here, you do it masterfully.

  10. MikeW says:

    Today, true literary bravery allows for characters who are basically good and have harbored no darkness as bright as the light they hope and believe in. There never was anything brave about writing about fantastical falls from grace and wallowing in their false honesty; its just kind of a literary sickness adopted from the subject matter. Writing like yours re-ennobles us instead of enabling us.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Mike, thank you for your comment and very kind words. Sometimes I like to take a look at the quiet moments in people’s lives, the goodness, the simplicity. I envisioned this couple beginning their lives full of hope and with an imagined vista of never-ending days before them. We believe that when we are young. But it all goes by very fast. For the protagonist, however, he had his faith to sustain him. πŸ™‚

  11. Lovely, Kate. A perfect story, filled with love. I could see my grandparents in it.

  12. You’ve packed a lot into those few words, Kate.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Keith. When you only have a hundred, you really have to think about each one! I once did a 50 word challenge. The other day I ran across a prompt for a 20 word challenge – that boggles the imagination! Although probably the most famous example of a flash fiction consisted of only 6 words – Hemmingway’s classic flash fiction about the baby shoes.

Leave a Reply

