A Righteous Man

image

After hymns finished, Brother Hackendorf got a determined look in his eye.  We saw the spirit was upon him.

That’s when the snakes came out.

Brother picked one up and held it high.  “Rebuke the Devil! Lucifer’s bite can’t harm a righteous man!”

Brother wasn’t as righteous as he thought.

_________________
Word Count: 50

Author’s Note: This piece of micro fiction was written in response to challenge hosted by Elizabeth Frattaroli.  For this month’s challenge, the subject was left open, but the word count was restricted to 50 words or less.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Righteous Man

  1. Pingback: With apologies to Kate…….. | elizabethfrattaroli

  2. Lucy says:

    Ha ha ha. Oh, he talks to snakes. They don’t like him. He should’ve stayed with speaking in tongues. Ha ha. I really liked that. Lucy

  3. stacilys says:

    Kate. This is hilarious. I loved it. So much so that I shared it with my hubby. We both can really appreciate the humor in this. It’s also very unfortunate that these ‘brothers’ really do exist.
    🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Staci! Glad the story gave you a chuckle. I do laugh, but on another level, I wonder about these individuals. I understand in the US there are still some churches that advocate the handling of poisonous snakes in services. That truly perplexes me!

  4. Fifty words of fantastic-ness!

    I loved it. ❤

  5. Linda Smith says:

    A very good lesson in self-righteousness.

  6. Fifty awesome words! But I think the snake the guy is holding is a boa constrictor – gentle creatures that only bite if they are head shy. We had one for years (my son’s) and I grew a great respect for snakes. They are truly amazing creatures and normally very shy.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Noelle, glad you liked the story! Thanks for commenting. So much for handling dangerous serpents in this particular guy’s church LOL! Still creeps me out though.

  7. … and only fifty words. Superb job.

  8. Ahh! Snakes…yish! Brother shouldn’t trust a snake…

  9. librarylady says:

    Hah! Goodbye brother. What a great amount of information in a small amount of words.

Leave a Reply

