Leave-taking

image

“We gots to leave, Sally.”

Sally stood in the nursery, tears on her brown cheeks, while workmen pulled down centuries’ old walls.

“Not leaving while Junie’s body is still here.”

Tom’s eyes were sad. “They’s callin’ us. It’s time. We hung ’round dis place too long. Nuthin’ but misery. I’m weary – it’s time to go.”

“Not without my baby. She’s in this room – I ain’t leaving.”

****

“Jack!” cried the workman to his buddy. “Look! There’s bones behind the wall!”

Bright light suddenly erupted, shooting upward from the plaster.

“Now it’s time,” said Sally, taking Tom’s hand, following Β the light.

__________________
Word Count: 100
Photo Credit: Mary Shipman

Author’s Note: This story was written in response to a challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and her Friday Fictioneers. The challenge was to write a story of 100 words or less pertaining to the photo posted above. Thanks for the prompt, Rochelle!

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Leave-taking

  1. Kate, I’ll also be waiting for the prequel. Well-written story. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  2. Kate Loveton says:

    Thanks, Audrey. I shall have to seriously start thinking about this story! πŸ™‚

  3. I like Sally and Tom. This is great! More..

  4. W. K. Tucker says:

    I agree with Lucy…more, please. πŸ™‚

  5. Lucy says:

    How bizarre. And the light. Is that THE light? I need more. Sit down, write the prequel. I’ll wait. Lucy

  6. Peace at last? Well done.

  7. Nan Falkner says:

    Good mystery! I hope there is more to it than the parents killing their baby. Very well done! Thanks! Nan πŸ™‚

  8. You left us wondering, but I loved the ending!

  9. Dear Kate,

    Ethereal and mysterious.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. Oh my word. Did Sally and Tom kill their own daughter and bury her behind the wall?

    Creepy, sinister and thought-provoking. I very much enjoyed it ❀

  11. elappleby says:

    Brilliant. Perfectly structured and expertly written. You’ve left me with a warm glow for two spirits who’ve finally found peace πŸ™‚

  12. Sharmishtha says:

    its painful and very well written

Leave a Reply

