A True Horror Tale

Okay, I’ve misled you. I’ve no flash fiction tale for you this time.

It’s just me, Kate Loveton, sneezing at the computer screen and hoping I’m not sending my germs over the internet.

I wanted to quickly drop in and say AH-CHOO!

Well, that and hello… and to admit to all of you thatΒ I haven’t felt much like blogging the last few days. Naps? Oh yeah, I’ve felt like napping a lot. And sending my poor husband out in search of Starbucks’ vanilla bean frappuccinos with the whiny plea, “But they make my throat feel so much better…”

c5d78bae193e43ba914d499c0f0b9f74

The man is a saint. And I’ve gained a pound, probably, from all those cool, icy, and wonderful milky concoctions. Ah, but I digress…

Back on point, instead of my usual healthy appearance –

Marilyn

I’m afraid I’m looking like this –

woman_sick_with_cold_314_208

Quite a difference, huh? Are you feeling sorry for me yet?

Okay, so I don’t really look like Marilyn Monroe. I’ll do anything for a bit of sympathy when I’m feeling unwell. I’m a sympathy hound. Bassets got nuthin’ on me!

basset-hound-howard_34698_990x742

See how little pride I’ve got left? I’m now using photos of cute dogs to get sympathy.

Anyway, my friends, I wanted to thank all of you for the nice responses to my last story, The Visit, and to apologize for my tardiness in responding to your gracious comments. I hope to get caught up this weekend.

There is one thing that’s been making life bearable for me while enduring this cold – aside from the wonderful frappuccinos and my wonderful husband – and that would be my baseball team, the Baltimore Orioles, who are having one of their best seasons in quite a long time. So I’m coming out of the closet and giving you a glimpse of the real Kate Loveton (minus cold), dressed in her dorky Orioles apparel. (Dig the cool ‘Orioles Orange‘ sunglasses… have I got class or what?)

Now…if only someone would introduce me to Nelson Cruz…

Go Orioles! As for me, time for another nap.Β πŸ™‚Β  Just make sure to wake me in time for tonight’s game, okay?

Orioles Fan

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to A True Horror Tale

  1. With all these wonderful good wishes, you should be feeling better by now! Summer colds are the WORST, and I hope you are on the mend. I visited Camden Yards before it opened – what a fabulous place to see a ball game. I’m a Red Sox fan myself, suffering in silence year after year until the Babe’s curse was broken. So go Orioles!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Come to Baltimore again, Noelle – I’ll treat you to a game and a crab cake sandwich at Camden Yards! Your poor Sox are struggling this year, I’m afraid.

      I’m feeling much better now, thank you! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the wonderful invite! I may take you up on it one of these days – right now I’m prepping for caring for my husband post knee surgery. He and I are of the opinion that the only true crab cakes are found in Baltimore. No fillers! We’ve often ordered them from Fadley’s. And yeah, my Sox are in their mid-summer slump, nothing new, unfortunately.

  2. Awww, you poor thing, Kate! πŸ™‚

    See, this is the fate that befalls folks who worship the orange and black and lord it over their supposed friends when their team loses and hers wins….. As great as you look in orange, you’d look even better in pinstripes……

  3. markbialczak says:

    You got it going on with the Birds gear, Kate, cold or no. Way to go, hubby, keeping the frapps coming for Kate!

  4. Kate Loveton says:

    I’ll blog about anything… even the paint drying on a wall. πŸ˜‰

    I think I mentioned your reference to my name in my comments on ‘Mercury Poisoning,’ but perhaps I only thought I had. Although I noticed ‘Kate,’ I totally missed the Loveton anagram! Clever, you are. Me? Not so much. πŸ˜€

    By the way, your mention of anagrams reminds me of a great Ellery Queen novel I read a long time ago. My eighth grade teacher, Mrs. Conlee (‘I love you, Mrs. Conlee, if you ever happen upon this blog!’) lent it to me when I was in her class. It was titled ‘Ten Days Wonder’ and it was about adultery, murder and – anagrams! You should try to get a copy. I bet you can find it on Amazon. I think you’d like it.

    Feel better, Lucy!

  5. Lucy says:

    Well, gee. I’ve been sick for 2 weeks and I didn’t think to write a post about it. Well, color me stupid. I wouldn’t get as many responses. I thought something was amiss not having heard from you. I hope you feel better soon. Did you ever figure out how I used your whole name in “Mercury Poisoning…”? Kate Voltone, you anagram, you. Well, you have been sick. Later…Lucy

  6. Hey, You! Hi!! Feel better, my friend. I’m happy to see you. πŸ™‚ I’ll take you cold or no cold…

  7. W. K. Tucker says:

    Hope you’re better soon…I’m also under the weather and it ain’t no fun, sister. 😦

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Oh no, Kathy! I’m awfully sorry to hear you’re under the weather, too. Hope you feel better soon. I think you need a couple of frappucinos. I sure would like to have one right now. It’s almost eleven o’clock at night here. My husband is a wonderful man, but even he has his limits… I think I better settle for a ginger ale from the ‘fridge!

      Feel better. πŸ™‚

      • W. K. Tucker says:

        I just got over a stomach bug…now I have a bladder infection. My husband takes care of me too–husbands are handy to have around sometimes. πŸ™‚ And I agree, a frappucino would be heavenly about now.

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Well, my mind is fixated on the frapp now… the ginger ale doesn’t taste nearly as good.

          Maybe if I put a scoop of vanilla ice cream in it…

          Drink lots of cranberry juice, Kathy; I’ve heard it is a good deterrent against those infections. πŸ™‚

        • W. K. Tucker says:

          I have a touchy stomach…can’t do cranberry juice. I got some antibiotics from my doctor and am drinking lots of water. Ice cream…..hummm….I think I have some peach sherbet in the freezer. Better than nothing.

  8. mandy says:

    Feel better!

  9. Julia Lund says:

    Hope you’re better very soon.

  10. Mark Baron says:

    Marilyn’s got nothin’ on ya, cold or no. πŸ˜‰ Feel better, m’dear!

  11. sknicholls says:

    That’s exactly what husbands are for! Rest, relax and recuperate. πŸ™‚

  12. willow1945 says:

    Get well soon–enjoyed the humor and the photos!

  13. Wah – quelle horreur, pauvre toi ! Enjoy whatever pampering you can get and be well soon.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Keith, thanks! Regarding pampering, even my dachshunds have gotten into the act. One has decided to hover close by as if she knows I need ‘dachshund therapy.’ πŸ˜€

  14. Juan Zung says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

