The Cost

Caskets. Flags. ‘Grateful nation…’

Cold comfort.

image

__________________
Word Count: 6
Author’s Note: Written in response to challenge to create six-word story about anything. Weekly flash fiction challenge hosted by ThainInVain.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Cost

  1. viktoryarch says:

    cool. Short, two words. Well done.

  2. Anjana says:

    Loved it.
    I am not surprised at all.
    You are just truely wonderful. 😀

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge – Week Twenty-Nine Submissions (29) | Thain in Vain

  4. markbialczak says:

    Awful. Tear-stained. Forever. Inevitable? Avoidable?

  5. Dalo 2013 says:

    Powerful photo, and an incredible set of 6-words. Inspirational, even with its poignant reminder of the great service of our military men & women.

  6. Mark Gardner says:

    My first response was sadness, but then as a Veteran, it was replaced by awe remembering all the people who, like me, volunteered.

  7. Kate Loveton says:

    Thank you, Audrey!

  8. Does not need more words.

  9. Awesome!!!! Way to throw down the gauntlet!! Those six words tell and amazing story! Great work, Kate! You should do another! TiV

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi TiV – thank you for the kind words! I’m glad you liked the story. I’m not sure I can come up with another six word story, but if I do, I’ll post it. 🙂

  10. Wow. Six words that hit me like a sledgehammer.

    Outstanding ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Heather. It must be a very hard thing, having a loved one come home in a flag-draped coffin. The little boy, his hand touching the top of the casket, really got to me.

  11. Thank you, Kate. We military families live with this every day.

  12. gpeynon says:

    Oh, I like these six-worders. Think I’ll have a go too. Thanks.

  13. Mark Baron says:

    Fan-fucking-tastic. French, pardonable, I do hope.

  14. willow1945 says:

    You did it–it IS a story, and a powerful one.

Leave a Reply

