The Dare

dachshund

“I double dog dare ya!” said Butch.

What seemed like a good idea earlier didn’t seem so hot now that we were standing on the front lawn of old lady Havisham’s aged Victorian. The house’s peeling paint and crooked shutters gave me the creeps.

My dog, Charlie, was straining at the leash. His hound’s nose scented something.

“Stop, Charlie!” I said, yanking the leash, but the dachshund refused to listen.

“Look, Skeeter, if you ain’t gonna do it, I’m leaving.” Disgusted, Butch turned away. “You’re such a girl sometimes.”

His words wounded my tomboy heart. “Wait!”

He did. “If you’re gonna do it, do it now. I ain’t got all day.”

“I didn’t say I wasn’t gonna do it… I just need some time to think.”

“About what? Just knock on the door and run. I’ll hold Charlie for ya. Go on.”

This special summer was important. Butch was the new boy in town and his opinion mattered. I was eleven, but I’d already decided he was the boy I’d marry when I grew up. I liked his blond hair and freckles. He seemed to like me, too; said I was the bravest girl he knew.

“Okay,” I said, tossing him Charlie’s leash. “Hold him – he likes to run.”

“Don’t worry ‘bout Charlie,” he said, nudging me forward. “Go!”

I took a deep breath then ran up to the sagging porch. Peeking through the window nearest the door, I couldn’t see much. The panes were grimy and foul.

“Hurry up,” called Butch.

“Okay, okay,” I muttered under my breath. I quickly pounded on the door. Before I could run, it suddenly swung open, no one in sight.

“CHARLIE, NO!” yelled Butch.

Charlie, leash trailing, scooted right past me and through the door.

Cautiously, I followed. “Charlie?” I whispered. “Come back here, bad dog!”

My eyes slowly adjusted to the shadowy room.

On a nearby table sat a sepia-toned photograph of a young woman dressed in white, wearing a pearl necklace and long, filmy veil. I picked up the photograph, studying it.

PUT THAT DOWN, LITTLE TOAD!”

Scared, I dropped the photograph and spun around. Before me stood an old woman, glaring.

She held Charlie in her arms, ignoring his wriggling attempts to get free. “Is this yours?” she asked.

Frozen with fear, I could only nod. Her long, grizzled hair hung past her shoulders and she wore the tattered remains of a once-white dress and old, chewed veil. I gagged on the smell of mothballs.

“Come to visit, little toad?”

She crept close and I slowly backed toward the door. Suddenly, Charlie freed himself, jumped down, and ran out of the house.

“What about you, little toad?” She raised a withered claw in welcome.

Cackling laughter followed as I ran out the door, screaming like a lunatic, no longer caring about Butch’s opinion.

Catching up with Charlie, I grabbed his leash, putting distance between us and that house.

I never looked back to see if Butch was following…

__________________
Word Count: 500
Author’s Note: This tale is written in response to a writing prompt to write a 500-word story utilizing the words: photograph; special summer; heart; dachshund; and pearl necklace. Thanks to Elizabeth Frattaroli who hosts monthly challenges. Her blog can be found here.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Dare

  1. A cautionary tale for any errant child! Scary old people are scary and old for a reason, Skeeter found that out the hard way!

    If I dream of a scary old woman in an off-white dress and mangy veil, I’m blaming you! 🙂

    Great work as always ❤

  2. The perfect opening for a neo-Gothic novel. Miss Heversham, in deed!

  3. Deb says:

    Stupid keynboard! Before I rudely interrupted myself I was going to say…and I see myself in another few years scaring children!! LOL Nice work!

  4. Deb says:

    I really enjoyed this a lot. Kept my interest a

  5. Pingback: ‘The Dare’ by Kate Loveton | elizabethfrattaroli

  6. Lucy says:

    Creepy story, Sister Grime. I liked it. Lucy

  7. willow1945 says:

    So Miss Havisham is still alive–she IS a pip! Couldn’t resist. A fun story–thanks!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Willow! heh heh heh – I couldn’t resist borrowing a bit from my man, Charles Dickens, and placing Miss Havisham in a more modern setting, although as crazy as ever. 😀 It was fun to play just a very little bit in his back yard.

  8. Wonderful! Such a fun story, from an innocent time.

  9. Julia Lund says:

    Loved these descriptions:” Her grizzled hair hung past her shoulders” and “chewed veil”.
    There are some things not worth enduring – no matter how gorgeous he is 😀

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Julia – notice good old Butch let his girlfriend do his dirty work for him! 😀 He stood out on the lawn while Skeeter was suppose to ring the bell and run. Ah, the things we do for love!

  10. Delightful reading. Kids will be kids. Sigh. Why isn’t there a Love button?

  11. A dare, a dachshund and a dowager dame, dubious dodgy deeds that delight.
    Superb response to the challenge, and a great story. Sorry about the excessive alliteration.

Leave a Reply

