That Old Black Magic

image

“You left these inside,” he said, rushing to catch up with me as I exited the coffee shop.

Handing me the sunglasses, his warm hand touched mine.

A frisson of electricity!

He felt it too – there was surprised laughter in his eyes.

Love at first sight.

Sweet mystery. Sweet magic.

____________________
Word count: 50
Author’s Note: This piece was written in response to a challenge issued by Elizabeth Frattaroli to write 50 words (or under) on the theme of magic and mystery. Elizabeth’s blog can be found here.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to That Old Black Magic

  1. Pingback: 50 Word Micro Fiction – Two more… | elizabethfrattaroli

  2. Lucy says:

    My luck I would have electrocuted him. There he would be smoldering on the floor and I am so embarrassed. I’m out the door. Love at first sight–been there. Nice story. Lucy

  3. Julia Lund says:

    You’ve captured a moment that, I hope, changed the future.

  4. Great stuff, Kate!

    I’m hoping something like this happens to me in the near future…. πŸ™‚

  5. Oooooo Even I felt that charge waaaayyyy over here. πŸ˜› I like how you captured the moment. Awesome. ❀

  6. Terrific short to the challenge. Reminds me of something that happened to me long ago….

  7. Well done, Kate! i can’t manage anything like this, no good when it comes to challenges, but you certainly can. Yes!

  8. The very definition of ‘short and sweet’. Nice treatment of the challenge.

Leave a Reply

