Unanswered Prayers

image

Lace curtains fluttered on the breeze of a warm summer’s night.

News arrived and the window was quickly closed. A mausoleum stillness then descended, captured in the mirror’s surface.

Out of view, a lone figure knelt by a bed, fingers flying over a string of beads. Soft entreaties drifted skyward, searching for love and comfort as each bead touched fingertips.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us…

Nearby, a body lay in a morgue.

She’d told him easy money was a lie.

She continued fingering the beads, once shiny and new, now worn dull from a mother’s troubled prayers.

__________________
Word Count: 99

Author’s Note: This piece was written in response to two challenges.

The first challenge was to write a 100-word story based on the above photo prompt. The challenge was issued on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog, Addicted to Purple. This is part of Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers challenge – found here. Β Photo credit: Β Janet Webb.

The story was also written in response to ‘My Weekly Writing Challenge’ hosted on the Esther Newton Blog (found here). Her challenge was to write a story based on the words or the theme of money, new and operation. I couldn’t fit ‘operation’ into my 100 words, but I was able to craft a story around the words ‘money’ and ‘new.’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Unanswered Prayers

  1. Kate, Very sad. I agree that it takes a lot of praying to wear down beads. Poor woman. Well written. —Susan

  2. Lucy says:

    Nice job. My rosary is around somewhere. That mother had to be praying an awful lot to wear down those beads, poor thing. For her they were akin to worry beads. I could see her worrying the beads. Very nice job. Lucy

  3. The foreshadowing is subtle, but I didn’t expect what followed. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› A wonderful sketch with lots of hidden story. ❀

  4. margirene says:

    Great story-telling. Love how you lead us on to the punchline. Sad.

  5. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Kate, If you are new, welcome! I really enjoyed your story and she is right, Easy Money is a lie. Such a good story!
    Nan πŸ™‚

  6. 100 words leaving my imagination taking this short story into a thousand different directions. That, my dear, is the very definition of a master storyteller….

    Excellent stuff! ❀

  7. willow1945 says:

    A sad story, Kate, told in subtle and indirect ways–very well done!

  8. Imagination rampant, as usual. Your shorts, and short-shorts are amazing. When do we see the book, Kate?

  9. She told him easy money was a lie. Great plot twist, there. πŸ™‚

  10. Subtly told. Well done.
    Claire

  11. Dear Kate,

    A sad tale sweetly told.

    As for your question about posting. It’s not too late until Tuesday when the link list closes. I’ve taken the liberty of adding you to the list so other FF’rs will read your story. Putting a link on the Friday Fictioneers page is a little like putting the slipping it under the doormat. πŸ˜‰

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Rochelle, thanks very much for linking my story. I confess, I did try to find the link but couldn’t locate it. I’ll have to try harder next time!

      I loved this prompt. As soon as I saw the photo, I knew what I wanted to write about.

      I’m glad you liked the story.

  12. I love the way you can cram so much into so few words, Kate. Superb.

Leave a Reply

