Contagion

imagesEGPGPNO6

Her husband approached, a goofy, eager look on his face. Irritated, she looked up from her conversation.

“A rose for a rose,” he said, handing her the flower with a flourish.

“Elliot, please.” She frowned, turning back to her guest.

She was Stuart’s boss. I hated the frequent evenings in her company we were forced to endure. I watched her ineffectual husband, the faithful jester, currying for favor, each attempt doomed to failure. The pair’s unhappiness was viral, a contagion threatening to spread.

Urgently, fearfully, I whispered in Stuart’s ear. “Promise we’ll never be like them!”

Stuart, looking away, yawned.

__________________
Word Count: 100
Author’s Note: This story is written in response to a challenge issued by VerbalVerbosity (found here) to write a 100 word fiction based on the word ‘jester.’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Contagion

  1. All too realistic – you got it, Kate!

  2. You told a lot of story in just 100 words! Well done. πŸ™‚

  3. willow1945 says:

    It’s a sad truth that we can be very influenced by the people we spend time with–very well done, Kate!

  4. stacilys says:

    Wonderful, yet a bit sad. Very well written, and sad is good, btw.
    πŸ™‚

  5. This was awesome, love how you used the prompt!

  6. You ‘got’ me with ever word, and that’s a coup! I re-read it twice, because I enjoyed the nuances. Nice.

  7. So few words but such an impact, Kate. Impressive stuff! ❀

  8. OUCH for the last line. Nice job again, Kate πŸ™‚

  9. Linda Workman Smith says:

    I picture you with a head many times larger than your body; has to be in order to hold all the ideas you carry around. Sister, W.K. Tucker and I–along with a sister-in-law and her sister–are at the Mississippi gulf coast for the week. Sitting here, all taking in the lovely coastal morning I opened my iPad to check mail. I almost squealed (like a little girl) and said to Kathy , “Ooooooh, a new post from Kate Loveton.” I so look forward to your work. Linda

  10. I can’t help giggling at the stern look on one wife’s face and the hopeful look on the other’s. The yawn sounds hopeful. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    A lot of story encapsulated here, Kate. Remarkable piece. ❀

  11. Perfect capture, Kate, in 100 words. Well done!
    Best wishes
    john

  12. Kate; your ability to encapsulate so much in so few words astounds me.

  13. Bruce Goodman says:

    It’s so sad! I’m rewriting the ending in my own head – just for me! (Never, never, NEVER EVER EVER,” said Stuart.)

  14. mihrank says:

    impressive – clear like a crystal!

Leave a Reply

