Lesson Learned Too Late

image

Frenzied, desperate warning unheeded!

Finally… bloodied knife.

Husband should’ve listened.
__________________
Word Count: 10
Author’s Note: A piece of micro fiction in answer to Esther Newton’s Weekly Writing Challenge (found here) to write a story in 10 words.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lesson Learned Too Late

  1. Oooh nice!

    In a bloody and murderous kind of way…. πŸ™‚

    Dark and devilish, I love it! ❀

    P.S. Remind me never to get on your bad side… πŸ™‚

  2. stacilys says:

    Oh wow. There you go again with the terror.
    Ouch.
    πŸ™‚
    Way to paint a picture Kate. Short and packs a punch.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Yep, there I go again! I was on Skype with Heather today, Staci, and I mentioned that of late some of my tales have lost their sting, and I’ve been venturing out my usual zone (The Twilight Zone – lol!). Anyway, I have to admit, I do miss the twisted stories. I need to get a bit of my stinger back! Thanks for reading, Staci!

  3. Those are sharp and bloody words. πŸ™‚

  4. Creepy. Halloween’s around the corner. Nice one, Kate!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Cindy! Halloween – how I love it… the time when all things go bump in the night!

      Hey, I’ve gotten really behind the past week; we are getting ready for a cruise next week so I’ve had lots of stuff to do to get ready and I couldn’t visit the blogs as much as I’d like. But I saw you have a neat post on Marnie which I intend to read and comment on in the next day or so. I love that movie! One of my all time favorite Hitchcock films!

  5. A penetrating piece! If you’d had 17 words you could have written a haiku!

  6. Bruce Goodman says:

    Ouch

  7. Mean and moody; I love it.

Leave a Reply

