The Wednesday Whine

image

Because everyone should celebrate making it through Wednesday (humorously referred to as ‘hump day’ in the United States), I am inviting all of  you to  share a glass of ‘wine’ and a little ‘whine’ with me each Wednesday evening.

Going forward, the Wednesday Whine will be a weekly feature on my blog.  It will be my special place to kick back, lift a glass of my favorite adult beverage, and tell you what’s been going on with me.  I will probably be holding forth on a few things that interest, infuriate or delight me – and, yes, I may whine a bit from time to time but I promise to do so with good humor. image

So, with my glass of Shiraz in hand and without further ado, here is this week’s Wednesday Whine.

Those of you who regularly follow my blog know that I just returned from a week’s cruise in the Eastern Caribbean. Before you start imagining me on a ‘party boat,’ I have to set your expectations a little lower. We cruised on the Disney ship, ‘The Fantasy,’ along with Micky, Minnie, Donald and the gang.

imageYou might think, as my friend, fellow blogger Adan Ramie  does, that cruising around with a bunch of ‘big headed,’ costumed creatures might be disconcerting. (Actually, I think she described it as rather terrifying!) She’s right.  It can be disconcerting – and that’s putting it mildly. But it’s funny what a few coconut drinks with little umbrellas can do to a person’s fear threshhold.  After several, you suddenly find yourself dancing on top the bar with Minnie. Who knew Minnie had cornered the market on all of Beyonce’s moves?

Don’t you just hate it when a mouse dances better than you do? And a big-headed, faux mouse at that.

After one too many dances, I got the feeling Goofy was judging my liquor intake harshly.  (“Gawrsh, how many of them little umbrellas you got there, Kate? Getting quite a collection… yuk, yuk, yuk! The table in front of you looks like a miniature Polynesian village!  yuk, yuk, yuk!”)

That was pretty cheeky of him, don’t you think? After all, he’s a creature with species issues, unable to decide whether he is man or dog.

Okay, so none of this really happened. Right…

You know what they say:  What happens in Disney, stays in Disney!

image

We really did have a lot of fun on the cruise in spite of a rainy day or two at sea. I learned I had sea legs! I was able to eat, drink and maneuver about the ship without getting sick or falling down in spite of some fairly rough days.

One sad tale: I was only one number away from winning almost $10,000 in BINGO. I needed B-64. We were playing a game where you had to fill in the entire card.  My card was filled in but for one number.   I was on my feet along with two other people.  Just one lousy number, Lord, just one!  Yeah, okay, I admit it… I was praying!

The BINGO caller drew the number and spoke into the mic: “Does anyone need B-sixty-…” (a dramatic, pregnant pause ensued while I jumped up and down – “ME, ME, ME!!”  I knew it was coming – B-64 was gonna be called and I was gonna be the big winner!)

Then the smiling, sadistic BINGO caller grinned my way and said the second half of the number:  “One!  B-61!”

B-61?

Seriously? B-61?

ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

image

So much for my career as a high roller!  Still, we had a great time (even without bringing home almost ten grand).  But, as Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz famously said, “There’s no place like home!”

image

It is good be back in frigid Pennsylvania (23 degrees Fahrenheit this morning) – and good to be back with all of you.

Even so, it was quite shocking when I turned my phone back on after the cruise. (Thank you, Mark Bialczak for advising me prior to the trip to turn off data gathering!) When the phone came back on, I discovered I had almost 500 notifications from WordPress!

Goodness – you folks were really busy while I was away! Fresh out of pina coladas, I realized there was no way I could catch up so I regretfully deleted the majority of the notifications (sorry, folks!) and am starting fresh. I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things and some of you may have noticed I’ve begun to visit your blogs again. Be patient with me – I am very interested in what you have to say. If I’ve been out of touch, you can bet I’ll be back in the groove again very soon.

One thing that was especially nice to come home to was a print of my favorite singer / performer, Francis Albert!  Sharon Cummings’ print of Sinatra, ordered a few weeks ago, arrived framed, beautiful and ready for hanging.  It’s now in the perfect place – my writing room where it daily delights me. Sharon is a talented artist – you should check out her work (here).

image

My Writing Room

My Writing Room

Under the heading of other news, last Monday was my one-year blogging anniversary. It’s hard to believe a year has passed since I first signed onto WordPress. What a ride it has been! During the past year, I’ve met so many terrific bloggers. I’ve come across blog posts that have made me laugh and cry. I’ve been inspired by the courage of some of you who keep persevering in spite of the obstacles life throws your way. I’ve also been challenged. There are so many wonderful writers in the blogosphere. Because you’re all so good, it makes me try harder, and I’ve learned a lot of tips along the way which have helped me in writing my own stories.

imageSince I enjoy talking about books, I thought I’d mention that I’ve started reading a novel penned by a fellow blogger, Adrienne Morris, who blogs at Nothing Gilded, Nothing Gained.  Her novel, The House on Tenafly Road, is a compelling read about a Civil War veteran who battles a morphine addiction as a result of war wounds.  At the conclusion of the war, he marries a girl of good family in Englewood, New Jersey, and the novel traces the obstacles and challenges they face.  If you’re a history geek (like me) or just love a good story, this is a fine one.  You can find the book, which is available on Amazon, here.

My Wednesday Whine for this week is just about at end,  but I would be remiss if I didn’t thank Heather B. Costa who filled in for me as a guest blogger while I was partying with Minnie and Goofy. Heather wrote an exceptionally funny piece about the differences in English as spoken by Brits and Americans. If you haven’t read it already, check it out.  The piece is titled ‘Lost in Translation‘ and it’s a hoot!  If you’re not regularly visiting Heather’s blog, Trials of a Wanna-Be-Published Writer, well, shame on you!  You should be!  Heather has a weekly feature titled ‘Friday Thoughts’ that is always interesting.  She also writes some terrific flash fiction.  And look – I just made it easy for you!  Simply click on this link!

Okay, friends, my wine glass is empty so that’s it for this week.  So, until next Wednesday, my wish for you is that you never meet a grape that you don’t like! I know I sure haven’t!

Cheers!

image

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Wednesday Whine

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and choosing to follow it. And thanks also for you kind comment about today’s post. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  2. I so enjoyed our wine whine together, although it’s 7:20 Monday morning here now, and a bit too early for me to join you with a Syrah. But your wrote a lovely chatty blog piece about cruising with Disney, cruising on home, and cruising with some terrific book reviews. I enjoyed every bit of the journey.

  3. stacilys says:

    Heyyyyyyy Kate, you’re back. I hope you’re rested up. Sounds like you had an ‘ahem’ interesting trip. 🙂 I’m sure those disney characters enjoyed their time with you just as much as you did with them.
    Anyhow, Wednesday wine/whine day. Hehehe. Great. I’m not much of a drinker, but I sure do appreciate a glass of red, and how about that… you’re a Shiraz girl. My step-dad got me into Shiraz. He makes his own. I can’t get a really good, affordable Shiraz where I live, so it’s either a Cabernet Sauvignon or Merlot.
    🙂
    p.s. bummer about the bingo thing. Man, if you won, you could have come down south for a visit. Both you and Heather together. Hmmmmmm…. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Now there’s a thought: Heather and I on our way to Brazil to see you! That would be a blast! Maybe I need to play BINGO a little more often in hopes of nailing the big jackpot.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Hope you manage to grab of glass of Cabernet Sauvignon or Merlot and pull your chair up this Wednesday. 🙂

      • stacilys says:

        Hahahaha. Yes, you go play that BINGO so you two can come for a visit. hehehe.

        Well, I don’t know if I’ll have the glass of red on the Wednesday (usually reserved for the weekend), but I will be following your Wednesday wine/whines, my friend.
        🙂

  4. I love your new feature, Kate! ❤

    Thank you so much for inviting me to guest-post on your blog in your absence, I was a good girl and didn't touch anything breakable…..ok, I might have, but I've hidden it well!

    I'm delighted that you enjoyed your vacation (despite the rough seas at times), you definitely deserved a break after all the hard work you've put into your blog this year.

    Congratulations on your blog turning the ripe old age of one recently! I have no doubt that you have many fine blogging years ahead of you too.

    Here's to your new blog feature, I'll drink to that! 🙂

  5. willow1945 says:

    A fun read about your trip and other reflections!

  6. Hardly a whine, Kate, just some insight into the lovely way you look at life. Happy to hear you had a good time on the cruise and I do hope you managed to get in a few pina coladas. Great pictures, too – you haven’t lost a beat. If I weren’t so over the top with books to read and some to review right now, I would tuck into The House on Tenafly Road in a cold minute. I’ll just have to put it on the top of the teetering pile of TBRs. Need more time in the day…

  7. I love a breezy post like this! And thanks so much for the mention!

    I wish I could look like the sexy lady in the last pic when drinking wine. lol.

  8. Frank looks fabulous in your space! And a Raven’s fan….I picked the right colors for him too! Thank you so much for collecting and sharing my work Kate. I really appreciate you!

  9. Welcome back! Wednesday is a great day to sample wine and read your post. 🙂

  10. markbialczak says:

    Welcome home to busy WordPressville, Kate, where Notifications build up faster than umbrella drinks on a Minnie Cruise. I like your Wednesday Wine Whine. Great new feature. 🙂 You are right. Heather B. filled in with a wonderful guest column in your stead. Lost in Translation was smart AND funny.

  11. mihrank says:

    “One should always be drunk. That’s all that matters…But with what? With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you chose. But get drunk.”

  12. What a blast. You’re all curvy, darn you, and I had no idea about Wednesdays and no wine in the house. Glad you enjoyed yours. So, the Disney boat rocks and the goofy characters do as well? Hmm. Who’d have thought they’d be party animals, especially as their gig has been kid-oriented–at least to my knowledge.

    Next week I shall be prepared. Since you’re throwing the party, I thought you’d bring out the wine cask, but I’m okay with bring-your-own. Lots of parties expect you to b.y.o.b.

    It’s been an eye-opener and I look forward to a better time next week. 😀 😀 😀

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Yeah, Tess, I look pretty damned good in that photo, don’t I? See how formally I dressed for company? 😀

      The Disney characters are about the kids, for sure. As for adult entertainment, there’s an area on the ship called ‘The Tube,’ and that’s where all the adults only nightclubs / entertainment is. Even so, there are plenty of bars throughout the ship. I made it my mission to try to visit each one. Unfortunately, even with my capacity for drinks with little umbrellas, I couldn’t quite achieve it.

      Maybe next year!

      I’ll make sure I have an extra glass on hand for you this Wednesday; I wouldn’t want you to get thirsty while reading. 😀

  13. Bruce Goodman says:

    Damn – it’s already Thursday over here in New Zealand (about the only thing we’re ahead of the world in!) But I won’t let that stop me. I shall join you for w(h)ine on Thursday, and Friday, and…

Leave a Reply

