The Wednesday Whine: Counting Our Blessings

When I’m worried and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep
And I fall asleep counting my blessings.
When my bankroll is getting small
I think of when I had none at all
And I fall asleep counting my blessings.
…If you’re worried and you can’t sleep
Just count your blessings instead of sheep
And you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings.
~ Irving Berlin

image Did you bring your wine glass? I hope so because I’m ready to pour.

In anticipation of tomorrow’s Thanksgiving turkey dinner, I’m sampling a glass of Rodney Strong Pinot Noir. If you like a dry red wine that has satisfying spice tones, this is pretty darned good. I’ll be taking a few bottles of this nice wine to the Thanksgiving dinner we’re attending.

At least that is the plan! It’s snowing right now in ‘my neck of the woods,’ and so we may be having our Thanksgiving feast at home – which would be fine, too. As insurance, we have a turkey ready to prepare as well as the fixings. Now we wait to see what the weather will decide to do.

I’ve always liked the night before Thanksgiving – perhaps because I am not usually required to prepare the feast! Not being an enthusiastic cook but quite an eager diner, one of the things I am thankful for is the kindness of friends. We have traditionally spent Thanksgiving with our best friends in Baltimore. They are, in fact, more like family than friends as our friendship has spanned decades.

norman-rockwell-thanksgivingThanksgiving is the time we remember to count our blessings. The Thanksgiving we share with friends is a celebration right out of a Norman Rockwell painting, full of good food and happy fellowship.

Our hostess prepares a huge turkey for the fifteen of us that gather. We enjoy all sorts of goodies along with the turkey. There are usually several different kinds of dessert – and, of course, the lovely pinot noir that we will bring to tomorrow’s feast will be featured.

Prior to the meal, the host always says the Thanksgiving prayer. He asks God to bless our men and women in the military and keep them safe from harm, and he states simply and sincerely what we are very grateful for – the opportunity to gather together once again and enjoy the feast before us.

MILLER_1941_cover_Saturday_Evening_Post_Nov22_process Corny? Yeah, maybe. But I love it – it reminds me of the Thanksgivings of my youth.

Corny isn’t so bad.

After the meal concludes, the men watch football while the kids play various board and video games. And we women make short work of the pots and pans used to prepare the feast. Holiday china and silver is carefully hand washed, and then dried and put away until used again at Christmas. Much merriment ensues during the cleanup, perhaps due to the wine we’ve imbibed.

It’s a happy time. We’re thankful for it.

Over the years, I’ve watched the attendees at this feast change.

Grandmothers, aunts and uncles have departed, leaving only memories. It’s bittersweet to put away the special china bowl given to my friend by her grandmother, remembering that lady’s gentle smile and how she always told every female in the house how pretty she was while giving her a warm hug.

That’s the thing about holidays. It’s not just the people who are sitting at the table whose presence you celebrate; it’s the people from your past who also come to mind. In some sense, they still sit at the table with you. You’re thankful for the memory.NormanRockwellThanksgivingPie

This Thanksgiving as our host offers up the Thanksgiving prayer, I’ll remember again all the many reasons I have to be thankful.

I’m thankful that God has graced me with a good marriage to a man who is both husband and friend.

I’m thankful for the gift of enduring friendship – those friends still with me and those who’ve moved on, like my friend’s grandmother.

I’m thankful that geography does not define friendship and that I’ve made a wonderful friend who is very special to me even though she lives a few thousand miles across the ocean.

I’m thankful for good health.

I’m thankful for family, and that I have a younger sister – a person who has shared my life’s journey since we were children.1957-girl-missing-tooth

I could go on about the job that takes care of my economic needs, the co-workers who make it fun and, in stressful times, bearable.

I could tell you how grateful I am for the gift of writing and the ability to share it on my blog – or how grateful I am for the internet which has made it possible to develop friendships with people I would have otherwise never gotten to know.

I’m thankful for the teachers who taught me how to read and who encouraged me to love books. Reading has been one of the chief joys of my life, and I’m very grateful for good books that entertain and enlighten me. God bless the story tellers!

I’m also thankful for my warm house that shelters and comforts me on cold, wintry nights. I’m grateful for the food on my table.

And that brings me back to the Thanksgiving feast…

20f1c40ab08536aef056e00bebdbecf0

In a world full of turmoil, fear and insecurity, it’s important to take a moment to be thankful. We are so much poorer when we fail to reflect on the people and the memories important to us, and so it’s good to lift a glass and remember to count our blessings. It’s so easy to take them for granted, the big ones and the small ones.A%20Christmas%20Prayer

So in the quiet of this night before Thanksgiving, I lift my glass to each of you and wish you a lovely holiday. Make some memories that you’ll giggle over in the future or recall with warmth. Remember those who are no longer with you, but who are still so much a part of your life because they still reside within your heart.

Take a few minutes to offer up a prayer of thanks – or to pause for a moment to reflect on the things near and dear to you. Remember, life is precious and so are the moments we share together.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

????????????????????

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Wednesday Whine: Counting Our Blessings

  1. Beth says:

    I always loved Saturday Evening Post when I was in school. We did not subscribe to it at home, but I could read it during study hall and dream of all the things I might do one day. It was a great inspirational book as well as a book of history too. Pictures, pictures and more pictures to make everything seem real.

  2. Heartwarming, my friend. This post overflows with all things good.

  3. What a wonderful post Kate and one that reminds us that we should be thankful for all of the things we do have, rather than grousing about the things we wished we could have.

    I’m still smiling from the look on your face the last time we Skyped and I tried explaining what I thought Thanksgiving was about. I guess it didn’t help that my knowledge was based purely on some animated movie I saw a few years back….

    I will forever be thankful and grateful for the gift of your friendship too, Kate and I hope there are many more Thanksgivings where we can gush about each other too! 🙂 ❤

  4. W. K. Tucker says:

    Hey, I thought you were going to whine. 😊

  5. amoafowaa says:

    I love the Berlin poem. Blessings.

  6. A lovely post of gratitude, Kate. Hugs!

  7. I’m a Brit living in the U.S. and although I don’t identify strongly with most American holidays, Thanksgiving is the exception. Your wonderful post contains all the good and wholesome reasons why I cherish this holiday above all others.

  8. willow1945 says:

    What a lovely reflection on Thanksgiving, and I loved reading about your tradition of Thanksgiving with friends; my favorite things was the grandmother who told hugged each woman and told her how pretty she was! What a sweetheart. I wish you the happiest of Thanksgivings!

  9. writertales says:

    Reading your beautiful post has given me one more thing to be thankful for today. Thanksgiving has always been one of my most cherished holidays. I enjoy celebrating with my small family, rising without the alarm clock, holding hands before breakfast as we share all we are thankful for, sneaking spoonfuls of cranberry sauce we cooked the night before, the smells of turkey roasting, giblets simmering for the gravy, pumpkin steaming for pie, and the festive music our daughter is filling our home with as she plays the piano and the dog accompanies her with his melodious yowls.

  10. stacilys says:

    Hey Kate. Happy Thanksgiving. What a lovely post about thankfulness. You really got me at the beginning with the poem. I thought, “Hey wow, is Kate writing a poem?” Then I saw the credit. I’ve never tried Pinot Noir. I’ll have to consider that in the future.
    As for me, I have much to be thankful for today. It’s my birthday. Yeah! Definitely going to enjoy a nice glass of red tonight. Even eat some cake. Yummmmmm.
    Have a beautiful evening and dinner Kate, whether your with your close group of friends, or snowed in all cozy just the you and the hubby. As for me, soooooo happy that the Spring sun is shining and it’s nice and warm with a slight breeze. I’m telling you, you’ve gotta win that lottery and get down here.
    🙂 ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I hope you had a fabulous birthday celebration, Staci! At least the weather smiles on you, right? It’s rather nice here today – sunny and in the 40s. I’ll take it! It makes me grin that you thought I’d written ‘a poem.’ Ever see the movie ‘White Christmas’ with Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney? They sing ‘Counting Your Blessings’ in it. It’s a sweet song. Actually, it’s a great lullaby if you think about it. 🙂

      • stacilys says:

        Yes, the weather does. Sometimes it heats up a bit too much though. Today’s a little overcast so more bearable.
        I don’t think I’ve seen ‘White Christmas’? I’ve seen ‘Miracle on 34th Street. But I guess that doesn’t count. 😉
        I had a great birthday. Now I think I need to do a serious detox with all the food, calories and cake. Eek.
        🙂

  11. Very nicely written post, Kate. HappyThanksgiving to you and yours (and to my family in FL and CO, and to friends in NJ and elsewhere)

  12. So sweet! Happy Thanksgiving! ❤

  13. markbialczak says:

    This is a marvelous Wednesday night pre-Thanksgiving post to remind us all that we’ve got plenty to savor and for which to be grateful not only tomorrow, but every day and night of our lives, Kate. You wrote it well, as always, my friend. Yes, the cast changes, but the heart and spirit stays strong. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. 🙂

  14. That was sweet! And the last picture is totally my family 😉 My grandparents just moved down to where we are, so I’m thankful to be able to spend this Thanksgiving ,and more to come, with them:)

  15. At this thankful time as you sit around a groaning dining-room table, exchange smiles, hold hands and are grateful, I wish you all good health and prosperity. ❤ ❤

    In Canada, we already celebrated Thanksgiving October 13th, but I shall celebrate again, in spirit.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you for celebrating with us again, my Canadian pal! It’s always so nice to read your comments, Tess. ❤

      • I wanted to make sure you didn’t fall into your plate after all that lovely turkey–okay, could happen to anyone, right? Depends on the flow of wine…maybe…or how tired you are from cooking, or contributing to cooking with Aunt somebody passing the darn bottle… 💡

  16. Happy Thanksgiving, Kate. If ever there was a post to get us into the spirit of thanksgivings it is yours, my friend. Enjoy your day and home full of love. I’ve already began the long process of baking and preparing. It’s fun and feels nice to have the time off the relax and enjoy the holiday. Much love and blessings!! ♡ BEST THANKSGIVING POST♡

  17. noelleg44 says:

    And to you, Kate. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

