Wednesday Whine: It Was a Very Good Year

Happy Wednesday, everyone – and while we’re at it, let’s wish each other a eliapan.tumblr (2)Happy New Year. Tonight’s beverage for the Wednesday Whine? Champagne, of course… and since this is a virtual celebration, let’s crack open a bottle of Dom Perignon. Nothing but the best for my friends! Oh my… that is GOOD, isn’t it?

There’s something about the closing out of one year and the beginning of a new one that causes most of us to reflect on where we started, where we ended up, and where we hope to be in 2015.

There are significant milestone years in all our lives: the year we were born; the year we married; the years we lost people close to us; and the years in which our children were born. Some of those years are bright memories, and we treasure them. But there are also the years that break our hearts, that make us wonder how we’ll find the courage to go on. These are the years we wish to hurry through, and put aside as quickly as our hearts and memories will allow.

My wish for each of you is that your cup be overflowing with bright memories, and that the sad ones be few and weigh gently on you.

Those of you who regularly follow my blog indulge my obsession for all things images (5)Sinatra – I appreciate that. So indulge me once again. One of my favorite Sinatra songs is the haunting and lovely ‘It Was a Very Good Year.’ It seems a fitting song to listen to at the end of one year, and the beginning of the next.

The song recounts one man’s memories as he looks back at milestones in his life. In his case, it is his amorous adventures that come to mind. Still, I think the song has something to say about life itself. It begins with the fresh, enthusiastic memories of a teenager and then those of a very young man; as the song continues, the gentleman remembers the middle years, filled with sophistication and – one senses – a fullness of life. But it is the lyrics at the conclusion of the song that makes it a special one for me:

But now the days grow short
I’m in the autumn of the year
And now I think of my life
As vintage wine from fine old kegs
From the brim to the dregs
And it poured sweet and clear.
It was a very good year.

I hope all of you, no matter where you are at this stage in your life, will be able to look at the years of your life as vintage wine, pouring sweet and clear. I hope you will be able to look down through the corridor of time and conclude, with Mr. Sinatra, it was a very good year.

*********

Some folks say you should never make New Year’s resolutions. There’s an old Yiddish proverb that says ‘Man plans; God laughs.’

I’m of an optimistic disposition. I don’t know what 2015 holds for me – or for you. But I embrace it. I look to the future with hope and with plans. God willing, perhaps he’ll smile on my plans and not laugh. So, offering up a prayer and declaring that God honors those who honor him, here are my hopes for 2015 – for myself and for you.

Health, the love of family and friends, enthusiasm, optimism, creativity
and industry.

I’m hoping 2015 will be the year I write that short story that sees publication. I’m also hoping for a novel. Might as well aim high, right? I am making it a point to see good things come to fruition this year.

I’m trying to clear the decks of the distractions that have prevented me from moving forward. It’s too easy to stay safely in my little corner of the universe, unwilling to make a grab for the brass ring. I think it’s time to stop riding past it; it’s time to reach out.

Like the man in the song, when I’m in the deep autumn of my years, I want to look at 2015 and be able to say it was a very good year.

I want that for you, as well.

There is another thought I’d like to leave you with. It’s another saying, this one from another Sinatra song. Sinatra, even into his old age, took the saying to heart. In fact, he had it engraved on his tombstone. I guess Frank was of an optimistic disposition, too.

imagesQRAKWB0W

Happy New Year! Now, enjoy that Dom Perignon to the last drop. It’s a good vintage – just like you.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Popular Culture, Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Wednesday Whine: It Was a Very Good Year

  1. reocochran says:

    I absolutely loved Frank Sinatra’s “It was a very good year” song, this was the highlight of my readings today!

  2. It’s such a beautiful, yet melancholy song. Yes, no matter what ‘vintage’ we are, every day should be enjoyed and cherished like the finest vintage wine. Happy New Year!

  3. orthodoxmom3 says:

    I’ve just started listening to Frank while writing. I’ve always liked him but have realized over the years I’ve gotten away from listening to good music- always opting for quiet I guess to get me away from listening to everyone else’s music around here…. ugh. They DON’T listen to Frank… but it’s a NEW YEAR and I’ve decided I’m letting myself listen to what I want to listen to and Bah Humbug on the rest of them! 🙂

  4. May 2015 be a very good year for you! Shoot for the stars and write the short story And the novel. To your health, happiness, and success this year.

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Blue Eyes are smiling on you from above! What a lovely post~

  6. Hi Kate and Happy New Year! I think you’ve got some great goals d and I wish you the best in achieving them.

    This part of the year is always so exciting and I always feel so invigorated. One of my goals is to maintain that same enthusiasm throughout the year. We’ll see 🙂

  7. Mr.George says:

    Reblogged this on Hats at theShop and commented:
    Happy 2015 Everyone.

  8. 1WriteWay says:

    Happy New Year, Kate. Here’s hoping for that publication in 2015 🙂

  9. Tidalwavelet says:

    Happy New Year. I’ve enjoyed your posts over 2014 and I look forward to your future work.

    Here is an old New Year’s post I left for my FB friends and family 4 or 5 years ago. It’s been appropriate every year since.

    “So we’re on the start of a new year. I read an old puritan prayer last year that likens starting out a new year to setting out to sea. I sort of like that analogy.

    Some of us are starting out on fair seas with favorable winds, some at the horse latitudes: no wind and no current; and some are starting right out on storm tossed seas with no end of the storm in sight.

    My prayers are with all of you, that you understand that God is guiding your craft, that you see that upcoming blessings are just that: blessings, and not idols to be worshiped; that the horrible storm that drives you up onto the rock that is Jesus is as important and necessary in the scheme of things as any act of God from the dawn of time.”

  10. A bit late, but Happy New Year anyway, Kate. I feel some platitudes coming on.
    Make your ultimate aim as high as you can dream, but let it be the culmination of a series of attainable goals. Each single step up the ladder is a step closer to the top.
    When setting your goals, let your fallback position be that in the song recorded by Sinatra in 1962:
    Don’t lose your confidence if you slip
    Be grateful for a pleasant trip
    And pick yourself up, dust yourself off
    And start all over again

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Keith, you devil! Quoting a Frank Sinatra song right back at me. 😀 Loved it!

      I hope you have an amazing year. I look forward to reading your stories and viewing your photography. I always enjoy seeing what you’ve come up with.

      • I’ve been a Sinatra fan since my mid-teens – and that was half a century ago. In fact, in Tanzania in the early 80s I was often to be heard singing “Let’s take it nice banana”. Why banana? Simple. Banana in Kiswahili is ndizi!
        2015 is going to be a good year. Those things I can control I shall. Those I can’t, I’ll do the best I can. This week, I’m looking at finances to see if we can make it to the US in 2015. I’d like to see family in Florida, and maybe another part of the country.
        As for you, Kate, keep doing what you do. Your inspirational Sinatra song title for 2015 is, from 1952, “I Could Write a Book”.

        • Kate Loveton says:

          I like your mindset about 2015 – and share it.

          I hope you make it to the US in 2015. You’ll have to tell me where you end up visiting when you finalize your plans.

          “I Could Write a Book” – yeah, I like that! Thank you for the inspiration! Now I’m going to dig that song out of my CDs and play it.

  11. Happy new year to your Kate, and I hope 2015 brings you many good things. I already know this is to be a big year for me, and it comes on top of a great 2014.

  12. Glynis Jolly says:

    Happy New Year to you too! ❤

    Although I really don't like Frankie, I do like that song. The lyrics are great.

  13. Happy New Year to you Kate, here’s hoping that 2015 will be a very good year for all of us… ❤

  14. Some beautiful goals and a lovely wish for your fellow writers! May 2015 truly be a blessed year for you!

  15. Wow, what a beautiful year end post. I too love all things Sinatra and am so happy you visited my blog. Thank you. Happy New Year.

  16. jakesprinter says:

    More power to your blog Kate, Happy New Year.

  17. Cassandra says:

    What a lovely post. Such a tender time of the year, every year. We’re just starting our evening festivities here on the far western end of the U.S., but know tonight that here in Alaska, there’s a fellow writer who raises her glass of wine in toast to you for a Happy New Year! ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Cassandra, thank you for stopping by. I hope all is going well with your book.

      You have a wonderful blog. The way you express things is both heart-warming and wise.

      People, if you see this comment, I encourage you to visit Cassandra’s blog, This Crazy Little Farm (http://thiscrazylittlefarm.com/2014/12/23/hands/). She is one of my favorite bloggers for the gentle, humorous, warm way she writes about her family life.

      She also has a book that’s out. I believe she has a chapter from it posted on her blog. The book is titled ‘Annie Spruce, The Dog That Didn’t Die,’ by Cassandra Rankin.

      Cassandra, I hope your book will be available on Amazon at some point. Please let me know when that is so. I’m anxious to read it on my Kindle. 🙂 Happy New Year – and much success to you.

      • Cassandra says:

        Oh Kate…

        {{pretty much blushing over here…}}

        I'm not sure if you saw my comment…somewhere between here and there, but I'd love to send you an e-copy of Annie Spruce. I have it for pre-order on Amazon, but in the meantime, I'm in possession of the file and as one of my biggest blog encouragers, I'd love to gift it to you. ❤

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Cassadra, I would love that! Thank you! Do you need my email address?

        • Cassandra says:

          I can check on your blog and see if I can grab it so you don’t have to put it here. I think our blogs are all linked to our email or our avatar thing if I remember right ? I’ll let you know if I can’t find it, and I’ll get this out to you in the next day or two 🙂

  18. W. K. Tucker says:

    Two very moving songs. Sinatra was a little before my time, but I remember his songs being played on my older sisters’ record player. Like Elvis–who my older sisters adored–I discovered the wondrous talent of Old Blue Eyes long after he was popular.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi buddy! I was raised on Sinatra. My dad was a huge Sinatra fan. He used to play Sinatra music around the house a lot.

      Funny story (or maybe not, if you think too much about it). My mother is a very tidy, organized person. She was always lamenting there wasn’t room for everything in our very small house. One day she gathered up all my dad’s Sinatra recordings from when he was a kid – and threw them out! She figured no one could play those old recordings on the new stereos – and not thinking about any possible value to collectors, she just dumped ’em into the garbage!

      You can imagine the ruckus when my father learned what she had done. I’m not sure he ever quite forgave her! 😀 I guess you might say my mother had had enough of Old Blue Eyes!

      I have an idea for a future short story about my dad and Frank Sinatra. Sometime this year I’ll get around to writing it.

      Happy New Year – and much success with your writing endeavors. I think this is going to be a great year for you!

  19. sknicholls says:

    I’ve loved your short stories so much this year, I had to mention you on a post. Happy New Year Kate, and thanks so much for your help with NA.

  20. Happy New Year Kate, and definitely aim high!

Leave a Reply

