Wednesday Whine – Of Weather, Books & Crops

It’s Wednesday again! No wine tonight. I’m ready to settle down with something warm… hmm, perhaps a mug of cocoa with a shot of something nice in it?

Am I the only one sick of winter? Gosh, how can there still be two months left of this cold, dreary stuff?

I am so tired of grinning weathermen with faulty predictions of snow and ice. Why do they look so darned happy while prophesizing doom and gloom? I think they’re evil! How come it’s always psycho clowns you see depicted in horror movies? Why not a psycho weatherman?100209_crazy_weatherman

Sunday we visited my mother. She lives about 50 minutes from us, heading south, and generally weather conditions are always better where she lives. We woke up to a cloudy, dry morning in Southern Pennsylvania – and the temperatures were above freezing. Imagine our surprise twenty-five minutes into our ride to discover it was raining; worse, the cold rain was icing the roadways and bridges. We saw cars stuck on ramps and accidents that temporarily shut down the interstate.  Roads with only slight inclines became daredevil obstacle courses that would have challenged Evel Knievel. Finally, we pulled over and had breakfast at a restaurant, waiting for the road temperatures to rise. I think I have some new gray hairs after that little adventure, one that hadn’t been predicted by our weatherman.

garfield

A snow event was predicted for today – and it did snow heavily for a few hours, but it all came to naught… it basically coated the grass and driveways, leaving the roads clear once the yucky white stuff stopped. Listening to the weatherman last night, I wasn’t sure what to think; was it going to be a big nothing or the storm of the century?

But it’s not weather conditions I want to talk about while sipping cocoa. Let’s talk about books!

One of my favorite things to do in the winter is to settle in with a snuggly blanket, a mug of something hot, and my Kindle. My Kindle has been getting a lot of use lately. Here’s a brief update on what I’ve been reading.reading woman

Gillian Flynn’s novel, Sharp Objects. Recommended to me by ThainInVain, I decided to give the novel a try. It’s a bleak one, but it drew me in with the first chapter. Ms. Flynn, author of Gone Girl and Dark Places, writes tales about the darker aspects of humanity. Sharp Objects is the story of a young woman who returns to her hometown to investigate a possible serial killer. In the process, she confronts demons from her past – as well as her present. It’s not a pretty tale, but it is a compelling one.

My friend at ThainInVain recommended the book to me because of a series of flash fiction tales I wrote about a small community and several of its inhabitants. One of the town’s inhabitants is a woman heralded by friends and neighbors as the ‘perfect mother,’ but who is, in fact, a monster. For those who may be interested in reading those stories, I’ve listed them (in order) below.

The Good Mother
Monsters Under the Bed
Signs
Mysterious Ways

After finishing Flynn’s novel, I was ready for something considerably more uplifting and so I settled on two books from my Kindle library that have been on my to-read list: Annie Spruce, The Dog That Didn’t Die by Cassandra Rankin and The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society by Darien Gee.

23609708Cassandra Rankin’s novel about the beloved Annie Spruce is a heartwarming tale of faith and family with a large dose of dog love thrown in! I am more than halfway through this wonderful tale of a dog whose courage and sweetness encouraged a family to look deeper into the mysteries of faith and God’s place in their lives. Cassandra, who blogs at This Crazy Little Farm, expresses simple truths and enduring values with a light, endearing touch. This is a book for the whole family to enjoy. I hope you’ll look for my review in the next week or two. The book is available for sale on Amazon (here).

Now we come to my dirty secret: I’m one of those. Those crazy women who get together periodically to attend a weekend event known as a ‘crop.’ Those of you who enjoy scrapbooking know exactly what I’m talking about. My scrapbooking obsession began about ten years ago. It started with a small roller cart of paper, tape, pens and other necessary items; since then it has morphed into a collection that has slowly taken over the dining room. Who needs a dining room when you have an eat-in kitchen, right? So, the top half of my china closet stores my china; the bottom stores all sorts of scrapbook paraphernalia. It’s a hobby that is slowly taking over my entire house.

ist1_9300006-scrapbooker-retro-cartoon-smiling-woman-with-scissors-making-a-scrapbook_400x400

Knowing this, you’ll understand why I am so charmed by Darien Gee’s novel, The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society. Ms. Gee has managed to capture the camaraderie of ladies who gather together to work on their scrapbooking projects. They also share their lives with one another. Having been to a lot of crops, I can tell you that you hear a lot of stories during these sessions – some joyful and some sad. There’s always a lot of laughter. There’s also a great deal of support for friends who need a hug during difficult times.

All of this is lightly captured in Ms. Gee’s novel about the women of Avalon and the boisterous Bettie Shelton who cajoles and bullies her friends and neighbors into attending her crops. We get to know Bettie and the challenges she faces, as well as Madeleine and Connie (the owners of a tea salon), Yvonne (the town’s female plumber with a family secret), Frances (a mother with three boys who has her heart set on adopting a little girl) and Ava and Isabel (two women who find their lives connected by the love of one man). This is not heavy reading, but it is engaging and totally pleasing. I’m giving it a thumbs up.  The book is available on Amazon (here).

Do any of you scrapbook? Have you been to any weekend crops? Have your supplies taken over your house?

I’m a diverse reader, dipping in and out of various genres. After finishing the books mentioned above, I’ll be ready for something a little different. That’s why I have Cynthia Bruchman’s novel, The Knife with the Ivory Handle, next in my reading queue. Cynthia has written a novel set in 1900 that details the adventures of a pair of orphans, a black southern man, and a young priest. The synopsis on Amazon (here) describes the book as a fusion of psychological tension and plot action. I can hardly wait to begin! I’m expecting good things from Cynthia’s book. She’s an interesting writer. If you don’t believe me, visit her blog. I wouldn’t steer you wrong.

Thomas Jefferson spoke for me when he said, “I cannot live without books.”

What about you? What are you reading? What’s the best book you’ve read in the last twelve months? Is there a favorite book that you return to again and again?

tumblr_m4prqwThLt1qizpqvo1_1280Until next Wednesday, be safe, be warm – and read a good book!  And, by the way, a small bit of brandy in your cocoa is pretty darned nice.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Wednesday Whine – Of Weather, Books & Crops

  1. orthodoxmom3 says:

    Southern Pennsylvania? How did I miss that? I’m up north (Williamsport) but used to live down south (York) and over west (Derry)…..

    The snow is flying again here…. I really don’t like the cold- the snow is pretty but….. hmmm- maybe some chai for me on this cold evening- after things wind down. But for now it’s time to set the table for some good hot soup!!

  2. roweeee says:

    Hi Kate,
    My husband flung the newspaper at me tonight and see your snow storm is the equivalent of a Victorian bushfire in Australia so I wanted to send you my thoughts and prayers and I hope you and your loved ones stay safe. xx Rowena

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Rowena! We got lucky where I live. It snowed all day, but never came to much. In New England, they were hit much harder. I think it’s time for me to move to Australia! 😀

  3. Brandy in my cup of cocoa, who knew that I’d been doing it wrong all these years? 🙂

    I totally agree that the cold winter weather just blows, but I am thankful that we don’t get anywhere near the conditions you suffer. It’s been pretty cold this last week in the UK and I have grumbled each day at having to scrape ice off of my car, but at least the snow hasn’t made an appearance… Yet.

    On cold winter days there is nothing better than curling up with a good book and ignoring the beastly weather outside. I have a number of books that I’d like to read this year and I am hoping that I can also re-read some of my favourite Shakespeare titles as well.

    Here’s to great books, hot cocoa and a nip of warming brandy… 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      This is what I like about the British: you’re so much classier than I am. You catch up reading Shakespeare; I catch up on… well, not Shakespeare! You are my hero! Perhaps you and I could read one together… I prefer the histories. Are you up for one of those? We’ll save it for August! 😀

      I bet brandy will start appearing in you cocoa – now just a nip, mind you! ❤

  4. I love visiting you on your Wednesday blog, even if it’s Sunday! You have so much to say, and it’s all interesting. You are a very varied reader. I had nightmares while reading Flynn’s Gone Girl, so will pass on her other edgy books (but glad you enjoyed). I’m probably more in the market for The Dog That Didn’t Die (re my dream that you commented on in my last post!) 🙂 I just finished reading Still Alice, which was excellent, though sad. And finished the latest Daniel Silva book, The Heist. About to start Unbroken. Like you, I try to read different genres. Okay, I have to go to the grocery store because the freaky weatherpeople are promising (with silly grins on their faces) another huge snow storm starting Monday night. Acckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Stay warm – I think the storm is still in your forecast. It sort of fizzled out where I am. Not that I’m complaining!

      “Unbroken” is a fabulous book, very inspirational. I also like “Seabiscuit” – if you haven’t read it, I recommend it.

      Thanks for your kind words about the Wednesday Whine – I appreciate them! 🙂

  5. roweeee says:

    Hi Kate,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m pleased you found my comments about learning an instrument helpful. I don’t think people always realise what it takes to learn an instrument or to write for that matter.
    I have been having a lot of fun corresponding with bloggers in the Northern Hemisphere. While you guys are talking about gloomy January and lamenting the cold, I’m here in Sydney, Australia lamenting the hours at the peak of the day when it’s like being under a hot griller outside. The sun is intense. My parents pool here also has solar heating and the water was hot when we got in there tonight. It felt amazing but I suspect the bugs will also love it.
    I have just started reading: “The War of Art” by Stephen Pressfield which looks at some of the roadblocks to achieving our creative goals. I’m about a 1/4 of th way through but highly recommend it.
    I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Rowena. 🙂

      I greatly enjoyed your comments about learning a musical instrument; you might say they struck a chord with me. (Okay, I’m sorry – I just couldn’t resist.)

      I’ve started reading Nevil Shute’s novel, “On The Beach.” I started it last night and am already 55% of the way through it. It is bleakly compelling. If you’re familiar with it, you will know it takes place in Australia. I find it hard to wrap my head around the fact that your winters are opposite ours.

      I will take your book recommendation to heart and check it out. The biggest obstacle to my achieving my creative goals is my inability to curtail the amount of time I spend reading. I tend to read others’ novels or stories rather than spend time working on my own. I need to learn a little discipline, I think.

      Thanks for following my blog. It’s great to make a new friend! 🙂

      • roweeee says:

        Hi Kate,
        It’s great to meet you too and I’m pleased I was able to be some encouragement. I am working on writing a book about my journey and writing the blog has been a part of getting it down while it happens…which is always a challenge. Have you heard of a book called: “The Artist’s Way”? It’s a 3 month program to shake out the knots and get writing. I think it could really suit you. I am starting it up again. I am not good with consistency. I recently found a workbook that goes with it and I bought that hoping it would keep me on track and it would also be a way of keeping the exercises etc in one place.
        I also find the weather thing quite weird and intriguing, especially as I’ve never experienced true snowfall and know what it’s life to have 20 cm of snow fall at once. For us, any kind of snow is such a novelty and there are places in the Blue Mountains near Sydney where they get a light dusting every couple of years and that makes it on the news and people flock there in droves.
        Understanding these opposites, reminds me of trying to understand someone who is quite different to yourself. I have always loved this quote:
        “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
        ― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird
        Hope you are having a great day although I think you are possibly asleep xx Rowena

        • Kate Loveton says:

          I’ve purchased The Artist’s Way on your recommendation. I’m very much looking forward to reading it – as soon as I get through the next five or six books in my queue.

          Anytime you’d like to experience snow, you come visit, okay? We’ll teach you how to lay in the snow and make snow angels. *grin*

          Hope you’re having a lovely week!

        • roweeee says:

          My daughter taught me how to do that. It’s so cool. The idea of The Artist’s Way is to write for 30 mins everyday so this is something to start now. It’s a writing project, not a reading project.
          Would love to come and visit sometime. I ne4ed to get hold of something like Dorothy’s slippers except instead of taking me home, they could take me all around the world for free. Wouldn’t that be awesome!!
          My week is going pretty well. WE are easing back into school and I’m writing while they’re there so that’s good. How about you? How did the snow storm turn out? xx Ro

  6. Margaret says:

    Reading this made me smile. It started as a whine about the weather, we all do that from tine to time – especially at this time of year, but then you turned it around beautifully by leading us into positive things by taking us into the world of scrapbooking and on to more books that we might like to read.
    I liked the change of topics it made it more interesting to read than sticking to a single topic. Single topics are fine with shorter posts though. However, I really enjoyed this post because of the changes and of course your excellent writing ability.

  7. Cassandra says:

    We are right now…yes right NOW…j-u-s-t getting our first REAL winter weather. Finally snowing -in ALASKA- on January 23rd. You’ve had a chilly time out your way! Over here, I’ve secretly enjoyed our balmy winter, a welcome reprieve from the harshness this place is accustomed to doling out.

    Books. Ahhh books. I ended the day early yesterday and finished up Flowers for Algernon. I’m reading it with my online book club…read it many, many years ago but had forgotten the raw emotion… I needed something lighter after finishing it, so I picked up my husband’s copy of Annie Spruce on the nightstand and poured through it late into the night. Was the first time with no editing/proofreading/scanning for errors…just as reader. Kind of a fun perspective. 🙂

    Our book club at our local library just finished The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. Not sure if you’ve read that one already…FANTASTIC.

    Glad you’re safe and warm…
    Thanks always for the kind words ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Flowers for Algernon was a favorite book of mine when I was a teenager. I’d seen the movie on television one afternoon and then had to read the book. It continues to be a favorite. Did you know a musical had been made of the movie?! I kid you not! I saw it at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC several decades ago. Charley and the mouse actually did a dance step together – don’t ask! 😀 😀 Very odd.

      When it was first released, I attempted to read Sue Monk’s ‘The Secret Lives of Bees.’ For whatever reason, it didn’t click with me at the time. I’ve been thinking it is time for a re-visit. Sometimes certain books need to be read at different times in your life. Perhaps I’ll try ‘The Invention of Wings’ as well. I put a lot of stock in your recommendations.

      Enjoy your first snow!

  8. Naomi Harvey says:

    I am currently reading Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. Its a tongue in cheek look into Good vs Evil and how humanity is the best and worst of both.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      ‘Good Omens’ sounds interesting – I might have to check that one out. You should do a review on your blog! 🙂

      • Naomi Harvey says:

        Good idea! I’m reading it for a book club so I’ll have the benefit of the book club meeting to draw on for my review too!

      • W. K. Tucker says:

        I read Sharp Objects quite a few years ago. For space reasons, I keep very few books I read, but this one I did. Kate, have you ever read The Lovely Bones? If not, I recommend you check it out…another of my keepers. Author Neil Gaiman mentioned in an above comment is a middle to young adult writer, but I have loved everything of his I’ve read. One of his middle grade books, Coraline, was made into a movie. Though the book was short, I found it very entertaining. The Graveyard Book is another of his I would recommend. As for what I’ve read lately, I just finished Stephen King’s Revival. Though not my favorite of his, it was a good book.
        I’m glad your trip to see your mother turned out well. Those weathermen…they can’t be trusted. 😊

  9. Well, don’t you surprise all! Thanks very much for obtaining a copy of my book. I hope you like it! I’m curious to know what you think! You’re a peach, Kate 🙂

  10. Tidalwavelet says:

    The last hard copy fiction I read was many many years ago. My brother was in a reading club and would pass the books on to me when he was done. I remember a strange, darkish one called “The Many Aspects of Mobile Home Living” – whew, that one was something!

    This last year, I’ve been revisiting American short stories that I read 30 plus years ago from an anthology my father-in-law lent me. (He passed away 4 years ago so I guess it’s mine now) Three that stick out: “Parker’s Back” (although written by Flannery O’Connor – there is a strong Calvinist vibe to it that I hadn’t noticed in the first reading) ; “The King of the Bingo Game” (I’m trying to find a way to write about this one – we’ve all been like the protagonist, I think : As long as things are up in the air we don’t have to deal with the consequences………. something like that – I haven’t figured out how to approach it yet); “Neighbor Rosicky” ( a story that treads on the edges of schmaltz but never really goes there, indeed, when I was little I actually knew men like this – this story isn’t some sort of American fairy tale)

    I guess the favorite book I return to (in my mind) is “Love in the Ruins” by Walker Percy that I first read in 1989. The guy so perfectly nailed a country cleanly split left to right in a satirical way.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hello! I was so taken with the short stories that you mentioned that I was compelled to check out the novels also mentioned (‘Love in the Ruins’ and ‘Aspects of Mobile Home Living.’ Both struck a chord with me and are now downloaded to my Kindle. I’d never heard of either book before. Thank you! I love hearing what others are reading as well as the books read in the past that are memorable to them. I check out all book suggestions!

      • Tidalwavelet says:

        To give credit where it’s due, even if belatedly: The collection of short stories is called, “The Treasury of American Short Stories”. They were selected by Nancy Sullivan. She covers everything from Washington Irving up to the late 70’s. Some of her selections I disagree with. “The Kugelmass Episode” – really? This is a national treasure? others are spot on.
        I’m planning on rewriting an old fb note about a Conrad Aiken piece called : “Life Isn’t a Short Story”. It’s a story within a story within a story – I just love it.

  11. Glynis Jolly says:

    Where you write about the winter weather where you live, you mentioned the close of the interstate. I grew up in land like that, the prairie of Colorado. Interstate 70 was usually closed sometime during the winter.

    No, I don’t scrapbook but I’ve always wondered about it and what the attraction is that get people obsessed with it. I have photo albums but that’s at far as I’ve gotten.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Your remark about scrapbooking made me laugh. Glynis, my friends were involved with scrapbooking several years before I ventured into it – and I couldn’t quite figure out what the big deal was. They finally roped me into going to an afternoon crop. I had a small ‘starter’ kit and decided to work on putting an album together of photos from a vacation I’d just returned from. I didn’t expect to enjoy scrapbooking – but I did! I think I am basically seven years old and like playing with paper, glue, scissors and fancy pens. Some girls never grow up! 😀

      My husband loves the finished albums I’ve put together. I put one together that is a family heritage album – his family. It documents his great grandparents’ arrival in the US from Eastern Europe, his dad’s service during WWII, the cablegram announcing my husband’s birth while his father was overseas, a sketch that is over sixty years old that a fellow soldier made of my father-in-law while they were stationed in the South Pacific. There are a lot of cool things in there. I even put one of the love letters his dad sent to his mom while he was away serving his country. It is a very meaningful album to my husband. I smile when I think how much his parents would enjoy looking at it if they were still alive. And I guess that’s why I like scrapbooking – more than a photo album, it uniquely tells a story.

      And you get to play with paper, glue, pens and scissors! *grin*

  12. My favorite book of last year’s reading was Railroaded by Richard Wright. It’s non-fiction but reads like a novel about railroad corruption in the late 19th century. The characters are not so much evil but foolish, vain and funny at times.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      That sounds interesting. Adrienne, have you ever read ‘And Ladies of the Club’ by Helen Hooven Santmyer. It sounds like the sort of book you might enjoy. In fact, aspects of it reminded me of your wonderful novel.

  13. Sorry you hit bad weather, Kate. You just need to move further south. We’ve had one flurry and a little ice one morning. Oops, does that mean I’ve damned us to bad weather in February?
    I have read so many books in the last several months – my pool is closed – that my head is spinning. The ones that stuck with me are Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and A Scandalous Life (the biography of Jane Digby, an amazing woman for her time) by Mary S. Lovell.
    Right now I am starting All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr and Two Rivers by Zoe Saadia. And the follow up book to Maze Runner, just for fun.
    Thanks for the recommendations. Now if I just had the time…

  14. Mark Gardner says:

    I believe this is the final year that my years living in Pennsylvania will outnumber the years living in Arizona.
    As for books, let me know if you have any suggestions for books with red covers and a chinese warrior on the front – preferably one published this month… 🙂

  15. I’m happy you made it home safe, Kate. I heard how terrible the roads were last Sunday. Ice is terrifying when driving. I’m reading a few books on writing and also, To Kill A Mockingbird…again.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I just read ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ a month or so ago. Would you believe I had never read it? I enjoyed it thoroughly.

      And yes, icy roads are particularly frightening, even worse than snow. Thanks for the good wishes! 🙂

  16. I do hate this side of winter, I don’t mind when it’s coming up to Christmas, but January and February can be a real slog!

    But, the cold does make for good reading weather as you say 😀

  17. Hah! I just finished reading Gone Girl. It took me a little to settle into the alternating points of view approach – which I can find annoying – but then the plot dragged me in. My version (paperback) has the first chapter of Sharp Objects at the back. I can’t say it grabbed me, but I imagine it would appeal to those who are familiar with the setting. Before that, I read the Booker Prize Winner, Richard Flanagan’s ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North.’ Again, I found I needed to give it a bit of time, and much of the writing is like a stream of consciousness which you either like or not, but certainly the section in the POW Thai-Burma railway is compelling. It’s a book where you have to take notice of even simple early scenes, as the meaning is revealed at the end. By the way, hot and humid over here, with occasional heavy warm rain . . .

    • Kate Loveton says:

      ‘Sharp Objects’ is more of a straight read in that you don’t have those alternating points of view.

      Are you trying to make me jealous with hot, warm weather? It’s working – even if it is humid. 😀

      I just read the Washington Post review of Flanagan’s book. I must say, it does spark my interest. I was surprised to see it compared to Cormick McCarthy’s book, ‘The Road,’ a dark, apocalyptic story. I suspect the reviewer was referring to the utter bleakness experienced by the POWs. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention; I’ve made a note of it.

      • Flanagan’s bookm has a distinctly Australian

      • Flanagan’s bookmhas a distinctly Australian flavour. I do hope you like it. I have just read the most curious little thing – which is possibly very famous in your parts, 84 Charing Cross Road. Do you know it? It is a collection of letters from New York based playwright Helene Hanff to an antiquarian book seller for twenty years after WWII. In it she refers to writing the TV scripts for the adventures of Ellery Queen. Does that cross into your area of interest? Now, on another note, not that I am crowing or anything BUT we did have the grandkids all day today at a water activity theme park and we have all come home hot, tired and just a teensy bit sunbrowned/burnt.

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Snow here – and more predicted Monday. Noooo!

          I read 84 Charing Cross last year. I liked it very much – so much so that I reviewed it (review under my book reviews tab).

          When I was about 14 or so, I spent a summer reading Ellery Queen mysteries. One particularly stands out in my memory. I think the title was ‘Ten Days Wonder.’

  18. markbialczak says:

    Good idea to pull over and eat breakfast and not slide into the road ice carnival, Kate.

    Book-wise, I have the latest by Nelson DeMille and Randy Wayne White, yeah, two of my favorites, waiting for me to whoa-down on the WordPress and ramp on on some fiction. “The Quest” and “Haunted.” Maybe tomorrow.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Oh yeah, DeMille. I liked ‘The General’s Daughter.’ I haven’t heard of Randy Wayne White. I’ll have to check him out.

      I liked your phrase ‘road ice carnival’ – I’m going to steal it! 😀

      • markbialczak says:

        I’ve read every DeMille up to this one. He shares a Long Island background with me, and sets many of his novels there. “The Gold Coast” is a great one, Kate.

        White writes detective mysteries with a twist, with a marine biologist who cloaks a clandestine CIA past as the protaganist from his stilt house in a marina on Sanibel Island.

  19. Lovely offering, Kate, a worthwhile and entertaining read.

    Best wishes

    john

Leave a Reply

