A Place for Everything

The suitcase lay open on the bed. Studying its dimensions, Malcolm frowned.

He’d never been good at packing. That had been Monica’s specialty. A place for everything, everything in its place, she would say, diamond ring flashing as she’d strategically arrange each item.

Just like their lives – an orchestration of planned days, accounted hours, predictable conversation. A still life in boredom.

He began to carefully fit each of the pieces inside the case. A place for everything, everything in its place.

He paused, momentarily diverted by the twinkling of a diamond.

Then he shut the suitcase.

image

__________________
Word Count: 97
Author’s Note: Written in response to the weekly 100 Word Challenge for Grown-ups at Julia’s Place. This week’s prompt – “the suitcase lay open…”

image

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to A Place for Everything

  1. Margaret says:

    Such a clever piece of writing. So few words telling what is really a chilling story. Fantastic.

  2. You know I like the understatements. And then SLAM. =) Nice, Kate.

    Xxx
    D.

  3. Dalo 2013 says:

    Wow, that was good ~ such an edge to your writing…I initially thought how loving until it hit me πŸ™‚ Well done…

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Glad the ending surprised you. I blame my mother for my love of these sorts of things. She used to wake me up late at night to watch Twilight Zone and similar shows with her. Like mother, like daughter!

  4. I love the way you crafted this. There is much to like about this piece. Well done!

  5. Judee says:

    What a perfectly twisted ending! So subtle, and yet so clear! Loved it!

  6. Oh lovely! You know how to spin a prompt into gold.

  7. Lovely response Kate to this prompt. Well done enjoyed your story.

  8. That’s amazing. Just six sentences for such a dramatic piece. But I would never do such a thing πŸ™‚

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Malcolm, I must admit it was quite perverse of me to use the name of such a gentleman as yourself for my character (who I suspect might have been a butcher in a previous life). πŸ˜€ I like the name ‘Malcolm’ – seems so classy and refined. I just had to use it for the fellow in my story. Nice to know it is just the name you have in common!

      Glad you enjoyed the story.

  9. W. K. Tucker says:

    She got packed neatly away. Love it! πŸ˜€

  10. Laura Alonso says:

    Yikes. Crikey. Couldn’t stop reading…! πŸ™‚

  11. Aileen says:

    A dark twist, great!

  12. Tee hee – naughty girl. I read it to my husband . . . then I had to explain it – BUT I didn’t explain it too much – just thinking, though, I’m gunna’ need a big suitcase. He weighs around 220 pound.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I’m seeing a new scenario: a woman who must always explain story endings and punchlines to her husband. Finally, she cracks! She’s had enough! She can’t stand to explain one more bloody punchline to her husband.

      Up in the attic is a suitcase… a very, very large suitcase….

      Ahem. Mr. Garrulous best hide the kitchen cutlery…

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. When I read it I got the impression that he was just leaving her and thought it sad. Wow. So he wasn’t packing away pieces of their life just pieces of her!!! You write so gracefully.

  14. noelleg44 says:

    A place for everything, even him – no wonder she’s packed in the bag! Great stuff, Kate. Loved it.

  15. And such is life. Here one minute and gone the next. Indeed, the implied story is delicious, although naughty. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  16. Glynis Jolly says:

    I can think of so many different scenarios.

  17. willow1945 says:

    Powerful, Kate, and that’s a dark twist at the end….

  18. i like how you leave the reader pondering.
    Good work, Kate as always.

    Best to You

    john

  19. Great inferences. A fine story under 100 words. πŸ™‚

  20. Your writing always gets me inspired to write myself! πŸ˜€

  21. Oh ny word. I’m guessing that Monica ended up in the suitcase…. πŸ™‚

    Great stuff, Kate! ❀

  22. I love the way you can pull so much implied emotion out of so few words, Kate.

Leave a Reply

