Bedtime

He placed a gentle kiss on top of her silvery head, then roughly wiped at his tears with the heel of his hand.

“So, old girl, the doc says our journey’s over and it’s time for us to part.” His voice, thin with age, broke and he looked up at the doctor, his eyes seeking a reprieve.

The doctor replied softly, “Sir, it’s time for her to go,” and the old man’s face crumpled.

Taking a deep breath, he dropped one last kiss against the soft, gray fur, and it was done.

__________________
Author’s Note: This story is written in response to Lillie McFerrin Writes’ Five Sentence Fiction challenge. The prompt for this week’s story is ‘bedtime.’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Bedtime

  1. Tender. I can feel his love for her.

  2. orthodoxmom3 says:

    So heart wrenching in such few words. You are so talented.

  3. One of my favorite dogs came to me one night when I was crying on the couch and put his head on my shoulder. A week later we had to put him down. His body was cancer ridden and he took the time to console me.

    A great little piece, Kate.

  4. Beautiful and heart-wrenching Kate ❀

    Having lost an 'old girl' of my own last August, this piece really sticks with me. Tara (our old girl) had been a pup when we first got her and, sad as it sounds, she became something of a mischevious (if furry) younger sister.

    I was heartbroken when we had her put to sleep and I struggled to get the last image of her passing away out of my mind for quite a while.

    I have no doubt that she's up in doggy heaven chasing a ball around and rolling in the most offensive odours she can find πŸ™‚

  5. Cassandra says:

    So many times it comes down to this, yes? You captured it… painfully beautiful. ❀

  6. It’s ok, I didn’t need my heart in one piece today! πŸ˜€ Great emotion in so few words!

  7. noelleg44 says:

    Started to cry, Kate. I’ve had to do this for some many of my lovely fur balls.

  8. willow1945 says:

    Had to cry–those times are some of the most painful….beautifully done, Kate.

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    That was beautiful, Kate. You touched my heart.

  10. Nothing worse than saying goodbye to a pet. The shock of it, how the companion settles in your heart, but it’s just an animal, you tell yourself. Until it’s time to go. You captured the moment here, Kate! πŸ™‚

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I’m so glad it rang true to you, Cindy. I was trying to make the story affecting but mindful of straying into sentimental quicksand.

      (It’s true – we do say to ourselves, “It’s just an animal.” Then we continue to weep.)

  11. So sad to lose a pet and you captured it perfectly. Nicely done, Kate!

  12. i can fully identify with this moment. Kate, too well in fact.
    Top class delivery.

    Best to You

    john

  13. That’s a lot to squeeze into five sentences, Kate. Well done.

  14. Judee says:

    So sweet, and sad, and a nice mislead at the beginning.

  15. Aileen says:

    Sad but wonderful!

  16. Aw. Okay, been there…so sad, Kate. I knew the fur was comin’…I just knew it. You’re such a softy.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Me? A softy? I’m the gal who writes the things that keep Audrey Dawn up all night! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Seriously, I’m glad you liked the story, Audrey. I’ve been there a time or two, as well. ❀

  17. W. K. Tucker says:

    I’ve had to see two “old girls” pass to the other side, ( both mine were cats) that I loved dearly. They’ve been gone quite a few years now, but I still miss them. Your eloquent five sentences clearly showed the pain of losing our precious pets.

  18. wildbilbo says:

    Ouch… this one’s painful. Nicely done.
    KT

  19. My heart broke at, “So, old girl…”

  20. sknicholls says:

    Awww…pet tears streaming.

  21. Loved this, Kate! ❀️

Leave a Reply

