My Grandmother’s Hands

I want to thank the lovely Holistic Wayfarer at A Holistic Journey for asking me to guest blog on her site on the topic of beauty. When she first approached me about the topic, my grandmother’s hands immediately popped into my mind and heart. It was such an honor to remember my grandmother, to share a bit of her character with other readers. My sincere appreciation to the Holistic Wayfarer for her kindness – and to you, my readers, for taking a few moments to read a post about a lady who was a very big influence on my life.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My Grandmother’s Hands

  1. A beautiful piece of writing, Kate ❀

    The love and warmth that you held for your grandmother and how you continue to honour her memory shines through in this piece.

    Beauty is not concerned with physical perfection, beauty is measured by so much more than appearance alone and this striking essay on your grandmother and what she means to you is an excellent example of that

  2. Julia Lund says:

    I read this first on Diana’s site. So evocative. I found myself thinking of the hands I’ve held in love and loss throughout my life. Faces fade but the strength of those hands never grows weak. Thank you.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Aw, what lovely comments! There’s a great topic for a blog post there – the hands ‘held in love and loss’ in one’s life. You expressed that so well – you should expand on that some time, Julia.

  3. noelleg44 says:

    So moving, Kate. It made me remember my own grandmother, who was lovely and young in some very old photos I found of her. I’m sure your grandmother would be so proud of you and honored by your writing.

  4. Read your post on Holistic Wayfarer, and was much moved by it. This beautiful, piece of writing about a beautiful, loving woman puts the lie to what you are claiming in your post about words failing you, although I know exactly what you mean there too.. πŸ™‚ Just want to encourage you to share with us another memory that means a lot to you… πŸ™‚ Happy writing!

  5. That’s so beautiful! ❀

  6. W. K. Tucker says:

    A beautiful piece, Kate. Grandmothers can play

    • W. K. Tucker says:

      Lord, something went wrong there…iPad went bananas and posted all by itself–really. lol Now, as I wa saying…grandmothers can play such an important role in our lives, leave us with treasured memories–and a hole in our heart when they pass on. Both my grandmas were beauties. I loved reading about yours. She sounds like she was a special lady.

  7. I love how detailed your memories are, Kate. A servant’s heart and a love for her family rounds out a phenomenal woman. You’re a lucky lady to have had her influence in your life. β™‘

  8. cardamone5 says:

    A lovely tribute to your grandma, that is especially touching to me because I am about to lose my own precious grandma. Like yours, my grandma’s hands are gnarled by arthritis, but they are also beautiful to me because of all the love and care they delivered to me, and so many others. She never rubbed my back, and frowned on emotional displays, but when my mom died, she did not censure my tears, and enfolded me in a fierce hug, that was more comforting than anything. Thank God (or whoever you believe in) for our grandmas.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      What a lovely reply about your grandmother. I am sorry that you are about to lose her; that’s very hard. That fierce hug coming just when you needed it will be a lasting memory. Thanks for sharing. πŸ’œ

  9. Your grandmother was a lady.

    ‘a hardscrabble life’ well recounted and shared – Thank You, Kate

    Best Always

    john

Leave a Reply

