Roses

099e71370dd29676b0a9f7b37a3a5dfa6120a15c

Last night I dreamed of roses.

The scent was overpowering. It drew me once more to the garden. Bewildered, I stared at lush red petals. Forsaken by their caretaker, I thought they had perished.

Then I saw her. Wearing that silly straw hat, she was pruning the weakest stems. She looked my way and recognition bloomed in her eyes. Β Her familiar smile reminded me of seasons come and gone too quickly.

I started toward her eagerly but her smile was already fading. Confusion wrinkled her brow. Turning, she resumed her pruning.

I awoke, face wet, still smelling roses.

__________________
Word count: 98
Photo Credit: Elaine Murphy
Author’s Note: This story is written in response to the ‘100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups’ (found here).Β  The challenge was to write a story of 100 words or less using the prompt ‘the scent was overpowering.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Roses

  1. Stephen Thom says:

    this had a lovely, quiet grace to it, and the writing felt fluid and holistic, with little touches like the thematic verb in ‘recognition bloomed’ and even, perhaps, ‘wrinkled her brow’ – as well as sweet phrases like ‘reminded me of seasons come and gone’. Very lovely, I read you had a bit of writer’s block/hit the wall-type stuff…do you feel you have escaped it now? Do these shorter pieces/100 word challenges help? Your writing seems as free and expressive as it has been here.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Stephen. I’m happy you picked up on the ‘recognition bloomed’ and the seasons aspect in the story. I was trying to stay with the idea of flowers, seasons (passages of time in which things bloom then pass on), and so on.

      I have found that writing short pieces help me with writer’s block. It’s rather like chipping away at a mountain. I can focus on one tiny aspect of what might be a bigger story. I like the challenge of trying to see if I can tell a story in a very small amount of words and still have it make sense.

      Thanks for the lovely comments about the story.

  2. Margaret says:

    Beautiful short story. Dreams can be so powerful and this was one to remember. His love was so close in his dream, but in truth so very far away. I love the fact he carried the scent as he woke from his dream…very poignant.

  3. M. C. Dulac says:

    Beautiful was the first word I thought of when I read this – I see your other readers thought so too!

  4. Beautiful work, Kate. So few words but such meaning.

    Your work, as always, is exceptional ❀

  5. W. K. Tucker says:

    We lived in the same old house for many years. The yard was full of flowers, and we had a huge vegetable garden. My mother loved “digging in the dirt”. My sister, Linda, is the same.

  6. W. K. Tucker says:

    Beautiful, Kate. It made me think of my mother. She loved working in her flower beds.

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’ve never had a dream in which my sense of smell was working. Definitely a dream to remember. As I read your flash fiction, I could picture her in my mind.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Glynis, I can’t say I’ve ever had a dream where my sense of smell was working either… but who knows? πŸ˜€ Glad you could visualize the lady in the dream. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  8. jan says:

    The seasons do come and go too fast but waking up smelling roses isn’t a bad start to the day!

  9. noelleg44 says:

    Amazing, as usual, Kate. My problem with roses is most of the ones you buy have no scent. You just have to grow them.

  10. Love this Kate. You make every word count.
    ~Carl~

  11. That’s rather beautiful Kate

Leave a Reply

