Long Live the Queen

8ab22d3e6910031152f480446a1e802d

When daylight returned, the king was dead.

Sitting on the edge of her sofa, Joanna contemplated the body that had once housed the important Edward Pennington Bradford IV. The unnatural stillness in the air made her wonder if he’d taken with him all the energy in the universe.

Her mobile suddenly chirruped and life poured back into her limbs. Standing, she reached for the phone.

“Is it done?” asked the caller.

Joanna looked at the body. “It is.”

“Good. Your flight leaves in three hours; as agreed, the money has been wired to the Paris account. Questions?”

“None, Mrs. Bradford.”

__________________
Word count: 100
Author’s Note: This is a continuation of my flash fiction story, ‘Not a Vindictive Man…’  (found here)

This story is written in response to the ‘100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups’ (found here). The challenge was to write a story of 100 words using the phrase ‘when daylight returned the king was dead…’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Long Live the Queen

  1. “The unnatural stillness in the air made her wonder if he’d taken with him all the energy in the universe.”

    My fav line.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I’m so glad. I’m so keen on your fiction that having you like one of my stories puts a big, foolish grin on my face!

      • W. K. Tucker says:

        I don’t believe I’ve read anything written by you I DIDNT like. I wish I had your talent for telling a story with so few words. You know, a lot of magazines are looking for flash fiction pieces. Hint, hint. 😀

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Hi Kathy – you may have spurred me on. After a long, soul-stultifying winter, I think my mojo may be returning. I’m trying to be more disciplined about my writing – learning to prioritize and not feel guilty. A constant struggle. Thanks for the support!

        • W. K. Tucker says:

          My house is a mess…needs a thorough cleaning. I’m way behind on my reading. Friends have been ignored and my computer embraced. Ah…the wonderful life of a writer. lol

  2. Margaret says:

    You said you may bring Joanna back and you did, quicker than I expected and at the end of the day she still did win didn’t she – a nice pay packet and an air flight to Paris…..Perfect twist. I did not expect that. Brilliant as always.

  3. I was lucky enough to hear you speak of this story continuation during our Skype chat last weekend and you most certainly did not disappoint!

    Deliciously chilling and devious. I only hope that Mr Loveton never gets on the wrong side of you, Kate! 😆

  4. Pingback: Make an Offer and Then Get Out | Odyssey of a Novice Writer

  5. Love that royal picture of Helen Mirren. She’s gorgeous and fits into the story.
    A hit woman, Joanna? I hope you don’t get caught. 😀 😀 Sorry, I’m snorting. I don’t usually. Great story, Kate.

  6. Cecilia says:

    I like the picture too, it just belongs to the story, somehow.

  7. M. C. Dulac says:

    Ooh delicious! I’d be turning the pages if this was a book!

  8. You are soooo good at this!

  9. stacilys says:

    Eek! I wonder how she was feeling in her gut. She was definitely pensive.
    Great job Kate.
    🙂

  10. jan says:

    Nicely done! And the picture is great!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Jan. 🙂

      For those who may be unaware, please click on Jan’s name (above) and check out her blog. She has several novels written – which I want to read. Check them out, please!

  11. Short and sweet! You have wonderful punchlines when you do these exercises!

  12. Glynis Jolly says:

    Freaky. I had to go back and reread the other flash just because it made the whole thing even more enticing.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you, Glynis. I like the term ‘freaky’ ! I hope readers were surprised that Edward’s wife was responsible in getting him set up to be murdered. Glad you enjoyed!

  13. Another intriguing story! 🙂

  14. macjam47 says:

    Nice surprise ending.

  15. Oh, I like the continuation. I didn’t expect that punchline. Well done.

  16. Well, at the very least…she’s reflective. Intriguing, Kate. 🙂

  17. Great intrigue Kate, well done.

  18. noelleg44 says:

    How can you not like a story that begins with a picture of Helen Mirren?

Leave a Reply

