Cruising Altitude

images (8)

Joanna looked out the jet’s window as it achieved cruising altitude, enjoying briefly the fantasy of existing between two worlds.

Heaven and earth.

Heaven? The arbiter of her better instincts laughed. Only a fool believes heaven is for the likes of you.  Murderer!

She thought of Callie, confined to a wheelchair in a place where the poor were forgotten. Callie hadn’t been much of a mother, but even a bad mother meant something to a hungry heart.

The things we do, she thought, blinking back angry tears and crumbling a Styrofoam cup. The offers accepted.

And so it begins…

Mama.

__________________
Word count: 100

Author’s Note: This story is the fourth installment to a series of flash fiction stories I’ve written: ‘Not a Vindictive Man,’ ‘Long Live the Queen,’ and ‘Make an Offer and Then Get Out.’ I may have a bit more to say about Joanna in the future.

This new installment is written in response to two challenges: Two Shoes Tuesday (found here), which challenged writers to write a story utilizing the words ‘fantasy’ and ‘fool;’ and 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups (found here) which challenged writers to write a story with the words ‘and so it begins…’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Cruising Altitude

  1. Dalo 2013 says:

    Wonderful read ~ makes me want more…

  2. I love this continuing series of flash fiction stories and how you are building a compelling story with small snapshots from the viewpoint of the characters involved. These stories are rather like a jigsaw puzzle that the reader gets to slowly put together as one reads through each story, each section giving us another piece of the bigger picture.

    And what a delicious prospect the final finished picture will be! ❤ ❤

  3. W. K. Tucker says:

    I just love your continuing stories, each a link in a morbid, touching, and sometimes funny tale. It’s a nice surprise to be reading and reach the ahhh moment and make the connection. Keep ’em coming. 😀

  4. This definitely left us hungry for more of the story, my mind is already considering possibilities! Great write, intriguing storyline!

  5. jan says:

    I love the way you managed to slip in a twist in so few words. Bravo!

  6. You said so much in so few words. Superb.

  7. noelleg44 says:

    Another gem that leaves us wondering and thinking!

  8. I really can’t wait for more of this series.

    A thought just occurred – wouldn’t work with my followers (many of whom follow my images rather than my words), but could with yours – two words: guest episodes. Can you imagine where this series; or one like it; could go with a mix of writers, a mix of styles, a mix of ideas?

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Keith – interesting thoughts and maybe I’ll do such a series of stories in the future for writers. Heather B Costa and I have discussed doing a serial that would bounce back and forth between her blog and mine.

      I have grown partial to this particular group of characters, however, and have some ideas in mind for them so I think I’ll keep this particular series for my own writing attempts.

      But certainly a great idea for another series in the future.

      I think you should start a story based on one of your photos and open it up to continuation by other writers. Clever idea!

      • I may try that with the photo I put up this week. I’ve had one interesting response to it, but my own response, which I’m working on at the moment, may be worth stopping at a tension point.
        I’ll try it and see what (if anything) results.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Susan – glad you liked it! I’ve got a few small ideas in store for these characters. It’s rather fun writing a short blip, letting a few days go by, and then thinking a bit more about the characters. 🙂

  9. I like the chill factor: Mama. The pace and suspense are fantastic. DO bring on the rest. 😀 I wonder which way YOU will take this. 🙂 😮

  10. Anita says:

    Nicely expressed.
    I agree with your thoughts of the fool’s belief- fool’s paradise 🙂

  11. stacilys says:

    Awesome Kate. You know I’m a fan of your suspenseful flash fiction.
    Very well done.
    😊

  12. So many ways this story could go. I can think of many scenarios to develop but it’s your story, Kate, and I look forward to see where you take us.
    Right now, feels a bit angry, a bit mournful, a bit anxious. Am I on the right trail?

  13. Very nice. Loved the tempo.

Leave a Reply

