Wednesday Whine: Potpourri

images9JS326CTHappy Wednesday, everyone!  Or as we say in the United States, “Happy Hump Day!”  Those of you who live outside the U.S. may not be familiar with the term; I’ll let you draw your own conclusions as to its meaning. Makes it more fun that way!

I’ve set aside the wine glass and opted for coffee this evening in an attempt to stay awake long enough to write this post.  If I begin to doze off, do wake me.  But please be gentle!

Last time we met, I shared with you Heather Costa’s blunt advice on how to get on with one’s writing. Many of you seemed to think the advice was good and enjoyed the post. Complaints? Well… I did hear from Buckingham Palace. Seems the Queen was not amused by my photo of her. I was roundly chastised for my Yankee impertinence. So much for my ambition to one day have tea with the Queen. Now I won’t even get an invitation to fight over doggy biscuits with the corgis. (Heather, why didn’t you tell me the Queen was so sensitive? And who knew she’d be reading my blog!)

images802J0ODY

Regarding Ms. Heather, I’ve spent much of this week making arrangements for her visit in August. There are plans for us to attend a ballgame at Oriole Park where I shall attempt to teach her the finer points of America’s Favorite Pastime. I’ve also booked a two-night stay in New York City where we girls will shop ’til we drop and sample all sorts of interesting libations while gazing out on Times Square.  We also have tickets to see the show “Phantom of the Opera.”

I don’t have any worries that Heather will be ready for New York; I do wonder if New York will be ready for Heather. I can assure you that some humorous blog posts will likely come out of this visit – if our lawyers manage to keep us out of jail…

Last week I posted a photograph of my writing room with the caption “Where is Kate?” After thinking about that photo, I figured it was now time to show Kate. Seemed like a brilliant follow-up to me. So I asked Mr. Loveton if he would take a nice photo of me I could post on my blog.

Now, Mr. Loveton is a wonderful man. He’s sweet, charming and funny. (He also has good taste in women… ) What he’s not, however, is a good photographer. When photo after photo of yours truly emerged with my head cut off, I remembered why there were more photographs of Mr. Loveton than of Kate in our photo albums. It’s because Kate always takes the photos – by necessity.

That is also why, dear reader, you see here a photo of Kate holding up her iPhone and taking her own picture. This way we are assured her head is displayed firmly on her shoulders. image

It took a lot of courage for me to finally post a photograph of me sans sunglasses, big hat or hiding behind a computer. In February, I celebrated a significant birthday. A milestone birthday. The kind of birthday we don’t discuss in polite society! But with the help of a nifty little app on my iPhone, I was able to blur all the smile lines. This was a free app. I could have paid for a better app. A better app might have made me look like a young Elizabeth Taylor. But I’m cheap so I settled for a few less crow’s feet.

Moving right along, I want to share with you that the last week has been a very productive one for me. I came up with several ideas for new stories, completed three of them, and made a good start on two others. So, whether or not the Queen liked my post, Heather’s advice did get me moving.

I started journaling over at “750 Words.” I don’t know why I like journaling there more than in a word doc on my computer. Perhaps it is because they congratulate me for my stick-to-it-tiveness when I journal for more than just one day. They also give me cool little badges to chart my progress. After three days of journaling, they awarded me the turkey badge. (Um… I know some of you are dying to comment on that, but please try to control yourselves.)

Johnny Penguin

Johnny Penguin

Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash

Now, with eight days completed, I am considered a penguin.

I like Penguins. They know how to dress for formal occasions. People could learn a lot about fashion sense from observing penguins. Basic black with a touch of white – you can never go wrong with that combination. Ask Johnny Cash, the Man in Black. Um… well, maybe not since Johnny is no longer with us. But while he was, he understood that black is always a good look.

But back to journaling:  I have found it helpful. One of the stories I wrote this past week got its genesis from a childhood memory. The finished story was significantly different, but the idea surfaced from the memory – and that came out of journaling.

Another story came to me when I was thumbing through a book titled “Now Write!” A nifty little idea grew out of one of the exercises that I attempted from the book.  My story went far afield of what the exercise intended, but I was happy with the idea the exercise generated. It’s a rather freaky idea. I like freaky. If you read my blog fiction, you’ll see that 75% of it is freaky.

Last Thursday I was blowing my hair dry after showering (too much info? sorry!), and an old song started bedeviling me. I couldn’t get that damned song out of my head. It was on a continuous loop. But the more I thought about the song, a story started to emerge.

Sometimes you have to work hard to come up with a story; sometimes they just appear like a gift out of the blue. Have you ever experienced that?

Speaking of stories, this is the perfect opportunity to tell you that I’ve read a couple of good ones this week.

First, I finished Noelle Granger’s second book in the Rhe Brewster series, “Death in a Dacron Sail.” Noelle doesn’t disappoint with this newest Rhe Brewster mystery. I hope you’ll look for my review next week, and then I hope you’ll go to the links I’ll provide and order a copy.

7aa012c9-2abf-42a4-b878-db7880c7abf3 (2)I also read W.K. Tucker’s  short story, “Saving Grace.” W.K. Tucker is one of my favorite bloggers. I like the short fiction pieces she publishes on her blog as well as her haunting and eerie poetry, which puts me in mind of Edgar Allen Poe.

“Saving Grace” is a short story about an old woman, her dog and a surprising encounter in a cornfield. It’s a sweet story with an interesting outcome.

I learned today that Ms. Tucker has a new book of short stories available on Amazon. The book is titled “A Raccoon Problem and Other Stories.”  She describes the ten stories in the book as a mix of horror, science fiction and just plain strange. I’m intrigued. You can bet I’ll be getting a copy of this book soon.

Well, as Porky Pig used to say, “That’s all, Folks!” Thanks for joining me yet again for another Wednesday Whine.

thZ2TRZS1G

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Wednesday Whine: Potpourri

  1. Julia Lund says:

    Love WKTuker’s writing and enjoyed Saving Grace – Kathy has a gift. I am also looking forward to reading more of your stories. Congratulations on “getting back into the groove” and posting your photo. All my February birthdays are too significant to talk about and I share your photo-phobia. Perhaps that blurry app is the answer?

  2. W. K. Tucker says:

    I agree with everyone that it’s nice to have a face to go with your enjoyable writing. You are lovely, Miss Kate. 😀 This piece had me grinning all throughout it. And thanks for the mention–much appreciated.

  3. Mark Gardner says:

    Yay, Kate! Now there’s the preponderance of photo evidence that you are indeed a person and not a sentient robot overlord. You know we all expect selfies of you and HBC at all the choice NY locations.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Well… I might be an android…

      HBC and I shall certainly take under advisement your suggestion that we litter our blogs with selfies of our New York adventure! 😀

  4. You had me laughing here Kate. THANK YOU! 🙂
    From the queen, to Mr. Loveton, to penguins, plus a photo of a very lovely lady, it was a most enjoyable read.
    Thank you for sharing and putting a smile on my face! 😀
    ~Carl~

  5. jan says:

    I like those clever little apps that can blur out laugh lines!

  6. You are SO cute!! I knew you’d look sweet anyway, but it’s good to see you. I always thought of blogging as a sort of journal minus the embarrassing self pity I often find when I look back at my real journals. 🙂 What bird comes after penguins?

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Adrienne – I have now moved past the penguin. I am now a flashy pink flamingo. I was ready for a change in wardrobe. Black and white is nice, but hot pink is oh so much better!

      I am still sticking to the journaling… I think 750 Words is good at guilting me into doing it. If I miss a day, I get listed on the Wall of Shame. Oh noooo! NOT THE WALL OF SHAME!!

      • I’m writing about a fictional utopian society where they have a weekly “Circle of Improvement.” It’s so much fun to have characters “nicely” shame other characters for their less than stellar habits. Haha.

        Well, good for you flamingo girl–and have fun.

        A

  7. Nice to see a picture of you! I like penguins, too. Especially the Rock Hopper. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I like zebras. In my next life, I’m coming back as one. I like their big, black eyes, their stiff, proud manes and their beautiful black and white stripes. The only problem is they have big butts…

      Glad you enjoyed my blurred image. 😀

  8. You have been busy, busy, Kate. Fantastic you’re back in the swing of thing. Must be the weather’s better and the sun’s rays brighten the days. ❤ ❤

  9. I’m surprised that US Immigration approved my visa, do they know what they’re letting themselves in for? 🙂

    Sorry about not giving you a heads-up about the Queen, she’s a bit sensitive when it comes to having her photo taken and which ones end up in the public domain. You’re lucky that it’s only Mr Loveton chopping off your head in photos, the British royals of years past have been known to be quite literal in their interpretation of that phrase! 🙂 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I was rather surprised that US Immigration approved your visa as well… must have been that $100 bill I slipped the clerk who looked over your application…

      Re the Queen – a BIT sensitive, you say? She’s named one of her corgis ‘Kate Loveton.’ Now that’s a bit cold, don’t you think?

      Hmm… I’d forgotten the British Royal Family’s penchant for separating heads and torsos. Thank God Henry VIII is no longer on the throne – and that Mr. Loveton is of German (not British) heritage.

      • Aren’t you so glad you slipped Immigration that bribe now? 🙂

        Hey, I did try to warn you about old Liz, she can be a bit sensitive about photographers catching her good side…

        You’ll be glad to know that Royals no longer behead folk. We do still, however, put people in the London Dungeons… 🙂

  10. Glynis Jolly says:

    I hadn’t seen the site “750 Words” before. As you know, I’m doing 400 words per session (not day) so I don’t think I’ll try this site yet, but I have bookmarked it. 😉

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I really do like the site. So far, it is working out for me… but I better start writing my 750 words before midnight tonight – or I will have missed a day and be relegated to THE WALL OF SHAME. Noooooo!

  11. noelleg44 says:

    Glad to finally see you, Kate. And a lovely photo it is! Love your Wednesday whines. They give me relief!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Sort of like a good antacid? Well, I’m always relieved when I’ve completed one! 😀 I never know what I’m going to say until my fingers hit the keyboard. I find writing the Wednesday updates much harder than writing flash fiction – and that surprises me. Thanks for the kind words, Noelle – it makes me happy that you enjoy them.

  12. It’s so nice to put a face to the name, Kate. Such a pretty face too. 🙂

  13. Deb says:

    Enjoyed your post a lot! Your “selfie” is great! You look exactly as I had pictured you in my mind.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Did you picture me blurred? 😀 😀 I wish I could equip people who meet me with glasses that contain that lovely blurring effect. Sometimes a lack of clarity is a good thing! LOL Glad you enjoyed the post, Deb.

  14. Sounds like a good, productive week. I wouldn’t mind one of those – can you send one over?

  15. Great read, Kate, thoroughly enjoyable – Thank You for sharing

    Best Wishes

    john

  16. You still cheated with a back-lit photo 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      heh heh heh… noticed that, did you? Ah, you photographers: it’s hard to put one over on you! Trust me, I spared you full effect of my Kate-ness. We’ll work our way toward it… slowly… VERY slowly! 😀 😀

  17. Regarding Happy Hump Day, I would just like to say Humph.

Leave a Reply

