Boys Will Be Boys

imagesR346GLOW

From the start, Enid realized there was something not quite right about Ralphie, but her husband, George, always looked the other way, saying “Boys will be boys.”

Later, psychologists attributed the worsening changes in Ralphie’s behavior to George’s sudden, unexpected demise; the ever watchful Enid knew better.

But even Enid wasn’t prepared for the sight of Ralphie sitting at the kitchen table, knife and fork in hand, canary feathers scattered about.

Warily she walked past the empty birdcage, her late husband’s words ringing in her ears: “Boys will be boys.”

“We should get a new pet,” sighed the monster at the table, dreaming of boa constrictors and the sleeping baby in his mother’s upstairs bedroom.

__________________
Word count: 114
Author’s Note: This story is written in response to Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction challenge (found here). The challenge is to write a piece of fiction in five sentences using the word “changes.”

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Boys Will Be Boys

  1. A fellow my husband worked with had a step-son (now I hate to give step children bad press–I have very nice ones). One night when the work fellow was sleeping with his wife the stepson came in with a knife and matter-of-factly announced he could kill them in their sleep.

    the fellow asked my husband if he had any advice.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Best advice: institutionalization!

      Good Lord – that is more chilling than anything I could come up with!

      • That’s what my husband wanted to say, but his co-worker thought my husband was too strict a father (because we set limits on computer time) so he wouldn’t have really listened. The guy was always wondering why his kids were stealing his cars out of the driveway 🙂

  2. W. K. Tucker says:

    Ah, what an interesting picture you paint with your words–a boa constrictor and a baby. 😀 Deliciously twisted.
    Since arriving home from vacation, I’ve been slowly working my way though the blogs I follow. Don’t want to miss anything good.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      You know, buddy of mine, I knew if anyone was gonna like that old boa constrictor and baby imagery, it was gonna be you! 😀 Our twisted minds seem to sway in unison! Welcome back from vacation. I’m up next – leaving Saturday for a week by the ocean. Weather is finally nice here, and hoping for its continuation while I’m walking alongside the surf. 🙂

      • W. K. Tucker says:

        Have a “simply marvelous” time away, my friend. The beach–any beach–is pure heaven to me. (Maybe in a previous life I was a mermaid…lol.) My annual beach vacation with my best buds is in October…can’t wait!!
        Why do we like gruesome shit? Are we warped? 😀

  3. So glad that I didn’t read this just before bed!

    A deliciously disturbing tale, Kate! ❤

  4. I knew it. He didn’t look like a vegan.

  5. jan says:

    Oh my, Stephen King move on over! Delightfully diabolical read!

  6. That is downright disturbing. I wonder how many people have actually faced that. Me, that would end my inaction.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      For sure! For some reason, I like playing around sometimes with the idea of evil in children – it is so at odds with the traditional idea of innocence. Did you ever see the movie, ‘The Bad Seed’? It’s an old one from the 1950s about a diabolical child. It’s much more chilling than any of the devil possession movies about kids – in ‘The Bad Seed’ the kid was just plain evil, not possessed.

  7. noelleg44 says:

    A perfect portrait of a sociopath, Kate!

  8. K. R. Smith says:

    Hey, a growing boy has to eat! Good story!

  9. Wow…nice response to the challenge, Kate! The accompanying photo is perfect too!

  10. Gruesome and dark, but an outstanding story! ❤ ❤ ❤

  11. willow1945 says:

    I knew this wouldn’t end well when “something wasn’t quite right about Ralphie!” Great job, Kate!

  12. Very nicely crafted, Kate; dark with a bitter twist.

  13. McGuffy Ann says:

    Oh, my…wow…this is the start of something big.

  14. Brilliant, chilling, finale and excellent photo.

  15. wildbilbo says:

    Dark.

    But great fun 🙂 nicely done.

  16. stacilys says:

    Oh my. Now that boy has a serious psychotic problem.
    Great job Kate. You have a real knack for writing the morbid stuff, my friend (that is a compliment:-) )

  17. macjam47 says:

    Knife, fork and feathers. Love it.

Leave a Reply

