The Cruelest Month

imagesV0YER6AF

“Humans are right. April is the cruelest month.”

“What’s wrong, Snagthistle?” asked Thornbriar.

“My numbers are down. You know how He gets when we don’t meet our quotas.”

“His Eminence realizes suicides and murders dip in spring. The monkeys taste hope with April’s arrival.”  Thornbriar shuddered.  “Wretched month!”

“My numbers were good last April.”

Thornbriar nodded. “I remember: the Ebola Spring. A bumper crop of souls!”

“I can’t make those numbers again. There’ll be hell to pay!”

Feeling moisture, Thornbriar smiled. “Cheer up, Snagthistle! It’s starting to rain!”

Snagthistle glanced up, fervently hoping that somewhere rain was falling on someone’s parade.

__________________
Word count: 100
Author’s Note: This story is written in response to the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups. This week’s prompt: the word APRIL. You can find the challenge here.
1212310211

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Cruelest Month

  1. Oh-so-Screwtape letters of you! I love it. BTW, I don’t know how I’ve been missing your posts. I AM following you !

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Alright! You got it, girlfriend! Yes, I was channeling the great CS Lewis just a bit. I love the Screwtape letters! I am so glad you recognized that, Adrienne!

      Hope you’re now getting notifications of my posts again. I would miss your comments. 🙂

  2. W. K. Tucker says:

    I love it when “rain falls on a parade”, because somewhere, someone is using the opportunity to create a bit of magic–like you did. 😀

  3. I loved this, Kate. Is there no end to your talents? ❤

  4. Susan Langer says:

    I really liked your take on the month and loved how you brought weeds to life just like April does. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Susan! Thanks for taking the time to read and for your lovely comment. I think I threw a few readers off with the names I chose for the two characters in the story, making readers think the story is about weeds. It really isn’t, but I can understand why people may have thought so. If I get the time this weekend, I hope to revisit these two characters in another story. 🙂

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Ahh, the weed’s point of view on Spring. Clever! 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Glynis, I think the names I chose for the two characters may have made a few readers think the story is about weeds, but in fact it isn’t. I was looking for ugly, annoying names for the characters – and came up with weedy names. 😀

  6. Nicely done. It must be really difficult to want to cause just evil, after all, even murders are good news for the undertakers.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      What a good point! Unintended consequences, hey? It must be tough to be Satan (or his emissaries) when even evil can have a good outcome for someone. I like your comment! Humorous but thought-provoking. I may take that point up in a sequel!

  7. jan says:

    I guess we all have quotas we’ve got to make! Very cleverly done! Bravo!

  8. noelleg44 says:

    A lot of fun, I had a chuckle. But I wanted more!

  9. Such a smart and clever story – so much fun to read!

  10. wildbilbo says:

    I cant make those numbers… brilliant. Enjoyed this a lot.
    KT

  11. I love it. It is still a month–April–but such an unexpected ending. Oh my. Fan-tab-u-lous, Kate. 😀

  12. Deb says:

    Very clever writing. I was a little disappointed it was only 100 words! 😊

  13. stacilys says:

    Brilliant Kate.
    😊

Leave a Reply

