Variety is the Spice of Life

untitled (12)

It’s hard to be faithful. Isn’t variety the spice of life?

That’s what Jake had always thought – at least until he’d met his Angela.

When he first laid eyes on her, he knew he had to change his cheating ways. In the past, he’d wasted his time on bimbos, the kind of girls who were good for only one thing (although it was a very good thing!) and not much else. But his Angela was different.

Chaste, sweet, faithful. Angela was the kind of girl a man brought home to meet his mama.

Angela, Angela… an angel she was! An angel fate had sent his way. Resolving to be worthy of her, he decided to straighten up and fly right. Angela wasn’t the kind of girl to put up with a boyfriend’s wandering eye.

The problem was that Jake was a randy fellow who’d always had an eye for the girls. He knew the odds he was up against, but he was determined. So, when a pretty girl walked past him, he resolutely looked the other way. If a soft thigh brushed up against his during a subway ride, he’d swallow painfully and move aside. The enticing scent of female mingled with perfume would produce from Jake a string of muttered “Our Fathers,” the prayerful mantra which Father Benedetto had once assured the much younger Jake would douse teenage lust.

But Lord have mercy!

Did He have to create so many beautiful women?

Everywhere he went, they confronted Jake. Gorgeous women, dressed in tight skirts, their plump thighs beckoning.  Women wearing soft sweaters that barely covered large, bouncing breasts. They haunted him, these wonderful women, issuing invitations he couldn’t accept. Yes, they were everywhere! In the park, in the office… in his dreams. The world was like a supermarket stocked with female delight – and he was unable to shop!

Not if he wanted to keep his Angela.

Desperation began to nibble away at his routine and so he decided to vary it. He’d leave the house earlier and earlier in an attempt to miss the pretty girls who gathered at the bus stop in the morning. He stopped waving to people on his street, afraid he’d be enticed by a nubile neighbor. He walked quickly, purposefully, to wherever he was going, fearful he’d give in to temptation if a blonde in an extremely short skirt asked for directions. Jake took to looking down at the pavement wherever he went, ignoring everyone and everything around him.

That’s how he ended up in the hospital, legs in traction, several ribs fractured. He never saw the car heading his way, so busy was he looking down instead of up.

Fortunately, the nurse who tended him had the face and the figure of a marine. There’d be no fervid flirtations over nightly sponge baths. He sighed, relieved. He could still be faithful to his Angela.

He looked over at her, sitting by his bed, reading a magazine. His Angela.

“Mr. Barone? I’m Dr. Bainbridge, the orthopedic surgeon,” said the tall, handsome doctor, entering the room. He extended his hand to Jake.

Angela dropped the magazine and stood up quickly. Intercepting the doc’s hand, she shook it and smiled brightly. “Hello, doctor,” she said, her eyes sparkling, “I’m Angela.”

All those months, trying to be good. Jake really had been too busy looking down. He was looking up now. Just in time to see the car that was about to hit him.

© 2015 All Rights Reserved Kate Loveton and Odyssey of a Novice Writer

* * * * * * *

socs-badge

Author’s Note: This story is written in response to Linda G Hill’s ‘Stream of Consciousness Saturday’ challenge. Linda’s challenge was to let your imagination fly, using one or both of the words ‘very’ or ‘vary.’ I had no idea what I was going to write about when I tried this exercise, but this is what I came up with. I hope you enjoy it. Linda’s challenge can be found here.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Variety is the Spice of Life

  1. stacilys says:

    Wonderfully written Kate.
    🙂

  2. Excellent. A very enjoyable read. I’m going to put on my bullet-proof vest and say maybe we are just not made for long term monogamy. Most species cheat on their mates.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      T’is true. It’s why the female of the species kills ’em. 😀 😀 There are some animals (besides human beings) that do mate for life, though – and grieve when their partner dies.

      Glad you enjoyed the story!

  3. Beauty, Sex, Love. What’s there not to like here? =)
    As for Jake: what goes around comes around, buddy.

  4. markbialczak says:

    Oh, you gave him his, Kate. Twice! Twister, you.

  5. Adan Ramie says:

    Angela’s not so innocent, is she?

    What a great story, Kate! I particularly liked the last line.

  6. Sally says:

    I really enjoyed this Kate. Well written and easy to read, a nice touch of humour in the tone, and I loved the ending. Well done.

  7. Jay says:

    This feels like a bit of a wink, I like it.

  8. Poor Jake, I almost feel sorry for him. Almost. 🙂

    A wry and amusing tale. Well done, Kate! ❤

  9. This is such an amazing post Kate. So well described and articulated. I was hanging on to every word, admiring Jake so much, and cheering for him, for his resolve to be true to Angela, his love.
    What an ending, poor Jake. Yes, hit twice.
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Carl~

  10. Angela wasn’t anymore genuine than Jake. 😀 😀 Once he was broken she went after the first handsome man, the doc. I don’t feel sorry for Jake, but it serves him right. Ha ha ha ha ha. Too delicious. ❤

  11. Julia Lund says:

    Oh no! I almost feel sorry for Jake … 😦

  12. Paul S says:

    This piece made me smile, not least because it’s been years since I’ve heard anyone use the word randy!

  13. I really enjoyed this, Kate!

  14. noelleg44 says:

    Your usual entertaining story with a twist. Write on!

  15. jan says:

    What a wild imagination you have! I particularly like the idea of the “nubile neighbors” !

  16. Prajakta says:

    Powerful story 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      😀 😀 I have to admit that ‘nubile neighbors’ was a rather fun phrase to throw in there!

      This was a fun challenge for me. I wasn’t sure what I might come up with when I tried the stream of consciousness thing, or whether I’d even be able to come up with anything I could use on my blog. I hope to try this challenge again in the future.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Prajakta, thank you for reading and leaving such a kind comment. 🙂

  17. Don’t you have female marines? What about G.I.Jane? 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Are you trying to get me in trouble, Derrick? 😀 😀 Your remark made me laugh because I thought of Demi Moore in G.I. Jane. I suppose if Jake’s nurse had looked like her, he may have had a problem on his hands!

  18. Wow! That is some powerful consciousness you have streaming there, Kate. Superbly told.

Leave a Reply

