WEDNESDAY WHINE: Vacation is Over and It’s Back to Reality

imageThis Wednesday, I am settling into an easy chair with a glass of wine. After the day I’ve had, I think I deserve it.

This week’s liquid offering is a dry red wine, Cantina Zaccagnini. I discovered this wine when dining at one of my favorite haunts in Ocean City, Maryland. The restaurant/liquor store, Liquid Assets, is a nice bistro with casual elegance. In addition to a large bar, there are comfortable sofas, chairs and tables throughout the restaurant.  There is also a separate area with more traditional tables and booths.  One of the things I like best about Liquid Assets are the shelves and shelves of bottled wines available for sale. I love looking at the labels, trying to decide what each bottle of wine might taste like. It is a wine lover’s paradise.

While Mr. Loveton and I were sitting at the bar, we struck up a conversation with three young women seated near me. They had purchased a bottle of the Cantina Zaccagnini, saying it was their favorite dry red. Intrigued, I asked to see the bottle. They then offered me a glass (nice girls they were!) and I ended up purchasing two bottles to take home.

If you’re ever in Ocean City, Maryland, and you like wine and interesting food, check out Liquid Assets. I think you’ll like it.

I started to tell you about my day. It was busy from the time I started (7:20 imageAM) until the time I left (6:45 PM). In fact, the last three days have been busy. And why? Because yours truly was on vacation all of last week and is now paying the price. Have you ever noticed that no matter how much work you get done the week before you go on vacation, you are still behind when you return? Sigh… What can you do but grin and bear it? And, perhaps, have a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Anyway, I walked in the door this evening at 7:30 PM, ate dinner, did my workout, and decided I’d let the Wednesday Whine go for this week. I didn’t think I had it in me to write a blog post after such a tiring day.  Somehow I’ve managed it, though, so here I am – whining!

Vacation was good – really good! We had one day of misty coolness, but all in all it was nice spring weather in Ocean City. We walked the Boardwalk a great deal, we walked along the surf, played miniature golf, went biking, ate way too much and just thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

imageSpeaking of miniature golf, I never seem able to defeat my husband when we play. He is too good for me, and I generally lose by a stroke or two. In spite of several holes in one in each game, I still managed to lose every game we played.  That’s not good for a girl’s ego! In order to keep things interesting, I play for jewelry. If I win, I get VICTORY JEWELRY. If I lose, I get a piece of CONSOLATION JEWELRY. (Mr. Loveton, contrary gent that he is, insists on calling it LOSER JEWELRY.) Well, if you stop to consider, I’m a winner either way. Ladies, I strongly recommend you consider playing for jewelry if your husband drags you out to play miniature golf or any other similar activity.  Here is my latest piece of consolation jewelry. Since Maryland is known for crabs, this necklace seems rather symbolic of my time in Ocean City.

My favorite thing about being by the ocean is watching the sun as it rises above the water. I was up bright and early to make sure that I didn’t miss it. Would you want to miss this? I don’t think so.

image

Here’s a picture of Mr. Loveton heading to the beach. Actually, he is supposed imageto be on his way to the hotel lobby to bring his wife her early morning coffee (this is for his own well-being since I’m pretty unbearable until I’ve had my first cup of joe in the morning); instead, he took a quick detour onto the beach. He didn’t think I was looking!  Doesn’t he realize yet that Mrs. Loveton sees and knows all?  I forgave him the delay.  However, notice he has his OWN coffee in hand (you have to look closely) as he heads out to take a quick walk on the beach.  The devil!

The ocean water is pretty cold in early May, as we found out when we stripped off our sandals and walked in the surf. Some might call it bracing. I think shocking is more fitting! I think I quickly lost all circulation in my toes.  It has yet to return.

I really had a relaxing week. I actually caught up on all my favorite blogs. (So, how come I’m behind again?)  I managed to write and post one of my Alphabet Soup stories. I even managed to clean up some of my email! Most of all, though, I just chilled. There’s something about being by the water that is calming. It soothes the spirit and just makes me happy.

Apparently, it also makes a certain husband a better photographer. You may recall that I posted a selfie several weeks ago, explaining that Mr. Loveton tends to cut off heads when he takes photographs. This time, expecting the worse, I told him to have at it. He suprised me! He managed to take a photograph of me – and, as you can see, my head is still firmly attached to my neck and shoulders. I like to title this photo: A Ravens Dork at the Beach.

Even though this girl now lives in Pennsylvania, her heart and soul are still in her old hometown – and she still roots for her beloved Baltimore Ravens.

A Ravens Dork at the Beach

A Ravens Dork at the Beach

This weekend, I hope to get back into my writing. Here’s what’s coming in the next week:

A long promised review of M.C. Dulac’s latest book. I also have a brief interview with Ms. Dulac to share.

A new Alphabet Soup story. This one is titled “D is for Delilah” – and, no, it is not a take on the Biblical tale of Samson and Delilah.  😀

Have a wonderful week, everyone! And if you try the wine mentioned above, let me know how you like it.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Wednesday Whine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to WEDNESDAY WHINE: Vacation is Over and It’s Back to Reality

  1. Rookienotes says:

    And yes, I love that you are repping the Ravens! I love summer, but is it football season already?

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Oh, I’m a HUGE Ravens fan. I’m also a loud Ravens fan! 😀 Football season is the best time of the year. Hey, we drafted pretty well this spring; crossing my fingers for a good season this year.

  2. Rookienotes says:

    I will definitely check out that restaurant if I go to Ocean City. And my favorite part was when you were spying on your husband. haahahaha. Men forget, we see and hear all.

  3. I am so glad that you had such a fabulous vacation, Kate, you definitely deserved a few days of wining and dining after such a hectic start to the year! ❤

    One of the worst things about returning to work after a vacation is the pile work that your colleagues see fit to leave until your return. That kind of thing always irritates me!

    I hope you took cheeky Mr Loveton to task for delaying your first cup of joe in favour of a walk on the beach, a woman needs her coffee after all! 🙂

    Wonderful to see a return of the 'Wednesday Whine', I've always loved this feature on your blog! ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Heather. Did you feel you were on holiday with me since I bombarded you with pictures and tweets during the week? *grin*

      I did lecture Mr. L about the tardy arrival of my morning coffee – but then he looked so penitent that I felt bad about being so grumpy. That’s really why I let him win at those mini golf games! (um, yeah… right…)

      I have now managed to dig through my work pile, but what a re-entry it was! 😀

      • I loved seeing all of your holiday snaps! Just imagine how many we’re going to take when I come to visit in a couple of months time! 🙂

        Poor Mr L, he’s usually so well-trained so I’m glad that you weren’t too hard on him this time around… 🙂

        Heading back to work after a vacation sucks, doesn’t it?

        ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. M. C. Dulac says:

    That sounds like a wonderful break! How nice of the girls to offer you a glass of that fine wine 🙂 Mr L certainly took a lovely photo!

    Your review will be one of the most anticipated reviews of the year (for me that is!) 🙂 🙂 I look forward to it!

  5. noelleg44 says:

    You just had a vacation I would love. I’m a beach girl, and don’t get there often enough. Love your necklace – was it a winner or consolation prize? Anyway, Kate, take a deep breath – it’s Friday and you can catch up on relaxation tomorrow!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank God it’s Friday, right? 😀 I hope you’re enjoying your getaway, Noelle.

      I like to think of that necklace as consolation jewelry for games well played though lost.

      Mr. L, however, is gloating on his victories and advising his friends that I picked up some new loser jewelry. 😀

  6. It looks as though you had a wonderful vacation, Kate. I loved seeing the pictures from O.C. Being from Virginia, I spent a lot of time in O.C. In fact, after I graduated from high school, my friends and I celebrated there for two weeks…great memories. I too love sunrises at the beach. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Jill. When I graduated from high school, I also went to O.C. with friends. I think it’s a rite of passage in our area. Or perhaps it was just the era in which I graduated. My friends’ kids go to the Bahamas or to Key West upon graduation from high school. Wow… that’s a far cry from eating pizza, walking the Boardwalk and laying on the O.C. beach for hours on end, slathered in baby oil and iodine! 😀

  7. The ocean–my memories of childhood are so full of ocean. The only place my father ever brought us (he was afraid to drive anywhere else!). My mother minded, but we didn’t.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I’m sure you have many good memories of those vacations by the seaside.

      We rarely took family vacations. I remember vividly going to Atlantic City, NJ for the day with my parents and uncle, aunt and cousins. We all piled into my uncle’s ‘woodie’ style station wagon. We didn’t worry about seatbelts back then. There were five kids in the back of the wagon, and we were chuckling over MAD Magazine. I think it took four hours up and four hours back for that day trip. Oh my! It was a memorable day, though. Generally, the only ‘vacation’ days we spent as a family were the annual Sunday School picnics sponsored by the church or the annual day at the beach held by my dad’s American Legion post.

      Perhaps that is why I like to go on vacation so much today!

      • One time my mother convinced my father to go on a day trip to the lake with her sister’s family who always drove in a huge motor home (they had 6 kids and two standard poodles). They had collapsible rocking chairs too.

        My father considered the lake “stagnant water” and disgusting. He didn’t like my uncle because he was a real cheap skate, bringing coupons everywhere and having the kids go into stores one at a time to get multiple discounts on toothpaste. They also ate Jello with fruit in it. My father held these things (and many more) against them.

        Of course the day was a complete disaster with the finale being my little brother grabbing the hot iron of a hibachi grill with both hands. He spent the rest of the day as we packed up keeping his hands in the stagnant water.

        This one day forever cemented in my father’s mind that lakes were terrible places to take children. 🙂

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Wow, Adrienne! That’s some story.

          Sometimes family vacations are memorable for all the wrong reasons, and sometimes they are filled with the stress of wanting to have a good time when you know things are not going to work out.

          My father didn’t always get along with his brother or his brother’s wife, but our vacation that day turned out well. I have memories of Christmases shared that were not quite as successful.

          My father and uncle were very different in their personalities and outlook on life. In spite of their differences, though, they remained close, especially as my dad’s life was drawing to a close. I’ll forever be grateful to my uncle for taking my dad to his chemo sessions and for always coming by to cheer him up during those bleak days. He was the Rock of Gibralter during that time, and I’ll forever love him for that.

        • Oh, that is so great. It reminds me of the movie Nebraska when you discover half way through how much the family in the movie loves each other–despite everything.

          I was once near death and the midnight visits from my sister (the one I have a rocky relationship with) were the BEST. She made me laugh so much I think it kept me alive. Family. Sigh.

  8. macjam47 says:

    Wednesday Whine is something I look forward to. Always a fun read. I love the necklace.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Michelle. I’m so glad you mentioned your enjoyment of the Wednesday Whine. I had considered dropping it as a category but you’ve encouraged me to consider continuing it. 🙂 I find it harder to write about my life than I do to come up with a short piece of fiction for my blog.

  9. jan says:

    What a lovely necklace! I’m also behind in my blog reading. I’m going on vacation next week which I’m sure will really set me back!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Jan! I hope you have a fabulous vacation next week! I’m ready for another. 😀 My next vacation will be when the fabulous Heather B Costa comes to visit with me in August. I hope she’s resting up because I’m not allowing for a lot of down time. We are going to New York for a few days, and that should be great fun, I think. 🙂

  10. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’d love to have a glass of wine with you. Unfortunately, commercial wine makes me sick — within two hours of drinking it.

    I know zip about Baltimore, but being closes to the coast would be a plus in my book. The Carolina beaches are about a hard day’s drive away from me. I’d love to see it.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      So, Glynis, do you make your own wine? Or do you avoid alcohol entirely?

      My husband rarely drinks wine because it gives him a headache. He can drink beer, however.

      I hope you get to see the Carolina beaches soon. Are you from South Carolina? Charleston is one of my favorite cities. I long to go back.

  11. You and I ared kindred spirits when it comes to coffee and wine. I love that poster in your post and will start looking for one of my own today! It’s perfect. Judy Garland had her uppers and downers, these are mine!
    Ocean City is very nice. I like OBX–lived in VA for seven years. I miss the ocean! Now I have to head to San Diego if I want to see waves and sunrises and sunsets.
    Nice trip and thanks for sharing, Kate. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Well, Cindy, add chocolate to your list, and I would venture that we are ‘sisters from another mister.’ 😉 I liked the Judy Garland comparison!

      My former boss lives in San Diego. It sounds like heaven on earth the way he describes it. I think I’d like to see the waves and sunrises/sunsets from there!

  12. I love the way you think. Coffee delivery, jewelry whether you win at mini-put or not. Lots of leisurely walks. Sounds a relaxing vacation. Thanks for sharing Mr. L’s photography with us. He gets a thumbs up. Nice to ‘meet’ you. ❤
    I remember my working days and holidays. Work like an idiot to catch up every last detail and come back to a mountain of things to go again.
    The wine sounds wonderful. Might I ask what a decent bottle of red costs in your part of the world. On average? 😮

    • Kate Loveton says:

      You know, Tess, my feeling is that a woman always has to grab every opportunity she can to acquire new jewelry! So, this ‘loser’ is perfectly happy to be ‘consoled’ with that new necklace. I will leave the laurels to Mr. L, and I’ll take the gems! 😀

      Yes, you accurately described the work before and after a vacation. Oh my…

      The wine I mentioned above was priced at $17.99. It’s now a favorite. But it is very dry, so you have to like dry reds.

      • Oh yes, D.r.y. red is beautiful! 😀 😀 😀
        Glad you have a plan that rewards you handsomely. ❤ ❤ A female deserves to be compensated. 😀 You're worth your weight in gold.
        These days the only jewelry I wear are earrings.

  13. Beware the man who gives you crabs. More seriously, I think you had a good time despite the whinge. Nice pic – clearer than the selfie. But still hiding – behind dark glasses. 🙂

  14. markbialczak says:

    Beautiful return wine whine wind up and wind down, Kate! Liquid Assets sounds like a fine Ocean City establishment. My dear wife Karen and I went to the NASCAR race in Dover several years in a row and stayed in Rehobeth the first year. We like the Eastern shore. My Maryland days stay with me, as you know. 🙂 Hey, you have a good deal going on with Mr. Loveton with the min golf jewelry deal going on! You have no incentive to win, now, do you? Oh, yeah, pride. But it’s mini-golf! You guys crack me up with the coffee routine. I do that for MDW Karen on our trips, too. And I’ve been known to wander some before delivery. A guy’s gotta sometimes. Have a great rest of your week, my friend.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Mark, I am beginning to think that most men get their wives coffee first thing in the morning. Mr. L brings me my coffee as soon as I wake up. He is either incredibly thoughtful or trying to tame the beast that lives within the just-awakened Mrs. L. I think it’s a bit of both.

      I think you and Karen might enjoy Liquid Assets. It’s a nice bar atmosphere – usually good conversation can be found. Who knows? You might be lucky and find someone who will offer you a glass of wine!

      We also met a lovely couple from Pittsburgh while sitting at the bar. We got along famously – once we decided not to discuss the Ravens and the Steelers! 😉 We now have a standing invitation to visit them, and they’ve promised to show us around and take us to dinner one night. It sounds promising. I’ll be sure to leave my Ravens hat at home, however.

      • markbialczak says:

        Sports and politics can make friendly new acquaintances turn in a heartbeat, Kate! It sounds as if you, Mr. L and the Pittsburgh couple were wise enough to leave any differences on the table, so to speak!

        Yes, 99 percent of our mornings, I pour the first cup or purchase the first cup and deliver it to MDW Karen. Our lives work so much better this way.

        Finally, I should have said in my initial comment how much I enjoyed your Raven-hatted beauty shot here, Kate. 🙂

  15. Welcome back to the work week, Kate. Hope you have a very crabby week! ;D

Leave a Reply

