Food for Thought

ice-lychee-tea

As time passes, I keep getting fatter, thought Effie, reaching for her third pastry.

“Another glass of tea?” asked Loretta.

Effie looked at the icy, sugary tea with longing. “I shouldn’t… but, Lord! You make the best sweet tea, Loretta.” Shaking her head, she handed over her empty glass. “Don’t know what’s wrong with me. Can’t stop eating lately. Every pound I gain, you seem to lose two!”

Loretta smiled, running her hands down newly slimmed hips, thinking of the dolls hidden in the attic – one whose crudely drawn mouth wasย wide open while the other’s was sewn tightly shut.

ยฉ 2015 All Rights Reserved Kate Loveton, Odyssey of a Novice Writer __________________

image

Note: Written in response to the ‘100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups’ sponsored by Julia’s Place (found here). This week’s prompt was to use the phrase ‘as time passes’ย in a story of 100 words or less.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. Oh, this one is a doozy, Kate. ๐Ÿ˜€ made me chuckle a tad evilly.
    Have you ever read “Thinner” by Richard Bachman–aka Stephen King? Your story made me think of it, though the two tales takes the slimming thing from completely different angles.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Cathy! I read ‘Thinner’ years and years ago, but don’t remember the story very well. I need to revisit the Bachman stories. You know I love King!

  2. nimi naren says:

    Lovely…Kate. Just love the surprise element in all your posts. This one did not disappoint either๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh my word, Kate! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Who knew that you knew voodoo? Should I be worried when I come to visit in August?

    Ghoulishly awesome my bestest friend! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค โค

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Yes, you should be worried. If I don’t get rid of a few pounds more, I will be copying your image onto one of those ‘carolers’ I showed you that sit in my writing room. Now that I think about it, you’re one of my thinnest friends. You might be the perfect candidate…

      (insert Vincent Price’s insane, horrifying laughter…)

      ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

      • But….I thought you loved me? ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Heather… I’m reluctant to tell you this… but I just gained back two of the pounds I lost. I’m getting desperate at this point. Do you have a few hair follicles or a nail clipping or two you could spare, my very slim friend? I have two dolls hidden in my attic, you see…

        • Blimey, I have visions of you plucking a stray hair from my hairbrush when I visit in August! ๐Ÿ™‚

          If I suddenly put on weight I shall no it was you who put a curse on me! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

  4. A little bit ghoulish, a whole lot clever, a modicum of puppeteering.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you, Sharon. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m surprised you could read the story! I went back to look at it a few seconds ago and noticed the formatting was all screwed up! My paragraphs were non-existent!

      As a writer, you know how horrifying it can be when formatting goes awry. It makes a mess of a story.

      I’ve corrected it now. I can’t imagine what happened.

      I was taken with your comment. ‘A modicum of puppeteering’ – if you don’t mind my asking, what does that mean?

      • Loretta is pulling strings, like a master puppeteer. (I was trying too hard.)

        • Kate Loveton says:

          No, not at all! I suspected you meant something like that – but then I wondered if perhaps you meant I was only slightly pulling the strings on readers to get them to the ending. Either way, I liked your comment a lot. And I’m always happy when you show up! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. jan says:

    Love it! Another unique twist. Bravo!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Jan. I apologize for the messed-up formatting you probably encountered when you read the story. I’ve corrected it now. I’m glad you persevered and enjoyed the story!

  6. Tidalwavelet says:

    In my best Hedley Lamarr voice, “Now go do… that voodoo… that YOU do… SO WELL…!!! ”

    Dynamite with a laser beam, as usual ……

  7. Voodoo anyone? Be careful around Kate. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    This is priceless! โค

  8. I like it. Reminds me of Thinner by S. King.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you!

      I’m reading King’s book, ‘Revival,’ right now. It’s an odd one (hell, all his books are odd – that’s why I love ’em!). This one is especially odd.

  9. noelleg44 says:

    You know how to do voodoo, you do, Kate! Shaking my head…if it were only that easy to lose weight!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      This story grew out of my own irritation at how hard it is to lose a few lousy pounds, Noelle. I went out to the craft store today and bought some straw and burlap to fashion a doll… or two.

      Now I’m going through my catalog of friends, trying to remember who among them is really skinny…

      ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Adan Ramie says:

    A little bit of voodoo does the body good, eh, Kate? This sounds like something I would write! Great story. I’d love to see it expanded.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Adan, you paid me a huge compliment in saying the story was one that you might write. Thank you!

      Apologies for the lack of paragraphs you may have encountered when you read the story… when I went back to look at my story, I saw all the paragraphs had disappeared! It’s been fixed now, but it must have been an awful mess for readers when they saw that mish-mash of one huge paragraph.

      • Adan Ramie says:

        Kate, you’re too kind!

        You know, that happens all the time. Earlier I posted a poll that didn’t work, so I edited it — over and over again. Probably five, six times overall. It was a nightmare, LOL.

        • Kate Loveton says:

          I feel your pain. I was quite embarrassed when I saw the huge mess of a paragraph on my blog. It didn’t look that way when I put it together. Who knows why these things happen?

  11. stacilys says:

    Oh my. Good one Kate.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I’m going to have nightmares tonight. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Nice job!

  13. YICKS! Get my needle and thread!

  14. Cool concept! Nice post.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Cindy. I think the prompt was meant to be one that was nostalgic. I wanted to do something a little different. I could just see those two women sitting outside on a hot summer afternoon… iced tea in front of them… and a weighty problem among friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Julia Lund says:

    With friends like that …

  16. hollykerrauthor says:

    That’s creepy! Very cool!!

  17. I needed Keith’s comment to get this one. Neat.

  18. Ooh, voodoo. Interesting. I like.

Leave a Reply

