Rewriting the Past

This is a blog post I wrote back in January 2014. Frankly, I’d forgotten I’d written it and only came across it yesterday when it popped up as suggested further reading at the end of one of my current blog posts.

The reason I’ve reblogged it is that for many of you this will be something new as I had pretty much just started blogging when I wrote the post.

The second and more compelling reason is that it fits in nicely with some of the posts I’d written earlier this week about my father and the past. I think it is true that as we get older, we do tend the remember the better moments in our past and in our relationships with others. And I think it is also true that when those memories are not always good ones, we seek to rearrange them into something more palatable.

This is certainly true in this review and essay about the experiences of Walt Disney and the writer of “Mary Poppins,” PL Travers. If you have time, I hope you can spare a moment to read this. Thank you.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

Yesterday, my husband and I decided to venture outside our warm and toasty house, braving buckets of rain and nasty winds to catch a showing of a film we both had been wanting to see for several weeks: “Saving Mr. Banks.”

For those who don’t know, the film revolves around Walt Disney’s machinations to persuade P.L. Travers, author of the “Mary Poppins” books, to sign over rights to Disney for a film adaptation.

image

Travers, a feisty, difficult person who had fallen on hard economic times, was loathe to part with the rights to the character, unwilling to sanction what she feared would be a cartoonish and folksy simplification of a story important to her. As the film goes on, we learn the reasons why “Mary Poppins” mattered so much to her. It was not, as we first suppose, Mary Poppins who was important to Travers, but the character of Mr…

View original post 1,048 more words

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Popular Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rewriting the Past

  1. I really enjoyed reading this the first time round and it’s still as wonderful when read for a second time. You have a gift for reviewing both books and films, Kate.

    You truly are a gifted writer, my friend! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. We all tend to gloss over the past, choosing to remember the good and doing our best to forget the bad. No family is perfect, but mine (in my eye) comes close. I think my parents did their best to give my siblings and I a wonderful childhood. My mother came from a dysfunctional family, so she tried even harder to make our growing-up years better than hers had been. I’m not saying there weren’t hard times I went through, and bad things I experienced; but none of my diffulcities were caused by my parents.
    I have heard so many stories from friends and acquaintances of the physical or emotional abuse they suffered as children, and every day I thank my lucky stars for gifting me with stable, loving parents.
    Great post, Kate. Thanks for resharing. I missed it on its first go-round.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read, Cathy; the piece is a bit long, I know.

      Thanks, also, for sharing some of your past. Your mom sounds like a remarkable woman. Not everyone who comes from a dysfunctional family is able to give his or her own family a good, happy family life. It takes a tremendous amount of strength to shed the burdens of an unhappy past and create a bright future. Good for her!

  3. I’m glad you reblogged, so I could catch up.

Leave a Reply

