Summertime… and the Living is Easy…

Hi Fellow Bloggers and Friends,

It’s that time of the year that a girl wants to kick back, drink a couple of Natty Bohs, watch the Orioles, and maybe read a couple of good books. And if someone sits a platter of steamed crabs in front of that girl and some corn on the cob, well I don’t guess that gal will complain much!

In short, it is the middle of summer, and the living is easy. I want to sit on the back porch and watch the sun set over the rolling hills beyond my property line. I want to listen to a little Sinatra, a little Ella, some Norah Jones and just plain chill (that is, if anyone can chill in 85 – 90 degree weather). No ‘shoulds’ or obligations. Just me, a nice cold drink, a couple of good books and some fine music.

1d9cabb9d98a0d6b84d26158198af459

Anyway, all of this is to say that yours truly is taking a brief blog break over the next several weeks. I am officially chilling.

After all, it’s summertime… and the livin’ is easy. And that’s what I’m planning to do: some easy living.

Here’s a little something to get you in the mood for some easy living, too. Some sweet Norah Jones – now, as my grandmother used to say, you just grab yourself something cool to drink and you settle back and listen. After all, it’s too hot to do much else.

See you in August, friends!

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Summertime… and the Living is Easy…

  1. You’ve been away for a long time, Kate! I hope you are well and happy. Thanks for liking my post. Cheers, Cindy

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I still read your posts! I’ve lost my ‘zing’ lately… Story ideas in my head, failure to execute. Instead, I’ve been reading. Lots. And lots. Maybe I’ll learn something, huh?

      πŸ’œ

  2. Kate! Where are you, my friend? I miss your voice on the blogosphere. I hope you are happy and well and assume your are bogged down with work and the holidays. Best wishes, Cindy

  3. Where you’ve been, Kate? I hope you are just busy and not ill or anything. Come by on the 13th and talk about the Evolution of the Femme Fatale, if you can πŸ™‚

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Cindy!

      Just returned this weekend from an anniversary cruise of the Western Caribbean. It was heavenly – warm and sunny, and lots of clear, crystal blue water. Sigh… now back in cloudy, leafless, coolish Pennsylvania. Re-entry is always tough!

      I will check out the Evolution of the Femme Fatale on the 13th.

      Hope things are good with you.

      I have been very lax with my blogging and my writing the past few weeks. I have a story that needs some polishing and then will be ready to post; a new story idea or two; and so on. I’ve lacked the discipline to tackle them, however, preferring to indulge my love of reading lately. I’ve done a lot of that!

      Which bring me to this note, specifically for you. Have you read ‘Gilead’ by Marilynne Robinson? It won the Pulitzer Prize in 2005. I stumbled upon it quite by accident and read it very quickly. It’s a hard book to describe, but I recommend checking it out on Amazon to get a feel for it. I devoured it, but it’s not for everyone. I think it might be one for you, however. πŸ™‚

  4. Faith Simone says:

    Do you Boo! πŸ™‚ I totally agree with both your decision to chill and your music selections. I’m planning to do the same thing around Christmas and a few weeks of summer from now on. Blogging is fun, but also work. Everyone needs a break sometime. Hope you’re enjoying yourself!

  5. I understand! And summertime in New England has been absolutely delightful. Most people here want lobster; I just want a sweet fresh local tomato. With some James Taylor in the background… πŸ™‚

  6. Dalo 2013 says:

    Well said ~ and I will be enjoying some steamed crab, wind & the smell of salt air this week as well (instead of Orioles though, it will be Mariners to watch). Enjoy your summer, it seems you are off to a great start already. Cheers!

  7. Enjoy your summer break Kate. Very, very important! πŸ™‚

  8. alexraphael says:

    Well I like August Stringberg, and now another reasons to like August πŸ˜‰

  9. gpeynon says:

    Enjoy the break.

  10. Enjoy your time, my friend. You will be missed!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you, Audrey Dawn. With a return to fall, I am hoping to pick up my writing pace a bit more. I need to put my writing ahead of my blogging – it often takes up too much of the little free time I have, unfortunately. I hope you have had a lovely summer. ❀

  11. Have a lovely summer break, Kate. Enjoy a few weeks of chilling before I arrive on your doorstep and raise merry hell! πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀ ❀

  12. jan says:

    Have a lovely time!

  13. Julia Lund says:

    Enjoy! You make it sound idyllic. I’ll be taking a break in August, so see you all bright eyed and bushy tailed in September 😊.

  14. Enjoy yourself, Kate

  15. Have a good and well-earned (and deservered) break, Kate. I really ought to do similar, and kick back to Rebecca Ferguson’s album ‘Lady Sings the Blues’, which I bought from iTunes last week. That lady had every hair on my body standing on end when I recently saw the 2012 video of her singing Endless Love with Lionel Richie (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zo6XGaFnH8c)

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Keith, I had a terrific break, and Heather B and I took New York by storm! We had a great time. But now it is the end of summer and time to get back to writing.

      Several months ago, you gave me some wise advice about blogging – that it is supposed to be fun! You may not recall that, but I do. I took that remark to heart and really thought about things. Blogging had become more a chore than a pleasure, and I often found I was blogging more than I was attempting to write stories (which is the reason I got into blogging to begin with!).

      A break has made me see that I need to use my time a bit more wisely: more writing, less blogging. This is hard for me because I have a curious mind, and can lose whole blocks of time reading other blogs. Now I am rationing out that time so I can first work on my writing, and worry later about keeping up with blogs. It’s pretty hard to do it all – and when you do, you end up finding blogging more of a chore than a pleasure.

      I mention this to you because I truly considered your words. They were very helpful to me.

      I hope you have had a wonderful summer! πŸ™‚

      • Just over a week ago, we were able to hand back the two large dogs we had been fostering since the beginning of April. At about the same time, our camper; unused since last October; passed its biennial safety inspection. We are now on a break. Not, you understand, like Ross and Rachel were, but we’re having a week and a half in Rocamadour (look it up or wait for my blog next weekend or the following one; you’ll love it).
        WiFi is sporadic, 3G less so but I’m close to my allowance. That means I have a partial rest from blogging, but if it rains, I do have my Macbook and Scrivener!
        I’m glad you had a good summer, and look forward to keeping in touch.
        To save you wading through my drivel, would you like me to send a list of links to a small number of posts I think you might particularly enjoy (not that I would presume to know your mind, of course).

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Do you miss the dogs? I would!

        • We left for holiday only a few days after their owner collected them, so everything is different. Once we are home again, next week, we’ll certainly notice their absence. Trevor always appeared to resent their presence, though he was more tolerant of the female, but I think he will miss them more than we shall. He is certainly more demanding of attention than he was, which we didn’t really notice in the five weeks between Ulysse dying and Elise and Tuur arriving. On verra, as they say in these parts – we shall see.

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Poor Trevor – well, more doggie treats for him.

  16. Sue Vincent says:

    Enjoy… and see you on the other side πŸ™‚

  17. Lovely post, Kate! Really enjoyed the Norah Jones video; thanks for including that –it really set the mood! Enjoy your summer break! πŸ™‚

  18. noelleg44 says:

    Have a great time, Kate. Come back relaxed, chilled and tanned!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Noelle – I am a great deal more relaxed, and thanks to A/C, I am sufficiently chilled! πŸ˜€ As for tanned… um, well two out of three ain’t bad! I am going on a cruise at the end of October, so perhaps I will have another opportunity to get some color.

      Thanks for the wonderful review you posted of the book, “Owen,” the other day. A great review, and I have picked up a copy for my Kindle. I am quite taken with Tudor history, and look forward to reading it.

  19. Oh, have a great chill! I totally get it. πŸ™‚

  20. I β™₯ Nora Jones. Can you believe she’s the daughter of Ravi Shankar??? It explains her ethereal vibe.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I did know about the Ravi Shankar connection – and I suspect it does explain her ‘ethereal vibe’ – like the way you put that!

      Hey, Cindy, ever consider doing a film perspective (as only you can!) on a series of historical films? I have been meaning to locate on the web and watch: A Lion in Winter, Becket, A Man for All Seasons and Anne of a Thousand Days. What a job you could do with those!

  21. macjam47 says:

    Enjoy your break, Kate. Sounds like the best kind of chill.

  22. M. C. Dulac says:

    Have a wonderful break Kate! See you back here in August!

  23. Enjoy your chilling time, Kate! That sounds heavenly.

Leave a Reply

