A Fresh Wind

f3a8231c4fcd8c1c9299794dd516e43b

It’s been a while since I’ve visited this old house.

Smells kind of musty. There are cobwebs everywhere. The air is stale. Just like my old hopes.

Truth is, when I started this blog I’d hoped to become a writer of fiction. I figured there was a novel inside me, bursting to get out. Maybe some short stories, too.

I wrote quite a few blog posts, engaged in a lot of flash fiction challenges and even tried my hand at a few very short stories. It was fun – and I felt energized. I was enthusiastic!

And then… nothing.

It was gone.

I lost my passion for writing.

I didn’t feel like opening up the laptop. I didn’t seriously think about writing a story or anything else for over a year and a half. During that time, about the only thing I wrote was a book review of my friend, Noelle Grainger‘s latest (and wonderful book), ‘Death by Pumpkin.” (If you haven’t read it, QUICK – go buy a copy!)

Even that seemed to tax me.

I believed my blog would die a slow death, and be a place I’d never visit again. A house left vacant, good only for stray cats and an unlucky rat or two.

But here I am. Go figure.

Now I’m opening up the windows and letting a fresh wind sweep through the rooms.  Maybe it will scatter the cobwebs, and I’ll be able to do a little housecleaning without their silky webs entangling me. There are a lot of musty sheets to whip off furniture that’s been left unattended for far too long.

For the past month or so, I’ve been thinking about picking up my pen again. Not actually doing it, just thinking about it.

The problem is that I’m not too crazy about the things I’ve written in the past. The subjects, the stories – well, with an exception or two, they have left me feeling unfulfilled and empty. I didn’t really believe in them. That’s never a good thing for a storyteller, is it? If I can’t believe in them, how can a reader?

I don’t want to write any more stories about murder or horror. I want to write simple stories. Small stories about tiny moments in the lives of ordinary people. The moments that seem insignificant at the times they are occurring, but often end up being the moments we remember. Love, friendship, the movement of sweet grace throughout our days – these are the stories I want to write.

I have found these are also the most difficult stories to tell! It surprises me to learn it is much easier for me to craft a short story about murder and angst than to convey the simple happiness of one heart accidentally bumping up against another.

Still, I think I want to give it a try before I get too much older. I don’t have that much time to waste anymore.

So I’m doing my housecleaning. I’m dusting off the furniture around here and seeing if I can renovate this old house. Maybe I’ll hang a few new curtains – nice, bright cottony ones that will let the fresh wind float through the rooms.

A fresh wind. That’s what my writing needs.

I’m considering changing the name of this blog. Pulling down the old fiction. Starting afresh.

I’d like to thank my friend, Julia Lund, for her encouragement. For reasons known to her, I want to say thank you. She’s helped me find my way back here. Now it’s up to me to spruce up the real estate.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A Fresh Wind

  1. You’ve got my support, Kate, and I hope to see, no, read you here more often. Welcome back.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thanks, Sharon! My biggest challenge is trying to find time out during my busy work week to write. Ah, the lament of all writers, I know!

      Thanks for your encouragement, my friend. It means a lot!

  2. Yes, we’ve all missed you very much. I think your new direction really suits your spirit (what I know of it in writing :)).

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you, Adrienne! I see that you have published a few sequels to your first novel that I read two years ago. I shall have to catch up!

      Added – just found book #2 on Kindle and ordered it. I am in the middle of another series of books at present, but will look forward to reading it!

  3. gpeynon says:

    Good to see you back. Funnily enough, you seem to be in exactly the same situation as me right now; a rekindling of that loss of passion and energy. I’m hoping to get back on the blog in a few days time too. That’s a good idea on the refresh of your website as well. Best of luck.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Really nice to hear from you!

      I think in addition to losing my passion, it became an awful lot to keep up with writing and the blog, too. I have a very busy full time job plus family responsibilities. It became overwhelming after a bit.

      I am not driving myself quite so hard this time around. Weekends are the best time for me to write – I am not nearly so tired and can think better. I also hope to stop working at some point in the near future and devote more time to my writing. I really admire the energy of people who work long hours and have kids and who still manage to get a lot of writing done.

      Last we ‘talked,’ you were working On a swashbuckling /sci fi novel. How is that going?

      Whatever you are working on, I hope to see your passion rekindled, and to see you on your blog.

  4. Welcome back, Kate! I’ve missed you. I completely understand where you are coming from. What can you do when you feel uninspired inside? An albatross, for sure. It’s hard to alter the high expectations we set for ourselves. Thanks for coming back and I look forward to reading your stories.

  5. Belinda P says:

    I am so happy to see a new post from the wonderful Kate Loveton!

    Your writing has always held a special place in my heart and I am delighted to see that you have once again picked up the pen/laptop as you have a special talent when it comes to painting pictures with words!

    It is so great to have you back! ❤

  6. It’s great to see you back again, Kate. I’ve missed you.

  7. Julia Lund says:

    I love the picture you’ve painted with your words in this post. Sometimes, the discipline of rest, a break from our heart’s desires, serves to sharpen our focus and hone our view. As you pull off those dust sheets and fling the windows wide, I believe the sweet wind that rushes in will refresh not just you, but those who will read your small stories of ordinary moments filled with extraordinary grace. I know I will be one of those readers, and am excited to see what the new place looks like. 💜

  8. Sue Vincent says:

    You have a lovely way with words, Kate and I believe that the small stories of everyday hope and happiness need telling.

  9. macksmom55 says:

    Such a pleasant surprise to receive the notification that a new post was available from Kate Loveton. Your work never disappoints, and you have have been sorely missed! Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

