Weekend Coffee Share: Friendship, Mickey Mouse, Flash Fiction & Waistlines

Hi everyone! Another weekend, and here I am, writing a Weekend Coffee Share and connecting with all of my blogger friends. How was your week? Please feel free to share. Here’s a link (here) for anyone who wants to join us on the Weekend Coffee Share (hosted by Nerd in the Brain).

This will be a relatively short weekend update as I am now officially on holiday for threeCheering weeks! Strike up the band and let the chorus cheer: YAAYYYYYY!

Who doesn’t love a holiday?

As my faithful followers will know, my dear friend from Great Britain is flying to the US to meet up with Mr. Loveton and I. We anticipate spending several days at America’s Mecca (aka Disney World and Universal Studios, Orlando, Florida) and then back to my home in Pennsylvania. I will then subject Ms. Britannia to several days of American history and meeting with various members of Ms. Loveton’s family. If the weather is nice, we will walk around Gettysburg, which was the premier battleround of the American Civil War. Most of all, we shall enjoy spirits (ahem… lots of spirits – and I don’t mean of the ghostly kind), good food and most of all, good friendship.

Needless to say, I am very excited!

I am also very busy with getting ready for our big visit. I hope to regale you with highlights from The Big Visit after Ms. Britannia departs these Yankee shores for those of Olde England. For those who don’t know, Ms. Britannia is my (and Mr. Loveton’s) wonderful friend, Belinda, and this is her second visit to the US to see us.

Life is strange. I met Belinda via an online writing group about five years ago. Despite a difference in age, culture and geography, we IMMEDIATELY clicked. Thousands of emails and many, many skype sessions later, here we are: getting ready to meet up for a second time. I love the sweet surprises Life unexpectedly sends our way.

MickeyWhile I am on holiday for the next several weeks, I have played with the idea of re-posting some of my favorite pieces of flash fiction that I’ve written over the past few years. I won’t have much time to blog in the coming weeks (Mickey Mouse is VERY demanding), so I thought re-posting a few flash fictions might keep my blog alive and keep your interest (hopefully). The pieces I will post are not overly long, but they are among my favorites. I hope you will read them and – please – if you enjoy them, let me know. Many thanks!

Now for a little good news: I have never entered a writing contest. To be honest, I tend to dismiss my fiction as mediocre and just a fun hobby. But on a lark, I ran across a post by Hey Look A Writer Fella (here) announcing the First Annual Sully Award. Interested participants were encouraged to write a 200 word flash fiction piece to enter the contest. I love flash fiction, and so I entered. To my very great surprise, I won the contest. With no false humility, I will tell you that I was flabbergasted and thrilled and happy. I am so impressed with the writing of others whose blogs I follow. I never would have thought I’d win any sort of award. It was a BIG boost to my confidence to win this award, and I walked around with a HUGE smile on my face all week. If you read the entries from the various writers who participated in the contest, you will understand why. Some great writers entered the content, and I’m not kidding when I tell you I was surprised (and humbled) to win. So, that was the highlight of this past week.

A few of you who have followed me over the past few years know that I struggle with my weight. Now, to be honest, I am fifteen pounds overweight. I was a person who was always thin until I reached my fifties. I could eat ANYTHING I wished, and never gain an ounce. No more. Now I have to watch what I eat and (dreaded words) EXERCISE DAILY to keep the weight off.

I’m a foodie. I love going out to eat. Eating is a SOCIAL occasion for me. I love to sit at the bar and talk to people, have a glass of wine or two, and try various delectables on the menu. I also love to go to gourmet restaurants and eat wonderful, elaborate, multi-course meals with wine pairings. Alas, my waistline refuses to get in line with my desires.

corset11I was moaning to Mr. Loveton that I’m not as thin as I used to be, but I hate dieting and it is hard to fit exercise into every day. Mr. Loveton, being a man and NEVER gaining weight, doesn’t get this. Seriously, the man NEVER gains weight. Even so, he looked at me and said, “I think you look fine. You look good – healthy and pretty and you enjoy life.” (I think I’ve mentioned in my last weekend coffee share that Mr. Loveton’s eyesight should be checked – but in this instance, I’m willing to let it slide…).

I get more disgusted about my weight issues than those around me do. They think I look fine. I’m not a super model. I’m so hyper critical of myself. Can any of you relate?

The reason I bring this up is that a good friend of mine has been walking in a dark valley lately. Her mom is only in her fifties, but last year was diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer. Along with pain, she is unable to eat and is steadily losing weight. She exists on medically approved, vitamin enriched ‘milk shakes’ in a hopeless quest to gain weight.

Talking with my friend, it occurred to me how ridiculous (and ungrateful) I am to complain about my inability to lose fifteen pounds. Truth is, I could cut calories drastically, exercise fiendishly, and I could lose the weight. But to what avail? Where would the conviviality and enjoyment I get in sharing a meal and a glass of wine with loved ones and friends go? At the end of my life, will those fifteen pounds matter? I don’t think so. I think I will be remembering the joy of shared meals and social occasions. I will never be as thin as I was 20 years ago. So what? I would much rather be a bit overweight than struggling to gain weight due to illness. That will come to all of us at some point. I intend to enjoy life while I can.

getty_rm_photo_of_friends_drinking_wine_at_dinnerI hope all of you enjoy your life, too. Society, culture, television, movies: they try to seduce us into believing that if we look a certain way, then we will have value. The truth is that value lies in our relationship with others, our joy in the moments we live, in the memories we make. Have that glass of wine, enjoy that dessert. Practice moderation, but don’t beat yourself up. At the end of your life, will anyone care about your waistline? And if they do, were they worthy of your care or attention? I don’t think so. Hopefully, you don’t either.

Please come visit my blog while I’m on holiday. I hope you enjoy the flash fictions I am going to re-post. And while you’re reading, if you want to have a piece of chocolate or a dish of ice cream, Kate says it’s okay! Life is awfully short – and chocolate is good.  Very good!

©2017 All Rights Reserved Kate Loveton, Odyssey of a Novice Writer

_______________________

Coffee

 

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in #Weekend Coffee Share, About Me, Challenges & Contests, Friendship, My Fiction, My Life, My Writing Odyssey, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekend Coffee Share: Friendship, Mickey Mouse, Flash Fiction & Waistlines

  1. Congrats on the writing contest and I hope you have a lovely holiday!

  2. Good to see you back! Congrats ❤

  3. I think you came to the right conclusion about your weight. Especially if you’re on the eve of a trip to Disney. If you get a meal plan there, those cheerful employees will MAKE you take a dessert with every meal! When I refused dessert at Epcot, Figment the Dragon took a swing at me. So be careful!

    BTW: Thanks for the shout-out, AWARD WINNER!

  4. Belinda P says:

    Another great post, Kate! ❤

    It is hard to believe that this time next week we will be having the time of our lives in Disney! I simply cannot wait to jump on that plane and land at BWI to start another great adventure with you and the lovely Mr Loveton!

    I felt so welcome and part of your family when I came to visit last time and I am really looking forward to spending the next couple of weeks with you! We are going to have a blast and I could quite get used to calling myself Ms Britania! It has a nice ring to it! 🙂

    Look out America, here I come! ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. amiewrites74 says:

    Congrats on winning the contest! I hope you have a wonderful time with your friend.

  6. Lauren says:

    Congratulations on your win! That’s fantastic news! Have fun on your holiday.

  7. Enjoy your holiday and have fun with your British friend.

Leave a Reply

