Roanoke

“Where the bloody hell are they?”

Like Smith, Parish wondered the same. Studying the empty settlement, he felt hairs on the back of his neck rise.

Carved into the tree one word: Croatoan.

images

__________________
Word Count: 33

Author’s Note: Written in response to ThainInVain challenge to open a favorite book to page 33 and write a 33 word story about the first proper noun (person, place, thing) on the page. The book: America – The Last Best Hope, Volume 1, by William J. Bennett. Page 33 – first noun is settlement. Thanks to ThainInVain for hosting the weekly flash fiction challenge. Her blog can be found here.

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Roanoke

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge – Week 33 Submissions | Thain in Vain

  2. For more info, delivered in a great way, one could always attend a performance of The Lost Colony right here in NC: Address: 1409 National Park Dr, Manteo, NC 27954
    Phone:(252) 473-3414
    This is an outdoor play so only offered in the summer.

  3. Spooky! 🙂

    Great stuff, Kate! ❤

  4. Superb. Fascinating piece of pre-US history, too.

  5. I’m intrigued by your story and the book you are reading! I have never heard of this story – being a Canadian and all. I love lore stories! Great work, Kate! TiV

  6. Living in North Carolina, this story had always fascinated me. Where did the colonists go? Lots of theories, nothing sure.

  7. willow1945 says:

    I hadn’t heard about Roanoke and Croatoan, so Googled them–very interesting! Well done, Kate.

  8. Mark Baron says:

    Awesome job! And ahhhhh I loves me some Roanoke lore. I’m a native Virginian after all…

Leave a comment