I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

I’m often reminded of this lyric from an old Beatles song whenever I think of a special writer friend.  I’ve known her not quite a year, but it seems much longer.  Like minds, as they say.  We are in daily contact, constantly discussing our stories, our writing dreams, our techniques, the motivations of our characters.  A day without an email from her is rather like the tagline of an old orange juice commercial from my youth:  it’s like a day without sunshine.

Her enthusiasm about writing has reignited my own passion, and I find myself once again grabbing spare minutes here and there to scribble a few sentences down and then, later, piecing them together for my ‘quilt’ of words.  Thanks to her encouragement and enthusiasm, I find myself writing ‘ahead’ of my chapter deadlines, and plotting out story boards and character profiles and… well… thinking like a writer!

She’s also managed to drag me kicking and screaming (at my lack of technical prowess) into the brave world of blogging, tweeting, and just about any other new form of mass communication.  For this I am grateful, as well as in her debt.

We have never met in person; ours is a friendship shared through the electronic media, especially as we live ‘across the pond’ from one another.  We are planning a ‘face time’ chat this weekend, where we shall meet, greet and discuss our writing.  I am very excited.

It’s nice to have friends.  It’s even nicer when they help you get on with the thing you love to do.  To my friend, I say thank you.

 

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Writing Odyssey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

  1. Beautiful, touching, heartfelt. Thank you xxx

Leave a Reply

