I’m Late! I’m Late! For A Very Important Date!

khinsider_kh_mural___white_rabbit_by_zephyr_flutist-d4sgr0h Like the White Rabbit in Alice in Wonderland, I find myself late to the party once again! And like Mr. Rabbit, I am often chasing time to keep pace with everything going on.

A quick apology to all my friends who read my blog and comment on my posts. I have fallen behind this past week in responding to your lovely comments as well as reading your blogs.

My 40-hour a week or more, bring-home-the-bacon-job has managed to keep me suitably involved in the more mundane aspects of life. I have been pretty much dropping off to sleep in the early evenings or watching an hour of television before a visit with Mr. Sandman.

Additionally, I have been getting ready for the British Invasion this August. No, I’m not referring to the return of what’s left of the Beatles to the United States. It’s a much more daunting and important matter: it’s the visit of Heather B Costa to the USA. Well, more precisely, her visit to see yours truly.

Such a flurry of activity! My husband asked me if it was my friend who was coming to visit or the Queen of England.

I can understand why.

I’m going to let you in on a secret. Shhh!

The cowardly truth is that I’ve been using the excuse of Heather’s upcoming visit as a rationalization for refurbishing our house. When Mr. Loveton asks why a visit from one small Brit should result in such upheaval to his personal life and habits, I smile and say, “It’s a matter of National Pride, dear. We owe it to the flag to make a good impression on the Mother Country!” AmericanPride

This appeal to his Yankee pride always does the trick and he grumbles with good nature as I pick out new carpeting, new flooring, new patio furniture, not to mention various other little items that have given my house a lovely new facelift.

Heather, I know you’ll forgive me for using you in this fashion! The truth is, I’ve been wanting to do a refurb – and you, my lovely friend, are the excuse I’m using to lull the unsuspecting Mr. Loveton into financing all the improvements I’ve been wishing to undertake the past few years. (Ah, Kate: Unscrupulous Cleverness is truly thy name!)

3059_135068129530

You, dear reader, are thinking I’ve digressed from the topic at hand – that of my being late. But stay with me – there is a point to all these meandering scribbles.

Did you ever stop to consider how much darned work goes into getting your house re-carpeted? Good grief! All the furniture has to be moved from room to room. This means drawers have to be taken out of chests and stacked elsewhere while the room is emptied so the carpeting can begin. Those of us with a strong streak of masochism use this exercise in drawer removal as a means for re-organizing. So, for the past week, I’ve been emptying the contents from drawers (and closets!), deciding what to keep and what to give to Good Will – and what to trash.

Have I mentioned that I’m exhausted? Well, I am. Working all day and then working in the evenings in preparation for the Great Carpeting Event has quite taken it out of me.

white rabbitsAnd all the while, my email account continues to fill with notifications of blog posts from my favorite bloggers as well as kind comments on stories I’ve written. And like that pesky Wonderland Rabbit, I feel the weight of Time dragging me down the proverbial rabbit hole.

Dear readers and friends, all this to say that I shall be catching up with everyone during the next few days. I’ve missed you, and hope to climb out of my rabbit hole very soon.

Blame my silence on Time which (as they say) waits for no man! Or, in this case, woman. Blame it on a life too full of daily obligations. Better yet, blame it on Heather, who has unwittingly become the nexus for my cleaning and refurbishing binge!

Whoever or whatever you blame it on, please expect me to be stopping by soon to say ‘thank you’ for reading my fiction or to comment on something wonderful you’ve written. After all, even Alice and that frenzied rabbit eventually found their way out of the rabbit hole!

ALICE IN WONDERLAND

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to I’m Late! I’m Late! For A Very Important Date!

  1. It’s ok! We all have other lives too. Even tho I wonder which one is ” real” life! Thanks for liking my About page.

  2. JunkChuck says:

    Hey, no sweat–it happens. I’m headed out of town for 3 weeks in August and the thing I keep obsessing on is: what’s going to happen to the blog? This isn’t healthy. I’m glad you’re prioritizing the your corporeal world.

  3. alexraphael says:

    Obviously reading this a lot later, but hope you had a wonderful time.

  4. Julia Lund says:

    You are undertaking a task of mamoth-esque proportions whilst working 40 hours, writing, blogging, reviewing. I think you’ve discovered a way to stretch time. You deserve to have a wonderful few days with your friend.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Stretching time tip: give up sleeping. 😀 😀 😀

      • Julia Lund says:

        Not an option … I’m the dormouse to your white rabbit 😀

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Do you know I had to look up ‘dormouse’ as I wasn’t familiar with the word. It’s a mouse that is native to parts of Europe and Africa and Asia. It looks like a squirrel! We have squirrels in the USA, and I love ’em. Cute little rascals. My mom has never liked squirrels, says they remind her of mice with fat tails. Little did she know how close she was in her thinking!

          And now I understand your comment – the creatures hibernate. 😀 Your comment makes me smile, Julia. If you’re going to be a creature, a cute little dormouse with a bushy tail who hibernates is an excellent choice!

        • Julia Lund says:

          I think I read somewhere that they were delicacies during Roman times, that’s when I found out they were real and not just a Lewis Carroll invention for his Mad Hatter’s tea party. And it’s only just struck me (I can be rather slow) that the ‘dor’ part comes from the French for ‘to sleep’ (dormir). I need a nap now …

        • Kate Loveton says:

          😀

          Thanks for the video. Alice certainly knew what a dormouse was! (I did come across a site that said dormouse could be edible. Personally, I think… not!)

  5. I am honoured that you’re using me as an excuse to do some refurbishing around the house!

    You really shouldn’t go to so much trouble for little old me though, I’m just happy to be in the company of the wonderful Mrs Loveton for a whole week! Poor Mr Loveton, he’s going to have to find somewhere to hide while we run amok painting a horse in your back yard…

    The arrival date is getting ever closer and I am so excited to be able to come visit with you in August. I think we’re going to have a lot of fun and possibly get arrested at some point, but only if the police officer is tall, dark and handsome! 🙂

    I’m not sure that America is ready for this British invasion, but I guess there’s only one way to find out! 😆

    ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I don’t know about America, but I wonder if Kate Loveton is ready! I suspect I’m going to have to watch you very carefully to keep you out of trouble. I will have to drink chocolate martinis during said week to fortify myself.

      Number One on my list of ‘Keeping Heather Out of Trouble’ is confiscating all your Yankee memorabilia before allowing you to set foot into Oriole Park. While it’s nice to show team spirit, wearing a Yankees cap in Camden Yards is tantamount to wearing a pair of antlers on your head during hunting season!

      And thank you for being the scapegoat for all the changes I wished to make around the house. That’s working out very well for me! 😀 What a pal you are! 😀

      Just leave the marmite at home when you come to visit… ❤

      • Well, I’m afraid that it’s too late to change your mind about my visit, I’ve booked the tickets now! 🙂

        I apologise to your liver in advance for the many chocolate martinis that you’ll need to consume during the week we’re going to spend together. You’ll probably be having kittens by the time you throw me onto the plane back home! 🙂

        If you won’t let me bring my Yankees gear, I am going to have to insist that I bring some Marmite with me. I refuse to believe that your dogs dislike the taste of yeast extract and I want to see for myself, so expect a jar or two to arrive with me in August… 🙂

        • Kate Loveton says:

          Marmite, huh? Well, if the dogs… um… have an event at your feet, you shall have no one to blame but your marmite-ly mischievous self!

          Yes, I think a chocolate martini should christen our trip to The Big Apple when we arrive. We shall have great fun! ❤

        • I shall teach your dogs to love Marmite! 🙂

          I think we should christen every day of the trip with a chocolate martini… 🙂 ❤

        • I am SO jealous of you two! Two great people – writers both, yet – loose on New York City – OMG!!!! Apple City, you are about to be exposed!

        • Kate Loveton says:

          New York will never be the same! 😀 😀 Expect some surreal blog posts in late August!

        • I’m not sure the Big Apple is quite ready for us!

          Expect to see Kate and I on the FBI’s most wanted list during a prime time news broadcast… 🙂

  6. macjam47 says:

    Have a great time.

  7. Kate, I had new carpet laid in my home a couple of years ago–you have my upmost sympathy. It was a nightmare. I had boxes piled in my dining room, plus furniture. My bedroom set basked on the patio for a while. The carpet layers moved the heavy furniture, and put it back when finished, but I had all the smaller stuff to deal with. And like you, I was working 40+ hours at the time. I hope my carpet outlives me. lol
    Slow down a bit and enjoy your friend’s visit. All your loyal followers will still be here when time permits you to return. 😊

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Thank you – I need the sympathy! 😀 It is really an undertaking. I’m counting on NEVER NEVER NEVER replacing the carpet again.

      Thanks for the kind advice about slowing down and enjoying Heather’s visit. Perhaps one day, you’ll visit! Think of the twisted tales we could weave while sitting on the back porch, icy brew in hand, watching darkness descend! It would make even Stephen King shudder… !

      • You know, I have often wondered how two authors can write a book together–now I know. lol Both need to have the same vision of “the story”, which I think you and I could pull off. We are evil-minded, seeing the dark side of things, and where that darkness leads. Aren’t we blessed? 😀

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    I think your reason for the new carpet is a an acceptable one. I’d want to do the same thing if one of my friends from UK were coming to visit. In fact, I’d probably want to put a fresh coat of paint on the walls too. Have a marvelous time with Heather! 😀

  9. Faith Simone says:

    Hey life happens and the blogosphere (?) can wait. That’s the beauty of forever cached pages!

  10. That’s the way things get done, right? Invite company to have an excuse to get the things done you’ve put off?

    Enjoy your real life. Sometimes that’s exactly what you need: a breather. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Yep – a breather.

      And a couple of chocolate martinis while looking down over Times Square from the Broadway Lounge at the Mariott Marquis… yeah… that’s the ticket! 😀 I am breathing easier already!

      ❤ ❤

  11. Relax and enjoy your time with Heather. Time spent with a good friend is priceless, Kate.

  12. Ha ha ha, using Heather’s as an excuse to refurbish is priceless! I understand being wiped out. You take care and get that much-needed rest. Don’t forget to show off your home when you are done. I want to see the gloriousness. 🙂

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Now that’s a thought. A show-and-tell piece. Maybe a photo of a room ripped to shreds and then put back to order. And a photo me, looking quite crazed. That part should be easy. 😉

  13. An impeccably dressed mother of eleven children I used to work with who also entertained regularly offered me this advice: Never clean BEFORE guests arrive. She said after she plied her guests with drink and food they were comfortable enough and sort of liked the relaxed messiness of her place.

    I loved that but being the daughter of a man who strapped fancy dining tables to the top of his Oldsmobile the day before guests arrived I tend towards a frenzied cleaning (and occasional buying spree) before company.

    This past weekend we met my son’s new in-laws for the first time and as I stood debating the merits of paper plates (while washing windows) my husband asked if he should get the Oldsmobile ready. You can’t escape your genes.

    Have fun! I love the Brits!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Forgive me if this seems impolite… but an impeccably dressed mother of… ELEVEN? Gasp! Tell me, Adrienne… when did she find time to wear clothes? 😀

      I love the Oldsmobile bit! Too funny!

      As for the fruitful mom’s advice, she has a good point. People prefer comfort and friendliness over a pristine environment. I know I sure do when I go to visit someone.

      Now excuse me while I start making my list of tempting goodies to stock the refrigerator with! 🙂

  14. gpeynon says:

    Take your time, Kate, and get that house looking good. You know how us Brits insist on our lodgings being up-to-scratch and all ship-shape and Bristol-fashion.

  15. At the risk of adding to your in-box (smirk), your comments reminded me how I had perfected the art of having hubbie think all my bright ideas were really his. Plant seed, wait three weeks, agree wholeheartedly when he makes (your) suggestion, and complement him on his brilliance. It all came crashing down the night I had too much to drink and boasted about my strategy in his earshot. As for de-cluttering – go for it with all your might! When we downsized from a house to an apartment years back, it was SO liberating. All that stuff! Gone! Yippee! A good rule of thumb is if you have not used it in a year, you don’t need it. And if you have precious family things, then think of a way to have them on display so you remember why they are special enough to be kept. Whoops! Didn’t mean to get preachy. I just get excited all over again when I think how uplifted I felt after de-cluttering.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      So true about it being liberating to get rid of stuff you no longer use. It’s amazing how much stuff we human beings accumulate. As Thoreau said, “Simplify, simplify, simplify!”

      I had a huge laugh over your husband growing wise to your nefarious schemes to have him do exactly as you wished, while thinking all along the great ideas were his own! How beautifully devious! I think I may have used that tactic a time or two… or fifty. 😀

  16. Have a great time with Heather. Has Mr Loveton got anywhere to hide?

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Mr. Loveton has been looking at plans to build a bomb shelter to hide inside of while Heather visits. He compares Heather’s upcoming visit to a Nuclear Event that is sure to have much fallout associated with it. He thinks he is being funny when he says this. Little does he know what truly awaits him.

      I just hope she doesn’t bring those resuscitation dolls along with her on the plane… I suspect that if she does, the truly juvenile side of my nature will emerge. I am the type who would decorate them in fake blood and garish makeup… and have them hanging out of my car’s trunk while I’m driving around town…

      On second thought, perhaps I can persuade her to bring them…

  17. Very entertaining post. Enjoy Heather’s visit.

  18. I read this too early in the morning, and I’ve come out with a case of sympathetic exhaustion.
    It’ll all be worth it when your visitor arrived. Maybe one day…

  19. Enjoy the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party when Heather arrives!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Oh, I do like the way you put that, Bruce! Indeed, it will be the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party.

      As part of her visit, we are going to New York for a few days. There’s a little tea shop there that I very much like. Perhaps we’ll go there… inside, the walls are all painted with fantastical scenes from Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. It would be perfect!

      Except for one thing… Heather tells me she isn’t fond of tea.

      Now isn’t that perverse? A Englishwoman who doesn’t like tea. So much for my plan to boldly re-enact the Boston Tea Party…

  20. Mark Gardner says:

    When we lost our house during the market crash, refurbishing was the first item I was glad to be rid of when we returned to the land of renting.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Never having to refurbish is an appealing thought. It would be nice to be able to wriggle my nose like Samantha Stevens of Bewitched fame – and have it all be accomplished! I’ve been told I can be a witch, but I’m a powerless one.

      Now that I think about it, the word used wasn’t precisely ‘witch’… 😉

  21. Oh, you shouldn’t beat yourself up. Life happens! Enjoy!

  22. mypersonalteenlife says:

    Wow your life seems so busy! I’m completely opposite. Summer just started and I have nothing to do. I hope you’re not overdoing yourself! Remember relaxing is very important as well, but I really hope you don’t stop blogging. I really enjoy reading your posts! Keep up the hard work! I’m rooting for you!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Enjoy your summer – the idea of nothing to do sounds appealing. I would read the summer hours away, sitting on my back porch, a glass of iced tea in hand. When I was a very young teen (13 through 16 years old) that is exactly what I used to do in the summer. I look back on those days with great fondness.

      Thank you for the kind words about my posts. I’m so glad you’re enjoying them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

