Once…

image

There used to be parties here, wonderful parties.

Beneath bright chandeliers, beautiful girls and handsome men once danced with gay abandon, their peals of laughter floating out into the cool, velvety darkness.

That was before the Great Conflict.

Now the air is alive with the snarling of newly wild dogs, the squealing of crazed cats, the cacophony of feral misery.

But only for a time; soon there will be no one to hear.

__________________
Author’s Note: This piece is written in response to the Five Sentence Fiction challenge hosted by Lillie McFerrin Writes. The word prompt is ‘abandon.’

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Once…

  1. M. C. Dulac says:

    Ooh what an opening! I can imagine a novel progressing from here!!

  2. noelleg44 says:

    Incredible job, Kate. Took me straight back to a deserted grand hotel the kids in my neighborhood used to visit. No destruction, just wondering at the size and what had been left behind.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Noelle! Your comment reminds me of an old dance hall that was in ruins in a resort town my husband and I used to visit. I often think of that old place, and have a story in mind for it. I’m glad you enjoyed this short piece. πŸ™‚

  3. Honestly, you can’t fake great writing. I want in your brain… well, wait…now I’ve just scared myself. πŸ˜‰ Scratch that, well done, Kate. πŸ™‚

    • Kate Loveton says:

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ You made me laugh… I know you don’t like those stories of things that go bump in the night. *grin* Glad you enjoyed this one, though. It’s a pretty bleak story.

  4. Outstanding. Clean and seamless. Some five-sentence challenges have run-on sentences to get in as much information as possible. This is awesome. ❀

  5. Jayne Martin says:

    Beautifully descriptive and chilling.

  6. wildbilbo says:

    nice work – great atmosphere built here.
    KT

  7. Beautiful and evokes a sadness in me!

  8. W. K. Tucker says:

    Short but evocitave…put my imagination into overdrive.

  9. Creepy ambiguous ending. If there is nobody to hear the sound, is there still snarling and squealing?

    • Kate Loveton says:

      I have to laugh, Malcolm. As I wrote that line, the old joke about whether a tree makes a sound when it falls in a forest if no one is around to hear it flittered across my brain. πŸ˜€

  10. Very atmospheric. I loved it! ❀

  11. Glynis Jolly says:

    Brilliantly written, Kate.

  12. oohh, I like this one! What great mood you have established πŸ™‚

  13. Wow! An incredible piece, and a great eery ending πŸ˜€

  14. Great atmosphere, Kate. Excellent job.

  15. These few lines suggest so much for each is rich with meaning and suggestion.
    Excellent control in the writing, Kate, not easy that.
    Well done!

    Best wishes

    john

  16. markbialczak says:

    Get me out of there, Kate!

Leave a Reply

