My Dad

I hope you will forgive me for reblogging this post from last year. I find I’ve been thinking a lot about my father the past month.

No one needs to comment on this – I know you’ve all seen it before. But it was imortant to me to remember him again. He’s been a lot in my heart the past several weeks, showing up in my thoughts at odd moments. It’s an old chestnut that the people you’ve lost are really never dead as long as you remember them.

Tomorrow I’ll be back with something a lot less sentimental – maybe a little murder and mayhem or a humorous twist of fate.

But, for now, I’m unashamedly and unapologetically letting my father ‘live’ again.

Odyssey of a Novice Writer

My Dad My Dad

This is my dad. His name was James, but everyone called him ‘Jim.’

This photo was taken about five years before he died, much too young, a victim of lung cancer. It’s my favorite photo of him because he looks so happy.

Dad was a Depression kid, born into a hardscrabble existence. I think his tough past had a lot to do with the man he became.

His mother and father were miserable people (together and apart), and they went their separate ways during an era in which divorce was frowned upon. Back in those days, a man could leave his family and not provide much in the way of emotional or financial support for his kids. My grandfather was a cold, selfish, vindictive man. He left his wife with four boys to take care of during one of the worst economic periods in U.S. history.

Later, in spite…

View original post 946 more words

About Kate Loveton

Aspiring novelist. Avid reader of fiction. Reviewer of books. By day, my undercover identity is that of meek, mild-mannered legal assistant, Kate Loveton, working in the confines of a stuffy corporate law office; by night, however, I'm a super hero: Kate Loveton, Aspiring Novelist and Spinner of Tales. My favorite words are 'Once upon a time... ' Won't you join me on my journey as I attempt to turn a hobby into something more?
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Dad

  1. A beautiful piece of writing, Kate. I remember how much this touched me the first time I read it in 2014 and it touches me even more now ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. What a wonderful tribute to your dad. I would love to have known him. ❤️

  3. Kate, I never tire of hearing about good daddies. Mine has been gone from this Earth for 10 years. How I loved and love him. He was born in 1911, the oldest of 19 children. Oh the history! I miss him so.

    • Kate Loveton says:

      Hi Linda – thanks for dropping by and telling me a little about your feelings for your dad. Wow… the oldest of nineteen children. You must have a lot of aunts and uncles. I bet he had a lot of good stories to tell. Perhaps that is where Cathy got the story bug? 🙂

      Time moves on… but our feelings for those we love continue to grow. The people may be gone, but their presence lives on in our hearts.

  4. Some things bear repeating. And repeating. ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. noelleg44 says:

    My Dad was also a Depression hardscrabble guy with a mean and sometimes vindictive father, a grandfather whom I feared as a child. The Depression definitely shaped him! When my husband and I went off to Europ0e one summer, he counseled us to save our money and go when we were retired…in, oh about, 45 years!

    • Kate Loveton says:

      The Depression left an indelible mark on those who lived through that era. It’s hard for us to understand the extreme thriftiness of that generation. That’s because we have never lived with the insecurity they continued to experience throughout their lives. Once you’ve seen the wolf at the door, it’s hard to believe he’ll ever truly go away. That’s why your dad counseled you to save your money and my dad made us eat everything on our plates, whether we liked it or not.

      Even so, I’m glad you didn’t wait for that trip to Europe!

Leave a Reply

